We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Line

Save Saved
You added The Line to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Line
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3515 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010 (Formerly The Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles) (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I really enjoyed my 2 nights at The Line. The brutalist architecture, the exposed concrete and the amazing view all made the room stand out from the lot of other LA hotels. The rooms were designed impeccably from the operable shade down to the bathroom fixtures. The staff was really friendly and approachable, and seemed genuinely interested in assisting me with navigating the area. The bar scene and dinner at Pot were amazing, but even if they were absent I would've loved my experience. Cheers from a designer for setting the bar so high.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    35
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
42
10
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My boyfriend is a huge art and architecture enthusiast so he booked this hotel for our anniversary weekend. After check in, it was one pleasant surprise after another. Parking was simple, the hotel staff was incredibly helpful, and the hotel was spotless. We booked a suite that faced the Hollywood Hills and we were ecstatic about the view- Hollywood sign and everything. The room was gorgeous, it is set up to be "modern" and is a wonderful use of space. It's a touch "minimalistic" but still has everything you need. There are unique little touches from the art on the wall to the floor to ceiling window that makes you feel in a totally different world. Later that night, we also decided to check out the bar on the first floor and the DJ was completely decent and the people were cool. Last, we tried the pool before check out which was spotless as everything else and has an awesome view of LA. We will be staying again. It's a touch pricey but if you're in the slightest into art, architecture or anything of the sort and love the area as we do, then it's worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Line Hotel customer service is on POINT. We enjoyed our stay from the beginning until the very last day. The rooms are clean with breathtaking views. If you are looking for hotel to stay in LA definitely check this out.

Room Tip: Rooms with big windows is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved our stay at this hip hotel located in Koreatown LA. If you enjoy staying at accomodation with some design kudos and innovation then this is the place for you. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The lobby cafe has great food, nice busy vibe with great music and the Cappucinos are very good!! We can highly recommend the breakfast burritos too!There is a very nice pool on the second floor with plenty of sunloungers and a very cool glasshouse cafe area.The rooms are nicely appointed with great objects and art ( all available at Poketo store in the lobby). The beds are comfy , views from huge windows gorgeous ( we could see hollywood sign and griffith observatory) and plenty of pillows & towels are provided.I would definitely stay in this hotel again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexaHall, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear JacquieP,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedbacks with us. It is a pleasure to know how much you loved our hotel and our staff have made your stay extra enjoyable.

We look forward to see you back soon.

Regards,

Alexahall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Was lucky to stay here in a room facing Wilshire, which was pretty cool except that it kinda got loud. The rooms are beautiful and really well designed otherwise.

My only gripe about this place is that the room service is ridiculously SALTY! It was like they used cups instead of measuring spoons for the salt when they were cooking.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Spent a full week at The Line while on vacation in Los Angeles. Overall, it was the perfect "home base" for my fiance and I (both in our mid-twenties, from NYC).

PROS:
Location - fairly central, with both Hollywood and Downtown just a short drive away. K-town is a cool up-and-coming neighborhood in itself and worth exploring (they have Linus bikes to borrow if you're so inclined).
Lobby - Not overly "cool" (i.e. Mondrian, W, etc.) but stylish. The lobby gets crowded on the weekend, complete with DJ, which we loved but if you're looking for R&R this might not be the place.
Room - modern and beautiful. Upon check-in, we upgraded (for $20/day) to a Hills view room and we were so glad we did. The floor-to-ceiling windows are a great touch, as are the electronic blinds. Definitely not the biggest room, but we were basically only it to sleep and change so that didn't bother us in the least.
Food - We enjoyed POT (plus seeing Roy Choi himself was an added treat) but the "can't miss" item of this hotel is the "Candy Bar" at the cafe. Don't hesitate for a second.
Pool - Nice sized pool on the 2nd floor with ample seating. Loved the feeling of being "in" the city, surrounded by high-rises (but still sunny).
Service - very helpful when needed. Always greeted when we got back to the hotel every day, and every need (extra glasses, towels, etc.) was handled promptly and politely. Special s/o to Richard, the Guest Experience Manager, for ensuring every need was met.

Cons:
Room temperature - I admittedly like my room on the cold side but it seems as though the insulation of our room was weak and by mid-afternoon it got very warm. I raised the issue with the front desk and they sent up a technician. It got better, though only marginally, but by nighttime it was cool again. All in all, not a huge deal (but if you're planning to be in your room alot it might be)
Valet - not in terms of politeness or speed - in fact, we never had to wait more than 2 or 3 minutes to get our car - but cost. $34 per night, plus tax, just feels like alot. Perhaps a slightly smaller rate for guests? Again, by no means a dealbreaker.

OVERALL
This is our new "go-to" in LA. If you're looking for a laid-back, stylish spot in LA, this is a great option.

Room Tip: Opt for the Hills view rooms...they're not that much more and the view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexaHall, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear KMichas,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. It is a pleasure to know how much you loved the hotel and our staff have made your stay extra enjoyable. We wil defintely try to improve upon all your helpful comments.

We hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Alexahall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

My mother, sister and I visited The Line for 4 days when we came to California from Australia and honestly we didn't want to leave, the service was great, the rooms where nice and the food was excellent. Big shoutout to Phil who worked in the lobby who was a great guy to talk too and was always there to help us out. You wont be disappointed with the The Line.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexaHall, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear danielmorden,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. It is a pleasure to know how much you loved the hotel and our staff have made your stay extra enjoyable.

We hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Alexahall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Line

Address: 3515 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010 (Formerly The Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Line 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About The Line is a hotel collaboration by the Sydell Group with Roy Choi, The Houston Brothers, Sean Knibb, and Poketo. The mid-century building was designed by Daniel Mann Johnson + Mendenhall in 1964, the same architects behind the iconic American Cement Building down Wilshire Blvd. The building has been restored and fully renovated with re-imagined public spaces and guest rooms designed by Sean Knibb. The Line sits alongside Koreatown's famous pre-1940 brick colonial revival buildings, in a neighborhood that's working and playing 24 hours a day thanks to Southern California's highest concentration of restaurants, bars, and round-the-clock businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Wilshire Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.