We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class, Charm, Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles to your Saves list
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Class, Charm, Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

If anyone ever wants to stay at a wonderful hotel in LA with the above characteristics, I highly recommend the Millenium Biltmore. It has all these plus more amenities. I even saw a wedding performed there. It is a very high class hotel with its grand, golden lobby and the hallways and rooms off the hallways were equally spectacular. The Pershing Square metro line is two blocks away and it is in the heart of the Bunker Hill District. Up the block, you'll find very tall bank, CPA firms, and the Disney Building. I would definitely return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: I usually choose higher floors for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    643
    415
    234
    148
See reviews for
254
593
135
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Whoever hired Martha the Concierge should pat themselves on the back for understanding the qualities to look for when hiring a 'true' concierge. Martha just blew me away yesterday with her obvious passion for making Biltmore guests happy. Maybe it's the Biltmore's standards for customer service or her own. Regardless, I can't say enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The lobby and the public places are historical and impressive. The fact that the hotel hosted the Oscars in 1937 is great......shame that no-one has dusted since! We arrived after a long journey and were almost in tears with the room that we were given. Dark, dismal and dirty. We went straight back to reception and to give them their dues, they gave us a better room... WELL only just! It was filthy, jaded and we decided straight away that we would only stay the one night and not the three (already pre-paid, I might add). It really doesn't do a hotel credit when the first thing you do is desperately re-book a room from the hotel wi-fi. Such a shame that no-one is taking charge of this potential! Oh and whatever you do, don't eat in the restaurant!! It was empty, so obviously the message is getting there, but please pass it on!

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

BUT, the rooms are nothing great, almost dumpy. This is my second stay in as many years and nothing has changed. Good location, but there are other choices and I will stay at one of those on my next trip to Los Angeles

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thíra, Kikladhes, Greece
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Build in 1923, Classic architect, friendly, mostly the lower levels.
Use Metro red line from Pershing sqs. 5min away from hotel to get to Hollywood or Universal city.
20min away from Staples center if you like basket.

Room Tip: Upper than 2nd is fine. Many weddings going on at low. West side is more quieter because there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very grand entrance and lower rooms. Hotel used to house the Oscars in the 20/30's. Room we had on the 8th floor was quite large with two small doubles, it was very noisy though. Good job I had taken some ear plugs for swimming as they were a godsend.Internet access available in room wirelessly or by ethernet for a charge. 9.95 for 24 hours, longer periods available. Had a nice evening meal and a bar meal. Area outside a bit run down but never witnessed any problems. Concierge very helpful booking us on a tour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have stayed at the Biltmore during a congress in Los Angeles. The interior in the lobby looks like an old grand hotel and to some extend promissing. My room was alright, but neither the bed-light, nor the safe worked. However, the housekeeping was exceptional friendly. A big compliment to this side. A bit dissapointing was the breakfast buffett in the cellar coffee shop in the morning. Could be much better and has definitely more the charme of a 3-star hotel.
In my bill at departure the w-lan for laptop and iphone use was double charged, wich I found pretty strange. However after I complained the receptionist said, that they take it off, when people complain. Well?!
Altogether, this hotel has great capacities, but needs some improvements.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it’s rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original “Oscar” statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and nine Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.