We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost charme” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Save Saved
You added Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #128 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Zurich
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lost charme”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have stayed at the Biltmore during a congress in Los Angeles. The interior in the lobby looks like an old grand hotel and to some extend promissing. My room was alright, but neither the bed-light, nor the safe worked. However, the housekeeping was exceptional friendly. A big compliment to this side. A bit dissapointing was the breakfast buffett in the cellar coffee shop in the morning. Could be much better and has definitely more the charme of a 3-star hotel.
In my bill at departure the w-lan for laptop and iphone use was double charged, wich I found pretty strange. However after I complained the receptionist said, that they take it off, when people complain. Well?!
Altogether, this hotel has great capacities, but needs some improvements.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    556
    368
    200
    129
See reviews for
210
518
124
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at The Biltmore for 2 nights.From the outside it really doesnt look very impressive but once you enter the lobby like alot of the previous reviews have stated the decor and architecture inside was beautiful reminicient of the early 1900s.Very big lobby area with ample seating...reception was generally efficient and businesslike but like all american hotels service was pretty minimal.Lifts to rooms were across a long hallway and also to the restaurant downstairs where they serve a pretty good buffet breakfast.The small lobby area just outside the restaurant is a very popular place for filming of movies and there was some shooting going on during my stay.
The rooms were big and spacious but really needed a major overhaul.No doubt the bed was big and comfortable the room was just not cosy or had that homely feeling.It just felt cold dark and depressing.Windows had no curtains at all...instead they had really old dusty wooden blinds...so early in the morning one would be woken up by the daylight coming in but being surrounded by tall buildings the room doesnt get much sunlight.Lighting was pretty minimal.In contrast the size of the bathroom was really tiny and had hardly any counter top to put my toiletries.Awful rusty taps and bathtub with yellowish ring stains.Some how or rather the room decor reminded me of the inside of Norman Bates` famous house up ontop of the hill in the movie Pyscho.
Location wise not to my liking as i was there during the weekend so being right in the middle of the business district the whole place was dead.I suppose good in a sense as it wasnt crowded or with alot of traffic because my room faced the road so would it have been a weekday i am sure it would have been very noisy.Nothing much in the way of shopping around the area except 2 blocks away there was an area selling cheap electronics clothing and the usual other shops you find anywhere.The people hanging around this area tend to be more of the South American/Mexican races.Few usual eateries like subway Panda express and other fast food joints.
On the other side of the hotel behind...a totally different scenario.Tall office blocks and just down the road about 10mins walk away was a small shopping mall with a Macy`s and the usual foodcourt below the Hyatt i think it was.
Would i recommend or stay at this hotel again?Definately not.Even if i had to stay around that area again there are far better hotels like The Westin Bonaventure or the other major chains.
I would have taken a few photos of the room and bathroom but it was just to depressing i didnt bother.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the Biltmore about two weeks ago. We were invited to wedding where the reception was around the corner from the hotel so staying in BH was silly. I am not a big hotel kind of guy and my first impression was not good one because there was a line at check in and this is a big hotel. However my first impression was wrong, nice hotel, we had a great big room which was very comfortable and the staff was informative courteous and excellent. The hotel was very reasonably priced especially given our accommodations. The neighborhood is one in transition i.e. it is old and was down and out but it seems to be changing. If I were visting LA as part of a vacation I don't think I would stay in this area but a couple of years from now who knows. However if I were visiting and did not want to spend $600 a night for a luxury hotel I would stay here. Beware the parking is expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed for the third time in two years at the Biltmore, and reviewed it in 2010. I am writing this additional review to respectfully disagree with some of the other reviewers. My friend and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and found our room spacious and comfortable. I did tell the hotel that some touch up paint was in order, the carpet was frayed around the edges of the room, and the old keyhole in the bathroom door looked shabby. OK, folks, there was not much shelving in the bathroom. Other than that, we thought our stay was just fine. While I would not give these rooms five stars without some upgrading, I fail to see why others are so picky. The employees were great and I love the " movie star " swimming pool in the basement. The prepaid rate was fairly reasonable and a big plus is that it is within walking distance of Walt Disney Concert Hall, where we went to hear the LA Philharmonic. I was discussing this topic with one of the bellmen, who sighed about the recent reviews and commented " Some people just don't like old hotels. " This one dates from 1923. Frankly, i like the place and will return. Case stated. Goodnight! ( P.S. - I seldom ever order room service, but we placed a food order late at night and it was promptly delivered. )

