We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage LA Glamour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Save Saved
You added Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #135 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vintage LA Glamour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

When we are visiting SoCal, my husband and I like to try to work in an evening at The Cicada Club, which is an art deco night club right down the street from the Biltmore. We love the deco era, and the Biltmore delivers! It is way bigger than I expected... The lobby, grand hall, bar/restaurants and meeting rooms take up a whole city block! The rooms we've had have been nice enough... not brand-spanking new and shiny, but not dirty or shabby either. The outside rooms are a little noisy because the windows are original. I've stayed there alone, and didn't feel unsafe in the neighborhood. Anyway, the staff was friendly and you really get a sense of history (in a good way). For the price, it is a cool place to stay! I'm glad it is still around! PS Park in the lot across the street, next to Pershing Square. That'll only run you about $20.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    568
    380
    210
    135
See reviews for
223
535
126
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Grand Old hotel but the rooms are old, plan, basic and need updating.
Noise from the streets can be heard in the room.
Bar service was good, front desk took about 30 minutes to get the reservation right. Been here three nights and very few employees great the guests or say things to make them feel welcomed.
Have to get ice on the floor above or below my room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a magnificent lobby & downstairs area but the hotel was really let down by the staff service. We entered the valet area & 2 guys stood at the doors of our car rushing us to grab our stuff & get out of the car! They were not friendly & didn't say a word to us. We then went inside to check in & the lady at reception did not smile once. She didn't give us any information on anything in the hotel or in the area & was concentrating on the bride & groom who were taking pictures behind us. She then asked us for a credit card for the valet parking & we asked her what price it was - $40 per night- ridiculous! We were driving from San Francisco to Vegas & were stopping here for 2 nights so we had no choice but to pay it, $80 on top of the room price is unreal. She gave us our key cards for the room & didn't even direct us to the elevators.
The room was only average, the biggest shock was that there was no free wi-fi, I think the fee was $10 for 24 hours which they charged us twice for. One of my pet hates when booking a double room is that when you get to the room there is two beds in it. Not only was there two when we only needed one, the beds were double size, I stay in a lot of hotels & it's been a long time since I saw a double bed, hotels normally have king size beds.
We then went out for dinner to discover there is nothing around the hotel, the streets are dark & intimidating with homeless people everywhere, we didn't feel safe at all. Overall, this was the worst hotel of all of our trip & I expected a lot more.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We greatly appreciate your valuable comments. We take most seriously your concerns about the service levels of our staff and will address the issues with the appropriate department manager to reinforce our dedicated service commitment and take any necessary corrective measures. In the meantime, we deeply regret having caused you disappointment and hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to L.A.; we will do our best to restore your confidence. Given your unfortunate perceptions of our surrounding neighborhoods, our concierges would be delighted to share with you several highly popular and well-rated establishments to visit that may enhance your cultural and dining experience on your next visit to L.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel was beautiful, you feel like you step back in time. The room was cozy, beds very comfortable and considering the age of the hotel it was very clean.The only surprise we had was the $40 a night parking. Overall would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

It's typical for hotels of its kind: you're paying for the grand lobby and put up with the somewhat dilapidated rooms. That's what I expected. What I hadn't expected was the impossibility to maintain a Wi-Fi connection in my room (for a fee!) nor the long waits for the elevators. Valet parking is regularly unavailable, also.

I guess this hotel works ok for weddings and proms, but business travelers are better off elsewhere.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments. Catering to business travelers is one of our highest priorities, and we are committed to providing guests with a superior experience. We appreciate your concerns about our Wi-Fi connection, valet parking, and elevator access and functionality and reassure you that our hotel is taking steps to ensure smooth service among those areas you have raised. We deeply regret having caused you disappointment and do hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to L.A.; we are committed to restoring your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hotel is situated in downtown LA, There isn;t tooo much to do around the hotelm, there a few resturants and bars but not much. However hotel is right next to a metro station which will take you everywhere you want to go for $5 for a all day pass. We took metro to Universal studios, Hollywood walk of fame and airport. Definatley cheapest and easiest way to get around as there is a lot of traffic and cabs/taxis aint cheap. For a good varity of resurants.shops and bars you can visit Universal citywalk for free which leads to the theme park. You take themetro and then vross the road and there is a free shuttle up to all of the resturants.


Hotel Looked very grand and was very well decorated but roooms were nothing special. We stayed in a bacis room, we had TV, bed, coffee maker, iron, hair dryer.

WIFI is avaible at a cost of $10 a day

There is no fridge in roomand no drinking water avaible. There are ice machines and drinks vending machines on every floor. Drinks from machine are $3.

Checkout time was 12:00 and hotle was happy to store our suitcases for us free of charge.

Tips:

For a cheap lunch or dinner there are 2 subway's right next the hotel, one right next to metro station.

Use the metro to get around, with your first ticket you will have to buy a "TAP" card which will cost $1. this is similar to a Oyster and will come from the machine, There is no ticket office. You use card to tap in, however you do not need to tap out.

To get to Hollywood walk of fame take metro towards north hollywood and get off at Hollwood & Vine of Hollywood& Highland these 2 stops are at each end of Hollywood Bouvlard and the walk of fame. When you walk out of station at Hollywood & vine there were ppeople selling tours which go to celebrity homes and the hollwyood sign which was $35 dollars each and was well worth it.

If your in your early 20's take I.D because you will be challenged alot when buying alcohol.

To see Celebrity handprints and footprints This is at Hollywood & Highland metro station. To walk between both stations takes approx 15-20 minutes.

Most places do not prices on there beer, Ask for prices first to avoid a shocking bill. Hotel bar charges $10 for a beer which is a rip off.

I will also be reviewing local resturanst that we used.

Room Tip: Don't use cabs to get around hotle is right next to pershing square metro which costs $5 for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were given one night by Amtrak as part of a rail package. Very poor choice. The hotel is too old and shabby. The environment and location is in one of the most run down part of Los Angeles...it is scary to step out for a meal. The rooms need makeover...would not recommend in its present condition

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments. We take most seriously your concerns about our product and reassure you that our hotel is currently undergoing an improvement project to remedy the issues you have raised specifically within the guestroom. We deeply regret having caused you disappointment and hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to L.A.; we think you will notice the improvements and look forward to restoring your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it’s rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original “Oscar” statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and nine Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.