We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the parking lot at checkout time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #76 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Watch the parking lot at checkout time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I visited this hotel recently to attend an event, and booked an overnight stay.. I will echo the other reviews in regarding the Iconic location, views and lobby. The rooms were well appointed, if a bit small for this part of the world. My wife and I love the "heavenly beds" at all Westins and this was no exception.

The wonderful thing about this hotel is the service. Each contact we had with the staff was friendly and helpful and each one was trying their best to go out of their way to help. It was the sort of experience that you expect from this sort of hotel.

Traveler Beware: We left the hotel at noon on Sunday, a peak checkout time. The waiting area for auto pickup was mobbed and it took over 20 minutes for them to retrieve our car. they were moving very quickly, and I cant see how they could have been faster, but this could be an issue if you are on a tight schedule.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    848
    435
    161
    109
See reviews for
263
502
185
769
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The surprising thing about this downtown big box hotel is that it had personality. I have stayed in large hotels like this where, other than for checkin/checkout you hardly see a soul. The LA Westin have gone out of their way to engage guests and it was always positive and friendly. Kudos to you’all.

Because to the unusual building design, rooms are not the standard square dimensions, which is kind of fun. My room was well appointed and the mega double bed particularly comfortable, which certainly helped manage the jet lag. The work desk was practical and the office chair of good quality and supportive. Wifi is fee based, but a good speed.
The bathroom continues the irregular shape theme, but had lots of shelf space (which I like, nothing worse than having to leave your toilets on the floor or in awkward places) and the rain either/or regular shower does the job. The bow curtail rail shape means that you don’t get the shower curtain wrapped around you when showering ~ thoughtful.
The only down side was that most hotel restaurants are of the quick food variety and there are no sensible alternatives within walking distance.

On balance a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: As the external elevators are quite efficient, don't be afraid to go for a high room, with excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are very appreciative of your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a refreshing stay with us at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites. Thank you for your comments regarding our unique and well-appointed hotel. We are pleased to read that you found our Westin Heavenly beds to be relaxing and refreshing after a long day of traveling. Your specific insights on the property are very appreciative and we will address these comments with the respective Department Heads. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I must tell you the unpleasant experience at the hotel.
When I checked into the hotel last night at 11:50pm, 2/14, there was a long line at the check-in counter. As an SPG’s preferred member, I waited at the “SPG Preferred” check-in counter.

Two hotel agents were chatting at the counter for 10 minutes, ignoring my waiting. After they finally done with chatting and hugging each other, both left the counter. When I asked them for help as they were leaving, they told me to wait for someone else. No one ever came after another 20 minutes waiting.

I finally went to the check-in line for non SPG preferred guest and waited for another 10 minutes because I got service.

I must say that I have stayed at Westin hotels around the world and never experienced a poor service like at this hotel. This is shocking to me and contradictory to the Westin brand.

Please avoid the hotel. Other agents have poor attitude and don't care about the guest's needs. They are hired for the job nor for the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel. It was a disappointment to read your review and see that you did not experience the Westin at its finest. I have forwarded your comments over to our Director of Front Desk and we will look into additional training immediately. We appreciate every guest that chooses to stay with us and are sorry to hear you did not have the relaxing and enjoyable stay that we strive to provide. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I thought this hotel was very impressive. The lobby was very interesting. The views from the rooms and the elevators were awesome. I was there for a convention and everything was very convenient. We walked down 6 blocks to the Staples center the night of the grammy awards. There are many restaurants nearby to choose from as well as several in the hotel. The meeting rooms were cold and sound from the hallway was easy to hear in the room but those were really my only complaints. The staff was extremely friendly and seemed willing to do whatever was necessary to make my stay pleasant.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor would have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

When you first walk in, you sense something different from the other Westin hotels. When you start to see the attention to design detail in the lobby, you're hoping the rooms are nice. And when you open your room door, you realize it's exceeded everything. Beautiful hotel with well appointed standard rooms that are VERY clean and a great bed. Lots of desk space to get work done; could use an extra electrical outlet, but not a big deal. Service in all areas was great; food & beverage, meetings, checking, and housekeeping. Everyone seemed thankful we had our meetings there, and I hope we'll return soon.
Well done Westin!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and mostly enjoyed it. Solid, well constructed rooms. Bed was extraordinarily comfortable. Very good (albeit pricey --typical for upscale branded hotels) breakfast buffet. They have a revolving restaurant here on the top floor so you can look at the whole of LA over a very long dinner or drinks.

Service for the most part great, with the exception that I was told the staff's "policy" is to NOT accept messages -- even a verbal one -- to anyone aside from yourself. So when I asked my brother to come meet me and didn't have my cell working, I was pretty restricted. A bit irritating as I would expect this basic favor from any of the other major players or boutiques.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It's fun to stay in an iconic building and this certainly is one. Great views of LA from the room. It's a massive hotel so long walks everywhere. The rooms are slightly bizarre - a mix of old and new.

There was nothing bad about the hotel but nothing particularly noteworthy. Some cool movie memorabilia plus a wax figure of George Clooney in the lobby.

Had breakfast at hotel and omelette/frittata was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are very appreciative of your feedback and your comments regarding the views from the guestrooms, interesting movie memorabilia on property and the cuisine in the restaurant. I will be sure to forward on your comment about the delectable omelet to our Executive Chef and his team. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to make your stay more remarkable next time you are in Los Angeles. Thank you again for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#100 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#60 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.