We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Hip and Comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Line

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Line to your Saves list
The Line
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3515 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010 (Formerly The Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles) (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Sale - Save 20%
Ranked #44 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun, Hip and Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at the Line as it had been recommended by their sister hotel in NYC - The Nomad. I was on business in downtown Los Angeles, Hollywood and the West Side so the location was convenient.

At check in, check out, and in getting help for restaurant recommendations the front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. They recommended good places and persevered in getting me a reservation at a tough to get into restaurant.

The lobby had a fun vibe - young and hip. It is a Korea Town meeting spot - now a very vivacious neighborhood.

The rooms were a touch small but well designed, clean and comfortable. The exposed concrete showing on all walls (they just stripped the walls from the former hotel), the furniture and fixtures were well done - edgy but without being too much. The linens were great and the bathroom spacious with a fun large mirror.

I didn't spend much time in the restaurant / bar etc but heard that they were good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the hills to the north - the opposite side from Wilshire. The view was great a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    93
    28
    19
    11
See reviews for
38
98
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Beautiful designed room, amazing view over LA, Hollywood sign included, comfortable bed, great staff!
We really enjoyed our stay in The Line, the only but is the noisy air con, and wifi not working well in room, (we had to go to the corridor to use it) that was a bit annoying.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This place is awesome!! Yang and dynamic staff the Pot restaurant the best korean I had in my life! Service great and the view from the room is amazing the only minus if you are light sleeper you will need ear plugs no double glassed windows and it is very noisy;( the hotel should supply ear plugs in room or you have extra drink from very well stocked mini bar ;) the offer great selection of alcohol! The rooms are small but very functional modern and edgy. This hotel is cool will stay again on my next trip to LA.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Jajbo,

It's wonderful to hear that our service made an impact on your trip. We are truly working hard to be number one.

Our room views are spectacular, waking up to the Hollywood Hills is like a dream come true.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The LINE in the near future.

Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Situated in Koreatown, at first I was a bit skeptical of the hotel since I've never heard of it and it was a "blind hotel booking" for a cheaper rate via hotwire.com. I thought to myself it was only one night and the price was right, $125 and a 4 1/2 star hotel so it had to be something nice. When we arrived the neighborhood was a bit rough around the edges meaning it was street. My nerves calmed when I was happily greeted by the valet. Fyi: hotel is valet only and about $30 plus. As my boyfriend and checked in we were greeted by D, the hotel mgr for the night. He was dressed very and was extremely friendly. I informed him it was our first time at the hotel and we were out celebrating my boyfriend's birthday. He immediately upgraded us to the top floor with the best view of the Hollywood hills with no charge. He really eased my nerves by doing this nice gesture for us.
The lobby was lively with beautiful people and hip hop music. Renowned chef Roy Choi has a restaurant here called pot that serves up Korean fusion and heard from friends it was amazing. As we hopped into the elevator we were greeted by a staff member who directed us up to the top floor. When we got to our floor the hallways were like street alleyways. Like concrete walls with no paint but nicely vibrant carpet that led us to our room. Our room was like a small studio apartment and our king bed was facing the oversized wall-to-wall window. It was a different setup to what I'm use to but it worked because we saw the Hollywood hills skyline. It was such an amazing view I saw the Hollywood sign and the Griffith observatory lit up. Someone left our window open and saw two flies on our bed. I didnt let that minor thing ruin the magical night. It was really peaceful and the beds were so comfy we cuddled to the sweeping view and fell off to sleep. In the morning we overslept and luckily they had a bakery in the lobby so we can grab a quick bite and head out to our destination. I chose that particular hotel location because I wanted something close to the science and natural history museums. Before leaving the hotel I expressed to my boyfriend that I wanted to explore the rest of the hotel but didnt have enough time. Odell one of the valet guys overheard me and took me on a quick tour of the rest of the hotel up to the pool deck and greenhouse with a garden that is under construction. I was so satisfied with this stay I would definaly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Lisajoyce2020,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay.

It's wonderful to hear that our service and staff made such an incredible impression on you, especially for your special occassion.

We are so happy you had the chance to try out our restaurant, caFe. The food in terrific and so is the coffee and drinks.

Please come back soon!
Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I came across this hotel in the Hotel Tonight app and immediately liked what I saw from the images. Usually, when you arrive at a hotel you saw online, you're a little disappointed because it seems like they just used a photograph of the nicest suite they have to make it seem like the entire hotel is that way. Not here. Walking into the hotel itself, you're greeted with a very cool modern vibe and some inviting faces behind the counter.

Strolling up to the room, I was really taken aback by the interesting artwork on bare concrete walls, and a carpet design that added some great color to an otherwise industrial space. As others have mentioned here, the rooms (at least the non-suite ones) are fairly small, but the space is used very efficiently, with some clever tricks that are both visually interesting and functional. For example, the headboard of the bed doubled as a desk, replete with some fun art pieces and furnished with colorfully-upholstered seating. The drapes are controlled remotely at the headboard, allowing you to black out the room or merely drop a sheer panel for privacy. Perhaps because of the concrete walls, the room was absolutely silent.

Everywhere you look, you find interesting details, like the framed oval bathroom mirror that is somehow mounted to another seamless mirror behind it. How? Who knows. Doesn't matter. It's cool. My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer, just to wander around and take in all of the visual touches.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear ixD9,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay.

It's wonderful to hear that the design and architecture made such an incredible impression on you. We have collaborated with local artists to make The LINE a unique experience.

Please come back soon!

Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great room- small but really well done, lots of plugs, clean, comfortable and hip.
Staff is great and welcoming
The Pot is really fun and worth eating there, room service is yummy
Internet sucks……if you are really stuck, it works best in the bathroom!
Worth staying there and the prices are the best value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear supirocks,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay.

It's wonderful to hear that our service and staff made such an incredible impression on you.

We are so happy you had the chance to try out our restaurant, POT. The food in terrific and flavors are awesome.


Please come back soon!

Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Teeny tiny room that takes some getting used to, but the beds are very comfortable, the location is great, and the service is awesome. Be ready for the shockingly loud music in the lobby at night and still very audible in the morning, but we couldn't hear it from the room. The hall and room finishes are quite interesting. It doesn't look quite finished, but I guess that's part of the hipster look. With the blinds down, the smallness and raw cement walls at first feels like a prison,but we really enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: the higher the better, otherwise you don't get a view anything like shown on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Kirk H,

Thank you for sharing your great feedback. It’s good to hear the overall experience of the guest such as yours. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The LINE.


I hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to The LINE when you plan your next trip to Los Angeles.

Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Line

Address: 3515 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010 (Formerly The Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Line 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About The Line is a hotel collaboration by the Sydell Group with Roy Choi, The Houston Brothers, Sean Knibb, and Poketo. The mid-century building was designed by Daniel Mann Johnson + Mendenhall in 1964, the same architects behind the iconic American Cement Building down Wilshire Blvd. The building has been restored and fully renovated with re-imagined public spaces and guest rooms designed by Sean Knibb. The Line sits alongside Koreatown's famous pre-1940 brick colonial revival buildings, in a neighborhood that's working and playing 24 hours a day thanks to Southern California's highest concentration of restaurants, bars, and round-the-clock businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Wilshire Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.