We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good but not a top contender for Greek Fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of George's Greek Cafe

George's Greek Cafe
445 S Figueroa St, #102, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1602 (Downtown)
213-627-2334
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,434 of 8,891 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Greek
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pretty good but not a top contender for Greek Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Being from Birmingham, AL, there is a large Greek community there, and a few great Greek restaurants downtown, so that is my standard. This one in LA was directly across from our hotel, but it was okay, not great.

I got the lentil soup, but it was orange (?) and didn't have many lentils in it. My daughter order the gyro with a side salad. What we got was a gyro salad. I explained that this was incorrect and showed him on the menu what we had ordered. He argued and said we had mistakenly ordered a gyro salad. (Not true; I don't think he could read English.) So we just kept it and ate it anyway.

The baklava was boxed and looked as though it had been ordered but not made in-house. I told my daughter not to get it, since we can get fresh baklava in Birmingham. This was okay for a lunch place, but not a top contender for Greek fare.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We ate here twice, lovely food and HUGE portions! Great value for money. Were given a free cupcake on our second visit which was a lovely touch.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“VERY GOOD FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The quality of the food is very good and the taste reminds you real greek cuisine. You should try the Keftedes (meatballs) with pasta and red sauce!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Didn't really love this place, it was just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It is fast food Greek and there isn't much or any Greek fare in downtown LA without driving a bit out of the way. However it really had a bland flavor for Greek food and I would probably eat here again but it wouldn't be a destination for Gyros for me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The food was excellent and superb service. The servings were large and 2 persons can eat from one order. Very reasonable prices for LA area

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Greek Cafe also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to George's Greek Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Greek Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.