We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban Boutique Hotel with a social conscience plus more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Line

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Line to your Saves list
The Line
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3515 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010 (Formerly The Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles) (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Great Falls, VA,USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Urban Boutique Hotel with a social conscience plus more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

As most urban hotels go, the room we had at the hotel was not large but efficient, functionally furnished with contemporary furniture and ceiling to floor window views of Hollywood Hills.
We stayed for a weekend while visiting our son who lived nearby so it was convenient for our needs.
We were impressed with the organic architecture and interior decor with emphasis on use of natural wood products for seats and tables. They also have a green house at the pool area where we were told, much of their salad greens and herbs served at the Pot restaurant are harvested.
The lobby is bustling with social activity and music at night with bars at each end. Thankfully, the noise did not get transmitted to our room.
Wifi was spotty but free in the rooms which is a plus for any hotel.
The hotel room snack bar included stuff like "intimacy kit", kits for insomniacs and other unusual but helpful accoutrements.
We would definitely return here, when visiting our son or wanting to stay in downtown LA.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear DolceVita_9,

Thanks for sharing feedback from your recent stay.

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the architecture and design of The LINE Hotel.

We hope to see you back the next time you come to visit your son in Los Angeles.

Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    118
    45
    23
    12
See reviews for
48
134
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Loved this cool hotel recently refurbed in Koreatown. Exposed concrete walls and custom artworks create a great environment. Super comfortable beds. The shop, bar and cafe all add to the experience. Koreatown is a fun place to be in LA - away from all the tourist traps. Try a Korean bath house nearby for a way to relax and encounter a quirky side to LA.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks for sharing feedback from your recent stay.

It wonderful to hear you had a wonderful time with us.

We hope to see you back at The Line in the near future.

Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I just stayed there on a short getaway. We really enjoyed the hotel, some things need fixing but the staff made up for it.

The Cons:

The WIFI is poor and unreliable. Apparently the hotel will rent you a portable hot spot, but they were all sold out (I wonder why). You shouldn't have to rent a portable hotspot to a hotel has WIFI included.

I found an outlet in my room that wouldn't work.

Each room has a media input panel that allows you to connect devices to the Samsung flat screen. I connect to my laptop to the HDMI port. The video signal showed up on the TV, but not the sound.

The only parking is the $32.00 per day valet parking. We found metered options nearby, but it was a little of a hassle.

Our room did not have hot water at first, and it took a little while to fix, but we were comped an AWESOME room service breakfast because of it.

The Pros:

Staff and management were very quick to accommodate the issues mentioned above.

The views for the north-facing rooms (away from Wilshire, towards the Hollywood sign), all are spectacular and well worth the upgrade. The beds face the floor to ceiling windows.

The hotel is a great value for the amenities (all the amenities just need to be working!)-Pricing from 120-200 dollars per night.

I think the hotel just needs to fix a few non-working items (and maybe do something about the parking).

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Away from Wilshire! WiFi spotty depending on room location (higher floors=better views, bad wi-fi)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear jbrannellyjr,

Thank you for your feedback to address the issues mentioned. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed you recent stay. We are especially happy to know our service made such a great impression on you.

We look forward to having you back!

Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonWagner
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Line last week and were very impressed.
Extremely helpful staff, architecturally impressive and overall good value for money.
Only two negatives: we had a room onto the main road-and boy was it loud!!! If you are prepared to pay that little extra, opt for the Hollywood' view!
Second let down: the charge for car parking is far too high, there should be some concession on offer!
Would we return? YES, with alterations of the two mentioned above.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear LondonWagner,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay.

We would be delighted to have you back in Los Angeles. Please contact Leeann Jarvis, Guest Experience Manager to arrange your next stay. Leeann can be contacted at ljarvis@thelinehotel.com.

Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

i stayed at this hotel last month and all i can say is wow. the service was amazing and everyone at the hotel was very friendly but what stood out to me is the valet team and their manager Carlos they helped us with our way around town and even understood when we had problems with the rental bikes he's a great manager and a great asset to your team. thank you again for the great service i work at a forbes five star hotel and this hotel has exceeded my expectations will definitely come back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Francis B,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay.

It's wonderful to hear that our service and staff made such an incredible impression on you.

We are so happy Carlos and the team took great care of you.

Please come back soon!
Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was here with my girlfriend over Valentine's day weekend. We got the king bed room with view on the top floor. I really liked the decor of the room and the views of the Hollywood hills were spectacular. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice and clean.

The problem we had was that very late into the night when we were about to go to sleep, we found out the electronic shutters would not close. We called a technician who tried to get the curtains to close for about 45 minutes and he couldn't get it to close. After a long night of drinking, we were too exhausted and didn't want to pack and move rooms at 3:00am. So we decided to go to sleep, but the very bright sun woke us up at 6:00am since we couldn't close the curtains, giving us an awful headache and not allowing us to go back to sleep. We had to drive to San Francisco that afternoon and it pretty much made the entire weekend miserable. After complaining to the management, they told us that they couldn't discount our room that night since we payed via the Hotel Tonight app, but they would send us a coupon for 25% off. I checked my email (and spam folder) for the past three months and never received any apology letter or coupon. They wouldn't even pay for our very expensive valet parking.

The reason I give this place 3 stars is because I actually really liked the hotel room. But I was disappointed that the cleaning crew never checked that the curtains worked before allowing people to stay there. Also, the pool was under construction and I didn't know this and had planned for a day of swimming and arrived disappointed. Also, the management never sent me a discount coupon even though they promised to. And even if they did send it, they would make me buy it through their website which costs more than other online booking sites; and 25% off isn't very much.

But in conclusion, I'm still giving this hotel 3/5 because I know that it's a very new hotel and they may not have all their stuff together yet. I want to give them a chance to succeed because I really like the design of the place. Let's just hope they can get their act together soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear slowsynchro,

Thanks for sharing feedback from your recent stay.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occaision.

Our Front Office Manager, would very much like the chance to speak with you about your stay. Please email him at cpandes@thelinehotel.com

We would like the opportunity to have you back.

Regards
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our room was fine, clean, new, fair. The cleaning service was awful, they made the beds and put new towels but we left used glasses on our desk and they were exactly in the same position after the service, there also left our dirty/wet towels.
The room service was so disappointing, we had to change a plate 2 times and after that they told us they were taking it back and we wouldn't be charged for it, but we've been charged almost $20 for a plate that we returned.
The Wi-Fi is a joke, really bad signal the whole weekend.
Also, $35 for parking...
The employees are friendly, but they couldn't resolve our billing issue and they were not very worried about it... they just kept smiling, so frustrating...
Won't be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Agus H,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Our Front Office Manager would very much like the opportunity to speak to you. Please let him know a convenient time to contact you. His email address is cpandes@thelinehotel.com.

Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Line

Address: 3515 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010 (Formerly The Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Line 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Line is a hotel collaboration by the Sydell Group with Roy Choi, The Houston Brothers, Sean Knibb, and Poketo. The mid-century building was designed by Daniel Mann Johnson + Mendenhall in 1964, the same architects behind the iconic American Cement Building down Wilshire Blvd. The building has been restored and fully renovated with re-imagined public spaces and guest rooms designed by Sean Knibb. The Line sits alongside Koreatown's famous pre-1940 brick colonial revival buildings, in a neighborhood that's working and playing 24 hours a day thanks to Southern California's highest concentration of restaurants, bars, and round-the-clock businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Wilshire Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.