Room Tip: Expect your accomodations to be a little out of sync with the 21st Century and appreciate the histor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was a bit worried about staying here after reading other reviews but the hotel was fine. The rooms are big and clean, and so is the bathroom with amenities. The concierge at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in downtown LA in the business district so it's a very quiet area. The hotel is located right next to the bus stop and the Metro so very handy for getting around if you are not driving, you can get a $6 dollar day pass which you can travel about for 24 hours on from the ticket purchase time. The hotel's lobby is very grand and beautiful - please note that this not match the old fashioned rooms, so prepare yourself otherwise you may be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the elevators as the halls can be quite noisy with travellers arriving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is stunningly beautiful, the ceilings are amazing. I would highly recommend going for drinks and to look around.....but I would NOT recommend staying there. Check in was incredibly slow - but it gave us plenty of time to see the video of how beautiful the rooms were going to be. They were obviously streaming ones that were upgraded and refurbished because we actually laughed at our room when we got there. Yes, I get it, it's an old historic hotel, I should have expected the rooms to be teeny tiny, and the bathroom teeny tinier. And I could have overlooked it had the rooms been updated and not so dingy. So here, in a nutshell, is the good and the bad.

The good - the bed was comfy, and the pillows were soft and comfy. That is it for the good.

The bad.....well after you get over that "old man" smell that permeates the entire hotel, the room was dark and in need of a thorough cleaning. The windows are all original, so it is really noisy. We were facing the courtyard and could hear the cars whizzing by on the freeway. The TV has about 20 channels - 3 of which are dedicated to the ammenities of the hotel. There are no mirrors in the bedroom - which was a pain for me, because when my husband was getting ready in the bathroom I couldn't put my makeup on or do my hair. The bathroom is ridiculously small - enough room for one person to stand in, with a pedestal sink - and little thin counter, so forget putting a shaving kit or makeup bag on it. I'm sure I looked like a clown after putting my makeup on in such dim lighting. Lastly, the thermostat looked like it was from the 60's - push a button in for on/off, air/heat - only the button looked the same in or out. It wasn't working in any setting, so our room was hot as hell.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel, and only come here for drinks and to look around. It's not pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I must to agree with other reports, the problem of the hotel are the rooms.
We stayed for 5 nights (Company was paying, so I do not know prices...). When you arrive, you are delighted by the architecture of the hotel: it is amazing, everything is gorgeous, the lobby, corridors, bars, salloons,...
They gave us a bad (small, not good view) room, at 4th floor. We complained at front-desck, and we were re-placed to a better and bigger room. I must to agree with other reports on TA: rooms are not good. They have a coffe maker, standard (and good) TV, good bed, linen and pillows, but the room is dated: bathroom is old (but worked well), windows do not open much, glasses of the windows dirty on outside. Besides, to have wi-fi access to internet, you must pay a rate of $10 a day.
Staff is fine, everything we asked they did. Sometimes is difficult to find the concierge (I believe that he/she have to go sometimes to 10th floor, to attend VIP guests), but they helped us when we needed to have an information or book some service.
Location is fine, walk distance from restaurants, Macy's, Target, supermarkets. Feel safe walking there untill 11 pm.
Breakfast is good (not excellent) and costs $20.
Loved to stay here.

Room Tip: There is a fitness center, pool, gym machines, sauna (humid and dry), and is free to use. Even if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it’s rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original “Oscar” statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and nine Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.