We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty is truly only skin deep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Save Saved
You added Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #133 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beauty is truly only skin deep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely old hotel. Used to host the Academy Awards. Fantastic lobby and decor. Problem is, you want to stay there!! Rooms are small. Electrical outlets are non-existant and poorly thought out. There's a coffee maker, but not one outlet that can be reached by the cord unless you put the unit on the floor. When you put the unit on the floor the housekeeping folks keep moving it back to place where you cannot plug it in. NO WI-FI for under $40.00 per day - - I know LA is expensive, but for crying out loud. Not ready for a check in when we arrived after 7:00pm! 6 elevators, smaller than the desk you're reading this from - only 3 ever worked. Took a record 27 minutes to get an elevator one morning. Tried the stairs - - very frightening, exposed wiring, dark corners, nasty. Waited for the elevator, just got up 30 minutes early so I was sure I wasn't stranded upstairs. Go visit, take a few photos, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: the best way to get a great room is to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    566
    378
    207
    133
See reviews for
219
533
126
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference in downtown LA. When you walk into this hotel it definitely screams old Hollywood; the entrance lobby and rooms downstairs are magnificent. The hotel was build about 90-100 years ago, while this may not be as obvious downstairs, the elevators and upper floors showed a quite bit of wear.
The pros: fairly quiet, shower stayed extremely warm, wonderful floor to ceiling window with plantation shutter and roomy closet. On site bar and dining options, conceirge, luggage drop, indoor pool and sauna, large gym to work out.
The cons: minimal counter space in bathroom, no mirror outside of the bathroom (essential for a room of 4 women trying to carry out morning routines on a set schedule), no auto on setting on the temperature control (only on or off), beds were small with only 2 pillows and the room could use some overall updating.
As for the price paid, I cannot speak for the area as this was my first time in downtown LA (although it was not very near to the major attractions such as the Staples center, convention center, LA live, etc.) however it seemed overpriced given the need for updating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Millennium Biltmore in L.A. is a 90 year old hotel and is rich with tradition. As the former site of the Academy Awards and several US Presidents staying there, there is a lot of history in this grand old hotel. However with age brings challenges from a functionality perspective. The elevators date back to 1966 and are very slow and infrequent. Wait times often exceeded one to two minutes in a building that is only 11 storeys. The water pressure is poor due to inadequate plumbing. The biggest issue was the original single pane glass (again a sign of age) on the exterior of the building. Outside noise (sirens, etc.) and temperature were hard to tolerate at times. The updated heating and cooling systems struggle to maintain a constant temperature due to poorly insulated rooms and limited ducting. However, having said all that, you are in the heart of downtown LA so background noise is to be expected. Rooms are average, but location and tradition make up for the shortcomings in the rooms. Restaurants and hotel amenities are very good. There are several newer hotels in the area (in particular the JW Marriot) that give you great rooms, location, but lack in history and tradition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I cop to enjoying downtown hotels in LA - more utilitarian than the gorgeous and plush hotels in other parts of the city - so my frame of reference is comparably limited. There are some neat choices in downtown LA - many within walking distance of each other. Given the geography, then, comparisons are easy. The Biltmore does not do well in these comparisons.

The ceilings are high with lots of tin molding. The chandeliers are numerous and reminiscent of '40s movies. There is lots of dark wood and big, dark sofas and chairs. The lobby bar is old world and warm. The downstairs restaurant is weirdly out if sync, being sparse and bright. I wonder if someone considered a renovation and then decided - nah!

The rooms (well, mine, anyway) are somewhat large but very tired. Dreary upholstery on the one non-desk chair, predictable dark wood desk and dresser / TV stand, limited lighting (which added to the sense of darkness) and, regrettably, a bathroom that you'd expect in a rundown motel.

The staff was terrific and helpful, but the Biltmore loses out to the wide choice if its bright, clean neighbors!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for 3 nights in our tour of the west coast US. We came here straight from the airport late at night after picking up our hire car - convertible Mustang :). We turned up and left the keys with the valet and had no trouble checking in late at night. After checking in we decided to go out to get some food (we were jet lagged) and i cannot fault the in & out valet even if it is $40 a day it is worth it. The room was nice although lacking in double glazing and parts of the décor was a bit worn. We did not eat in the hotel other than breakfast one morning, to which I can recommend the eggs benedict. The grandeur of the hotel is impressive, proved by a filming of a television program/film going on. The bar is good and there is no sign of measuring spirits in this bar! Definitely recommend it for a short break in LA.

Room Tip: Get a high floored room to minimise the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, but the updates and amenities in the rooms are not five star. When we stay here we enjoy the beauty of the great rooms and the wonderful ambience of staying in an old, grand hotel in downtown Los Angeles. It is very well situated for walking to some of the best restaurants in LA. We staying in the Music Suite which was wonderful for entertaining and the service was excellent with the staff very friendly and accommodating. The no free wifi and limited cable stations were disappointing in the rooms. As long as you aren't expecting Four Seasons luxury, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city. A Club floor room is worth it for the extra amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Biltmore excudes historic elegance. It is well maintained considering it's age. The decor is fine and rooms do not seem overly tired with the exception of the bathroom. The staff were all very accomodating and worked well with me when I needed to change my reservation. I enjoyed learning about the history of the hotel and major events held at the Biltmore. I would encourage the hotel to highlight more of these historic visits. I enjoyed the breakfast, well worth the extra money versus going to a Subway or Starbucks. I would highly recommend parking in Pershing Square garage (1 block away) rather than the pricey valet service at the hotel. Valet space can fill up fast anyway.

Room Tip: I would select an end room so that there is only one room next to you as the walls seem a litle on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it’s rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original “Oscar” statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and nine Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.