We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hipster-ish, but we good service (I'm looking at you ACE Hotel)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Line

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Line to your Saves list
The Line
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3515 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010 (Formerly The Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles) (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save 15%
Ranked #43 of 328 Hotels in Los Angeles
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hipster-ish, but we good service (I'm looking at you ACE Hotel)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were scared to book this place after a not so great experience with the ACE Palm Springs, but we were pleasantly surprised. The Line is very conveniently located in Korea Town -- not far from West Hollywood or Silver Lake/Los Feliz. We had a room on the top floor that had great views and really no noise from the street or bar/reception area. We found the service and attention to detail just wonderful (again, this was missing from the ACE). From the check-in to the valet, everyone was very professional and efficient. We really liked the room decor especially the small sitting area next to the bed. If you travel with a lot of bags you might be a bit tight, but we were just fine. The snacks at the coffee bar we yummy, too! Cheers!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    104
    40
    21
    11
See reviews for
43
119
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Absolutely loved this hotel for plenty of reasons. The main that stood out included the decor, minimalist but chic and cool, the room layouts were perfect, with even the city views being lovely considering the floor to ceiling windows. Lots of cool little items scattered around the room like books, navajo chairs, clay vases etc. Their hotel basket (which you have to purchase of course) is pretty epic, that's all I'll say. The beds are insanely comfortable. Like I did not want to get up in the morning comfortable so major bonus points for that.

You have one of the coolest restos in this hotel on the 2nd floor called The Commissary which resembles an amazing greenhouse and has views of a cathedral and the city. This is the perfect place for people spotting. Fashion designers, decorators, musicians...you want hip? You got it...minus the pretentious which adds to ANOTHER bonus point.

Looking for a space to work, grab a delicious coffee and amazing pastries? Their lobby cafe and resto has great space for laptops, meetings, or just a quick breakfast.

My only advice? Get the Hollywood Hills view if you can, the parties downstairs can get quite loud as this place is truly happening and I had a bit of a hard time sleeping the last night.

Seriously, I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I loved the decor of this place. Really nice hotel, funky "hipster" hotel. Great location right off the subway line. Very helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful hotel room. 3 great restaurants inside to eat from. would stay there again in a heart beat! Hopping lobby bar but yet no noise is heard in your hotel room

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is not for those seeking quiet of any kind. Very loud music blares out in and across all reception areas 24/7. Moreover the spectacular floor to ceiling windows are not double glazed so traffic noise (or in our case police helicopters overhead for hours one night) can be a real problem. Also,for one of our party, extremely noisy neighbours. Room service was careless (cups not removed, glasses not washed, some items not replenished). And annoying that the swimming pool was not opened until 10 or ,apparently 1100 am, so no chance of an early morning dip. Good that you can turn off air con and open real windows a bit.

The metro is opposite and there are some local shops (and a big pharmacy/general store) nearby. The conservatory like restaurant is good for breakfast though service can be slow and the coffee shop in the lobby was fine. Reception staff always did their best to help with every query. The bed was exquisitely comfortable and the free wi if was a real bonus for a business traveller

Room Tip: Ask not to be on Wilshire boulevard nor too high, nor near the junction with Normandie, if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent a quick night in LA, after a flight from NYC and a drive to Palm Springs the following day. Our stay fell on the President's Day weekend, a Sunday evening, so the hotel was quite busy when we arrived in the afternoon.
Valet parking (the only parking option in the hotel) is almost $40, but there didn't seem to be many other parking options nearby.
We booked a Hollywood Hills View room, which was beautifully furnished and a lovely space to be in. The view was great, but the windows were filthy (very grimy and streaky on the inside) which was disappointing when we'd paid for the lovely views!
The cafe, pool and restaurants on site meant there was plenty of option to choose from for food and entertainment - it's also in the middle of Koreatown, so there's heaps of choices for Korean BBQ nearby too.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The rooms are very stylish and very very clean. We liked this hotel. Everything was as we expected. Minus is that you can hear some noise. But we knew that and it was not too loud.
We recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My Mother and I stayed here for 3 separate nights during a 2 week holiday in February 2015 and we found this hotel to be outstanding. After searching tripadvisor for a good hotel in LA, we came across The Line and boy are we glad we booked this hotel! The rooms are designed in the industrial style which I like however it's not to everyone's taste. They have windows that open so you can get fresh air as well. Try and get a room that has the view of the Hollywood sign if you can. The front desk and concierge staff were friendly and helpful. Location was great with public transport readily available. The rooms were lovely but most of all the bed and pillows were divine. Will gladly stay here again and would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Friday and Saturday nights have a club like atmosphere downstairs which can get noisy - suggest ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Line

Address: 3515 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010 (Formerly The Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#46 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Line 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About The Line is a hotel collaboration by the Sydell Group with Roy Choi, The Houston Brothers, Sean Knibb, and Poketo. The mid-century building was designed by Daniel Mann Johnson + Mendenhall in 1964, the same architects behind the iconic American Cement Building down Wilshire Blvd. The building has been restored and fully renovated with re-imagined public spaces and guest rooms designed by Sean Knibb. The Line sits alongside Koreatown's famous pre-1940 brick colonial revival buildings, in a neighborhood that's working and playing 24 hours a day thanks to Southern California's highest concentration of restaurants, bars, and round-the-clock businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your The Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Wilshire Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.