We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #68 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Happy to recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed after Christmas Day and some good desks were on offer, one including parking for little extra cost which we snapped up. The Westin Bonaventure is of good international standard although the circular design makes rooms neat and bathrooms unusually tight. The view was special across to the Hollywood sign and breakfast was quick and service fine. All contact with staff was friendly, efficient and considerate of our wishes. Do go and visit the Disney Concert Hall from here -sensational.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    756
    366
    151
    104
See reviews for
230
454
176
657
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I am an SPG platinum and stayed in this hotel for the first time over Christmas. The suite we were upgraded to was really nice. The location was very convenient - in the middle of downtown and walking distance / short cab ride from Staples Center where we went for a game. The staff was outstanding (including Josh at the front desk - who went out of the way to accommodate our requests). The breakfast was also very good. Our kids loved the heated pool and the opportunity to swim surrounded by tall buildings. Given that this is a refurbished old hotel, you can tell the hotel age in some areas, but rest of the factors and the service definitely make up for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I typically stay in West LA when in town for work, but I chose to mix it up and stay downtown. Its easy enough to get to in the evening when there is no traffic from the airport. There is not much in walking distance from the hotel, but a very short drive away will get you to the fun shops and excellent restaurants of Little Tokyo.

Its a large, if some what dated hotel from what seems to be the 80s. The lobby was cavernous and from it you could see the many stores and restaurants that were accessible from the internal mall. The gym is also in this mall, and it was quite spacious and well appointed.

It is somewhat confusing in the fact that there are 4 elevator banks and towers, but all are connected so regardless of which you actually take you can get to your room. The rooms are a bit smaller than the typical hotel, but they were not uncomfortably so perhaps due to the wall of glass on the exterior wall that in my case provided for a nice cityview. The rooms were appointed in a manner typical hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Westin Bonaventure. The room had floor to ceiling windows looking out to downtown LA and the bed was to die for. The bathrooms were also well appointed and brand new. While there are a lot of restaurants on site the building is a little large for my tastes. It can take awhile to get down to valet and get your car since it is such a big hotel. With all of the one way streets this one was hard for us to get in to. Parking and Internet were also pricy. This room is the best I have stayed in in downtown LA though and the service was very friendly as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed there a couple of nights. The lobby is big a beautiful. Loved the elevators. The rooms were clean but small. I did not have to pay for my stay but for the money the rooms seemed a little small. Service was great. We didn't use the pool since it is outside and it was cold out. No hot tub which is kind of a bummer. The location was great for downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in Days Inn that are nicer and offer better customer service. Never again! When I arrived about 10 people were standing in line to check in with only 2 people working the front desk. About 5 other employees were standing around and chatting. When I realized I forgot my iPhone charger, I was told they don't carry any extras and their gift shop is often out. They do ave some accessories for blackberry users. 1500 rooms and not one iPhone charger to support their guests. I will stick with Kimpton Hotels moving forward. They have definitely out-classed and out-served the mediocre Westin.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hotel with superb architecture in downtown Los Angeles, good breakfast, modern rooms. But as European I dont understand why not exist flexible shower and bidet in the bathroom and also I can not open any windows to have fresh air from outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#44 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frequently featured in movies and TV, this iconic LA symbol is found in the Financial District. We are also within walking distance of Los Angeles Convention Center plus entertainment venues such as the Staples Center, Nokia Theater, LA Live and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.