We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in LA!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #66 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Luckenbach, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in LA!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with courteous and professional staff. The revolving bar on top gives you a beautiful view of LA's landmarks. Close to wonderful restaurants and The Staples Center. Close to public transit and the fashion district. Will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    686
    340
    140
    99
See reviews for
214
404
169
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel was nice but it was nothing speculator. The staff seemed pleasant and the room was clean and pretty comfortable.

Just be aware if you’re checking in after 11 p.m. there is no food on sight, despite what they tell you at the front desk. And there is not much to walk to either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, and the hotel rooms were comfortable and roomy. The hotel is very large and sometimes it is a bit hard to get around, but it is like a little city. There is some shopping and a few restaurants in the hotel area, which was nice, especially for a road warrior. The rotating bar was neat. The service was great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love the Westin hotels! My room was most comfortable, containing amenities I desired, providing me a perfect view and a restful night's sleep. Staff at the Bonaventure are all incredible, from the Valet to my personal room service staff. Not a single personal need was left unfulfilled, and all done by smiling and happy folks. Comfy bed...VERY comfy bed! My coffee pot didn't work, and in five minutes, I had a new coffee pot delivered along with plenty of complimentary coffee!
I never waited for an elevator and had great, hot showers each day. I was here for an Awards Gala, so I was not looking for a downtown experience.

Room Tip: I was in Blue Tower and it served me well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review and for your continued support of the Westin brand and our hotel. We appreciate your comments for our well-appointed guestrooms, in room amenities and remarkable views of downtown Los Angeles. Customer service is very important to us and we are pleased to hear that each and every one of our associates exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was on a business meeting. The company sponsored and booked me here.

I arrived (in L.A.) by train, and a cab brought me from Union Station, a 15-minute drive. Check-in was seamless, the reception was friendly.

The hotel interior is huge, consisting of four towers, each with multiple floors (about 14). The layout was impressive, modern, plush (and clean!) However, finding one's room is a challenge within this multi-structured setup.

The room was adequate, the bathroom, (I suspect the counter would be insufficient for female travelers to place their toiletries). The bed was large, clean. No problems with noise or other distractions.

The hotel is located in a business district. Everything's here: restaurants, a mall with large and tiny shops.

Bottom line: Not a locale for a vacation or leisure trip, but as a business traveler, all the conveniences are here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You can tell allot about a person or even a business on how they face adversity. I had a problem, that when defined, the staff did not deny but acknowledged. They rallied to make everything right. To a person the employees from management to housekeeping were exceptional and attentive. 

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is located in the center of business district of downtown LA, meaning there are mostly national chain restaurants and not too much authentic LA cuisine in the area or on property. I think it's mostly used for convention or group housing, but the property itself is beautiful and if you're lucky your views can include the Hollywood Hills sign.

The outdoor pool is nice and relaxing. Poolside service is available for a fee and the pool is heated which is great in all weather. Though if it is cold outside, you do have a bit of an unprotected walk to the pool deck.

The rooms were nice - spacious. The bathrooms had interestingly large furniture, but they were still big enough to get the job done.

The hotel also features a rotating restaurant | lounge on the 35th floor, unfortunately, we didn't get to check it out.

One major downside to this property is that they only offer valet parking - for an outrageous $47/night! There is other parking in the area that will run you $15-$36/day but of course without the convience of being connected to the hotel.

The hotel is also very Metro accessible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Hollywood Hills sign!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#40 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#43 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frequently featured in movies and TV, this iconic LA symbol is found in the Financial District. We are also within walking distance of Los Angeles Convention Center plus entertainment venues such as the Staples Center, Nokia Theater, LA Live and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.