We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst of the worst” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles to your Saves list
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #137 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst of the worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is absolutely the worst hotel we have experienced. When we walked in the hotel the lobby looks really elegant and the apple cider was warm enough to settle my heart down. However the first room we got that night was in the corner of road end. If you want to get in you have to get thru two doors which is quite annoying. The smell of the room makes us feel there was some accident in the room so they used tons of detergent to clean the room. The air conditioner was very loud too. We required to change a room and the front desk said they would send some bell boy to deliver us the key but after 20 minutes waiting time we went down to get the key to the new room. After we came back to the new room after dinner we found that even we turned off the air conditioner it was still very noisy. I called the front desk to change a room again and the said they would bring up the key again. After another 20 minutes waiting around 11pm no one showed up. I called them and the girl at front desk asked me to go down without even saying sorry. I went down and asked her why it was so noisy she said it's just because of the street and it seems she is quite familiar with the noise complaint. Finally we got settled down in a room with ok standard for a four star hotel. The swimming poor is also far from rooms. I cancelled my other two night stays after changing two rooms in 3 hours stay. Employees at this hotel don't really care about their guest.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    769
    510
    276
    171
See reviews for
319
712
153
551
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for three nights for a work conference. The conference was at the JW Marriott at the LA Live Staples Center location. About a mile away which was a nice walk at the beginning and end of the day. Location is good. Downtown LA is, well, downtown LA but the hotel sits at the foot of Bunker Hill which is a nice area. Walked to the Mark Taper Forum to see a play and was a pretty easy walk. Room was pretty small but comfortable. My main gripe would be the bathroom, toilet wouldn't flush easily, very little counter space and nowhere to hang towels. Other than that, a fine place to stay, And just a little oddity: There was no bedspread on the bed. Didn't need one and actually hate those gross poly blend things you get at really cheap hotels but I just thought it was a little odd.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

If anyone ever wants to stay at a wonderful hotel in LA with the above characteristics, I highly recommend the Millenium Biltmore. It has all these plus more amenities. I even saw a wedding performed there. It is a very high class hotel with its grand, golden lobby and the hallways and rooms off the hallways were equally spectacular. The Pershing Square metro line is two blocks away and it is in the heart of the Bunker Hill District. Up the block, you'll find very tall bank, CPA firms, and the Disney Building. I would definitely return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: I usually choose higher floors for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Whoever hired Martha the Concierge should pat themselves on the back for understanding the qualities to look for when hiring a 'true' concierge. Martha just blew me away yesterday with her obvious passion for making Biltmore guests happy. Maybe it's the Biltmore's standards for customer service or her own. Regardless, I can't say enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The lobby and the public places are historical and impressive. The fact that the hotel hosted the Oscars in 1937 is great......shame that no-one has dusted since! We arrived after a long journey and were almost in tears with the room that we were given. Dark, dismal and dirty. We went straight back to reception and to give them their dues, they gave us a better room... WELL only just! It was filthy, jaded and we decided straight away that we would only stay the one night and not the three (already pre-paid, I might add). It really doesn't do a hotel credit when the first thing you do is desperately re-book a room from the hotel wi-fi. Such a shame that no-one is taking charge of this potential! Oh and whatever you do, don't eat in the restaurant!! It was empty, so obviously the message is getting there, but please pass it on!

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

BUT, the rooms are nothing great, almost dumpy. This is my second stay in as many years and nothing has changed. Good location, but there are other choices and I will stay at one of those on my next trip to Los Angeles

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thíra, Kikladhes, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Build in 1923, Classic architect, friendly, mostly the lower levels.
Use Metro red line from Pershing sqs. 5min away from hotel to get to Hollywood or Universal city.
20min away from Staples center if you like basket.

Room Tip: Upper than 2nd is fine. Many weddings going on at low. West side is more quieter because there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#64 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Figueroa
Hotel Figueroa
#139 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.