We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Girl Deserves Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Save Saved
You added Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #134 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
St. George, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Old Girl Deserves Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Once upon a time this must have been a grand place to stay. The lobbies, meeting rooms and other public spaces are beautiful and seem quite lovingly maintained. On the other hand, the actual guest rooms don't measure up. The rooms were spacious enough, and cracks in the plaster-work lend an aging charm, but they don't make up for a mediocre bed and odd bits of furniture. Also - the bathrooms are similar in size to what you'll find in the average London hotel room . . . For the most part service was better than average - but I'd skip eating at the hotel and go around the corner, past the Starbucks to the Crepes XPress. It's been 2 years since I was in downtown Los Angeles, the Pershing Square area seems a bit less run down, and there's a great used bookstore a couple of blocks away. A fridge and complimentary wi-fi would have helped me feel better about the trip. (Also, the staff seemed a little embarrassed by questions about the 10th floor being haunted, if it were me, I'd play it up.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    585
    389
    214
    136
See reviews for
231
549
127
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Old beautiful hotel with ornate wood and cooper type ceilings. The guest rooms are very outdated with no modern conveniences like iphone/ipad charges clock, clear cable television, refrigerator, bottled water and many of the electrical outlets didn't work. Thankfully, I paid a discounted price for the room or I would be really upset. The biggest problem was that only 1 of 6 elevators were operating and every floor had up to 20 people waiting. I will not go back unless they remodel and upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If your on a business trip, this hotel I'd probably in a great location for you. If your traveling for fun, try another area of LA. While the lobby, and restaurants are opulent the rooms are lack luster, the bathrooms could use a major update. We took the stairs down to the lobby... Big mistake, we ended up having to walk through a creepy basement floor with exposed electrical wires to get to the actual lobby. Overall, I would pass on staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as I had already stayed here a few years ago and had a good experience. The rooms are definitely outdated, but you have to kind of expect that from an old hotel with a lot of history like this one has. There was nothing wrong with the rooms though. The bathroom fixtures were fine, the beds were fine, the service was fine, the bar was fine... Everything was fine. The only issue is the location of course, which I knew going in was a bit sketchy, but then again, it's downtown LA. Don't go out looking for late night food, it's not safe and you won't find anything!
Would stay here again if I was looking to stay in downtown LA again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West US
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel once a year, for the last three years, for an annual business meeting. The public areas, such as the lobby, are grand and full of character. The rooms, however, not so much. My room, this last time, was spacious. But like the others I've stayed in previously, it was not very well-lit and the room furnishings were tired and in need of an upgrade. Since this was the conference hotel, I'm sure my room was pretty generic. There must be others that match the beauty of the public areas. But alas, that wasn't the kind of room I was assigned. I hope they will move the conference next year. I'll miss that impressive lobby, but nothing else. Hats off to hard-working staff who keep the big place running, though. I'm sure it's quite a job.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

There are many hotels in Los Angeles that are more modern and reflect the lastest in technological features, but this well-maintained marvel of a century gone by remains my favorite. I like the classic features of the public facilities and guest rooms (some very spacious reflecting the standards of the era). It is not unusual to see easy recognizable celebrities and movers and shakers in Los Angeles in the hotel for a meal or meeting. I have always found the staff to be very helpful. Some very good places to eat are within easy walking distance. It is about 5 minutes away from major LA freeways (highways) to access other areas of the region or state.

Room Tip: Considering it is in downtown LA, ask for a quiet room off the main streets, if ensuring no sounds c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had to stay there for my Global Sales Meeting from Sunday to Thursday. First I must say the Lobby is Beautiful, but the rooms are dumps. I saw several rooms b/c I was hanging out with co-workers and they were all the same Gross, Old, VERY DUSTY, and the worst LOUD. The pillows were awful as well.
I stay at Hilton Properties for my business travel and let me tell you that the Hampton Inns rooms put this hotels to shame.
I had to go through several shower heads to get hot water, and a new shower curtain b/c mine had red stuff all over it.
The Food was OK since i had to eat it three times a day, I have had way better.
I went running every morning with a big group since I was on East Coast Time and its very dangerous from what I saw, so if your a women do not run alone.
The only good thing was that the bartender at the Gallery Bar gave a VERY generous glass of wine!!
I had the biggest room from what I heard from my other co-workers, so ask for 2 double beds and room 933, but I must warn its a loud room cause you hear everything outside.

Room Tip: Ask for 2 double bed rooms, mine was 933 and it was double the size of my friends. If you have alle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it’s rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original “Oscar” statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and nine Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.