We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, friendly and helpful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3101 S. Figueroa st, Los Angeles, CA 90007   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
1 review
“Excellent value, friendly and helpful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Very clean. Small breakfast - 24 hour coffee, juice and water. Nice pool. Good parking. Very friendly staff. Lots of nearby restaurants and CVS. Will def come back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear CPlouff,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I am happy to hear you had a great stay and we met your expectations.
All of our staff strive to make our Guest's welcome adn to give the best service possible.
Hope to see you around.

Sincerely,

Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    34
    14
    10
See reviews for
57
9
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I had really nice time and no problems at this hotel.

Room Tip: I had really nice time and no problems at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Your feedback is important to us as we use it for quality and training purposes.

We hope next time you need a place for the night wether it is for business or leisure
you think of Vagabond Inn great value friendly people.

Best Regards-Joana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
171 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

When I first arrived in LA to study at USC some eons ago now, my first stop was Vagabond. I would never had known about it but for a friend who recommended it. As a poor student, it was great place. Walking distance to 'SC and near eateries. The only downside was the used (the word "pre-owned" came later) car lots around the place.

So eons later, I decided to return to check out Vagabond.

I'm told I am staying in the new wing (that's the wing shown in the photo). Otherwise, it's more or less as I recall. You have a large bed in the centre of the room. The tv hangs on the opposite wall. (In the old days, it was the CRT tv.) A small dining table next to the glass wall. A writing table next to the tv.

Then you have this alcove that has the sink, mini-fridge, open racks to hang your clothes, and then the bathroom.

The aircon is the box-type (can't remember when I last slept in a room with a box aircon) and is somewhat noisy. Speaking of which, noise does enter the room because of the large single-glaze panel shielded from the outside by curtains. I travel with earplugs so I whipped them out.

Bathroom amenities were basic (soap and shampoo only, no body lotion) but I anticipated that. So I also whipped out my own soap, shampoo and lotion.

Breakfast was not for me. Bread and pastries with cheese and I cannot take cheese. So all I had was coffee. It was not a big deal for me as my meeting included a proper breakfast.

Wifi was free. As is parking.

The room worked well for me. US$145 all in. Walking distance to 'SC. And I was there from breakfast, returning after dinner.

If you have to stay in the room for any length of time awake, then the motel may not work for you. Otherwise, for a basic room where you return to sleep, and have to buy some of your own amenities and take breakfast outside, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This isn't the newest hotel in town, but it is perfect for a short overnight stay. We went to a concert at the Colliseum and didn't want to have to drive back to OC. We walked to the concert and dinner. The room was clean - obviously not luxurious but that was ok. The staff were very nice and accommodating. The only reason I did not give a five rating is that it was noisy. Be prepared to hear people talking, cars in the parking, doors closing, etc. If you are tired enough, then it really shouldn't matter though. I would recommend this hotel if you aren't staying long.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room, it might cut down on the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Vagabond Inn LAUSC property and for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is important to us.

Your opinion is very important to us this helps us improve the quality of our services including Front Desk, Housekeeping, and Management.

I am happy to hear you had a satisfactory stay and that we met your expectations.

Sincerely,

Joana Reyes-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We were charged $141 in total for the room, which was a complete rort (it was late on Fri night and we had a lack of options at this point). The hotel felt seedy, and we immediately removed all items from our car so they wouln't be stolen. A group of young kids were staying at the motel and they were noisy until at least 2am and appeared drunk. Other young people were hooning in and out of the car park all night. In addition we had NO TOWELS provided, the toilet lid was broken and the toilet seat completely missing!!!! I tried to report it to the front desk when checking out, but they were busy serving a customer who seemed to be drugged up. Altogether not a nice experience, particularly given the inflated price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor. Your feedback enables us to further enhance our service and product to our guests.
I apologize for the inconvenience during your past stay with us. It is very important to make sure our guests feel safe during their visit. There is someone who is always staffed at the hotel 24 hours 7 days a week. We also have security cameras that are monitored throughout the day and night. In addition, there are city ambassadors and USC patrol that watch the USC area to insure safety on campus and the surrounding areas. Housekeeping is in charge of thoroughly cleaning each room and also attends to anything in the room that needs maintenance. I would be more than happy to speak with you about your past stay so feel free to contact me.

Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were very satisfied with Vagabond Inn with its cleanliness and excellent location to downtown LA & USC. The room we had was on the second floor, which was a little further from the street. This was good because we could hear the sirens very often, though not loudly. If it were a room near the street, I could imagine it could get quite noisy. We especially want to thank Jasmine and Nazneen who were extremely helpful with tips and directions to various sights and attractions in LA. Bravo! Jasmine and Nazneen! However, the same thing cannot be said about Samantha, who said she was not from LA and was new on the job. Whenever we approached her for help, she never made an effort to help us, not even by searching the Internet or asking somebody else who might have the information. To be fair we didn't expect her to know everything, neither did Jasmine nor Nazneen, but Samantha just wasn't helpful at all. It was very frustrating for us because we were very new to LA, having flown almost 19 hours from Singapore. Anyway, our experience and impression were not marred by her. We just want to thank Vagabond Inn and the people we met for a wonderful experience in LA. Reviewed by S.F. Chin - Singapore
18 March 2012

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay and business at our Vagabond Inn Los Angeles USC location.

We are glad to hear our staff assisted you in a timely manner with your needs and questions.

We hope next time you travel to Los Angeles you think of Vagabond Inns Hotels.

Thank you for taking the time to review our Vagabond Inn Los Angeles USC property.

Sincerely,

Joana Reyes -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

In my second day in the frontdesk, I overheard a clerk told the other traveler that vagabondinn can arrange shuttle bus for customers travelling from the inn to LAX airport at the cost of US16 (for the bus trip). I felt assured to get that information. When I was assisted to place a call to arrange the shuttle bus one day upon my checkout, I was quoted with a fee of US18 + tips (about 2.00), so I asked the clerk on duty that day (Nazneen) for clarification. The 18+2 price was new to Nazneen too, so she took over and talk to the bus call center. I was very imprssed that Nazneen negotiated for my interest (or of all residents at vagabondinn) with very solid and presuasive reasons, although my original intention was to clarify rather than negotiate. As a non-native travellers in USA, I really appreciate that vagabondinn has clerks who are willing to volunteer important information and negotiate for their cumstomers' interest and can handle things nicely.

The only thing I'm not used to is this: to get your breakfast you need to travel from your room to another building where the front desk is located. (but I guess that's the arrangement it has to be).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC

Address: 3101 S. Figueroa st, Los Angeles, CA 90007
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn downtown Los Angeles (USC) hotel is Just one block from the USC campus and the Shrine Auditorium, home of the Emmy Awards, in the heart of Los Angeles.Also within a few miles is Downtown Los Angeles, L.A. LIVE is a one-of-a-kind entertainment campus, L.A. LIVE is a gunuine world-class sports and entertainment destination, Staples Center, LA Convention Center, Garment District and the Museum of Natural History, among other points of interest. Plan a visit to the nearby Universal Studios, Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm are just miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles-Usc Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Figueroa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.