We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent downtown choice with splendid views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #79 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent downtown choice with splendid views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I picked this property because the rooms have great views and its proximity to Bunker Hill (and its less expensive than the Omni). The rooms are cozy but dont feel small to me. Ask for a room at the outward end of the tower so you don't have other rooms looking into yours. Pick a southern or eastern room for downtown views, northern or west for city views with hills in the background. The bars and restaurants are ok if you want convenience. There are plenty of better options within a few blocks (Cafe Pino by the library is a good choice, as is the bar Engine Co 38). Look for deals that include parking and breakfast. The breakfast buffet is very good. Service was pretty good, and Westin beds are always comfy. They also have a nice pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    805
    406
    156
    108
See reviews for
251
484
183
713
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very nice hotel but rooms need to enter the 21st century. Sitting at desk not a single electrical outlet available. Second stay I have had to call for an extension cause no electrical outlets at desk or near desk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel has everything. When I was checking in the front desk person gave me a room with a good view. When I got to the room it was clean, updated, and pretty spacious. They also have glass elevators which provide nice views of Los Angeles (especially at night). The lobby is also very nicely decorated. It has water and fountains everywhere with a bar in the middle. This hotel is also right in downtown L.A. There are numerous things to do within the hotel. Some of these things include restaurants, a spa, a gym, and an outdoor pool. I stayed at this hotel because I had an event at the Staples Center. The Staples Center is very close. They also have a very extensive room service menu with delicious options. There was nothing I didn't like about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. I was weary about staying downtown to start, but downtown LA was really clean, had lots of great architecture and street-art plus the hotel was less than a 5min walk to the subway station.
We arrived early and were immediately given a room, it was on the 24th floor. The hotel itself is architecturally impressive. The atrium was buzzing with activity from all the cafes and restaurants, it had a really nice, lively atmosphere.
Our room was spotless, it was small but had everything you need.
We went to the bar at the top of the building, it was ok, they could do with a better food menu. It was quite slow to rotate, I think they mentioned it takes 2 hrs to revolve once, we made it half way around!
I would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a club room on the 24th floor, had amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I loved this place. Visited from the UK. It is on the 34th floor of the Westin Bonaventure. It rotates slowly but you get a full 360 view in around 1 hour. The food is decent, bar style menu. There is free chex mix too even if you don't want food. The decor isn't cutting edge, but it's clean and fits its era. It is a 70s building afterall ! If you want more expensive fine dining, you can go to LA Prime on the 35th floor - though this floor does not rotate.

They had a drinks promotion while I was there, whereby you get a vodka and set mixer and you got to take home the vodka shot glass - which so happened to be a skull. It was pretty cool :) everyone loves a freebie.

We went on a Saturday night and did not book. They do not take bookings for the Bona Vista Lounge. We arrived quite early around 645pm and got a table beside the window. It soon got busy.

The staff were friendly and I would definately reccommend a visit. Try to get there before sunset so you can take full advantage of the views before and after.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

There are some really awesome aspects of this hotel, but then some really not-awesome aspects of this hotel, which cancel each other out, and therefore, this hotel gets an "average" rating.

Awesome:
It's essentially a castle, and can be its own biosphere/human ecosystem. There are a ton of mom and pop shops and places to eat on the 4th/5th floors. My favorite so far is Korean BBQ plus.
Elevators are really cool. Too bad the views aren't prettier.
Very convenient to downtown LA/Financial district for all you business travelers out there.

Not-awesome:
They don't participate in the SPG make a green choice option.
Walls are paper, paper thin. I think I actually heard my next door neighbor brushing her hair at night. So definitely try to get a room that is away from the elevators to reduce foot traffic.
The gym gets super busy in the morning. For a hotel that size, the gym needs to be expanded.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmccue77, Director of Sales at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent comments on your stay with us. We appreciate that you visited the many shops and restaurants in our hotel, as we do provide a wide variety of shopping and dining options to our guests. Thank you for being an SPG member. You are able to earn points for future stays and upgrades with no blackout dates.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Upon entering this hotel you are enveloped by a sense of tranquility as you walk through the lobby surrounded by pools of water. There is a beautiful archway composed of water which is being spurted from the mouths of two large fish sculptures. There are several towers with glass elevators allowing a view as you ride up to your room. There is even a bar that slowly rotates providing a 360 degree view of downtown LA. Bathroom in the room was lovely-all marble and tile and a great tub/shower. Bed was uber-comfortable, and we had a nice view out of the floor to ceiling windows. Had a bit of a problem with the valet parking, as there was a huge line, but the valet directed us to park across the street, and they comped our parking. Every person on staff we spoke to was polite and extra friendly in this hotel. Don't know about the food as we didn't eat here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#63 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.