We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Line

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Line to your Saves list
The Line
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3515 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010 (Formerly The Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles) (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Burien, WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Would stay again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I had a nice, comfortable stay here. We have family in the neighborhood so this was perfect. As others noted, it is close to a Metro stop. Modern rooms & nice beds. Good coffee bar (cappuccino specifically) in the lobby, which is always a must for us :) The service was great and we were greeted every time we were in and out the door. I concur with other positive reviews including the "Pot" restaurant as being terrific. Other restaurant successes were: EMC Seafood & Raw Bar (plan to wait & it's worth it) and Kang Hodong Baekjeong (our first Korean BBQ)
Go and enjoy Korea Town!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    118
    45
    23
    12
See reviews for
48
134
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This new hotel near the Korea town section of Los Angeles is wonderful. Ultra modern, concrete walls, well decorated, very comfortable bed and if you get the side of the hotel facing the Hollywood sign/Griffith Observatory, a great view.

The staff at all levels went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. There was even a personal note waiting in our room.

Nice little bakery in the lobby and what looks like a great pool and second restaurant will be opening soon. The main restaurant is by Roy Choi. We didn't get a chance to eat there but the food smelled great.

Only drawback is spotty Wi-Fi (included in the price)in the rooms but this seems to be a common problem in a lot of hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for side facing Hollywood sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexaHall, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Tim B,

Thanks for sharing feedback from your recent trip.
It's great to hear you had such a good time. Our rooms are definitely something to write home about, the views are spectacular.

We hope you will come back now that our Pool Deck has opened.

Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a great new modern hotel with fantastic rooms and really helpful staff. It's right across the road from the metro so great to be able to get transport if you don't fancy driving. The restaurant is a fantastic place to visit as the good is just amazing and the atmosphere loud but adds to the experience. I never tried this type of food fusion before but staff helped so much and it one of the best meals we ever eaten and we have travelled a lot and tried lots of types of food. I highly recommend this place to stay and if you do get the upgrade to the Hollywood view as though distant and small it adds to your stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexaHall, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear jacqui p,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed Pot our restaurant and you liked our Hollywood View Rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel opened in Jan 2014 and it ticks all the boxes, it's polished concrete walls and steel conduct for cables make it very modern in appearance and huge windows make for a very light room, we had a room at the back with views of the Hollywood sign, oh yeah and electric operated blinds at the windows are fun to use from the comfort of your bed.
Steve
England.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexaHall, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Steve P

Thanks for your feedback. Its great t o hear you loved our rooms.

Please come back soon.

Regards
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A business trip this time, but could easily have been a romantic getaway here at The Line in the heart of LA. Right in the heart of Koreatown, the hotel is about 15 minutes from the Melrose dining corridor (Mozza, Providence, Hatfields, etc) and about 20 minutes to Hollywood. Great vibe in the hotel downstairs. Trendy, hip and youthful. Easy valet parking. Easy check-in. Great rooms (ask for room facing the hollywood hills). Comfortable bed. Floor-to-ceiling windows (great views of the hills!). Amazing minibar. Copain Pinot Noir in the room. Room service from Roy Choi. Locally made bath products. Great almond breakfast pastries. Delicious cocktails downstairs at the bar. Pool opening up soon, so I'll have to check it on the next trip. I will be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms overlooking the hills. Quieter than those facing Wilshire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexaHall, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Jim K,

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay.

You certainly know great restaurants!! Some of my personal favorites.
We would love to have you back, hopefully next time for a leisure. You can relax at our new Pool Deck.

Please email our Senior Guest Experience Manager, Josh Brown the next time you are in town, he will ensure you are looked after. His email is jbrown@thelinehotel.com

Regards
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Top quality hotel, really convenient public transport to get around the city, wonderful service. Blackout curtains allowed a perfect night's rest. We arrived much earlier than check-in (8am) and were immediately given our key.

Room Tip: Higher floors ensure less noise from the bar and view towards Hollywood is magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexaHall, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear daena_wh,

Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback on our property.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Our location is perfect, just minutes from public transportation and in close proximity of great restaurants and bars.

We hope to see you back soon.

Regards
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Open for just a few months at the time of our visit, the Line is an eagerly awaited and heavily promoted new boutique hotel in LA's Koreatown. Other Lines are expected in other US cities in the not too distant future. The location is excellent, with I-10 five minutes away and the purple line metro across the street. As long as you like Korean food, there are plenty of places to eat locally, but otherwise downtown is an easy $1.50 metro ride away.

The property itself is a 1950s/60s slab block, with two parallel wings slightly offset from each other. South-facing rooms look onto Wilshire Boulevard and the office buildings opposite, while north-facing rooms look over the low rise buildings to the north and towards the Hollywood Hills. For a view you want to be on this side and on at least the eighth floor or higher. I'm told that south-facing rooms depend on air conditioning not to overheat.

Check in was confusing and chaotic. A private party was lined up at the entrance so we were rushed to unload the car. There is a big parking garage but it's valet only, and this is $35 plus a tip. The valet staff are understandably obsequious because they're making bank. The hotel claims that this price is comparable with other properties in LA, but it's overcharging for the price point the hotel is pegging its rooms at.

The hotel has a big open plan reception and lobby bar. This being a new hotel, bar and restaurant in LA, it is achingly hip, and the music is as loud as a nightclub. We didn't mind this but it's a very brash way to set the hotel's ambience. We had cocktails here on our first night, and the speed of service was glacial - it took almost 15 minutes for a server to notice us and 10 more to deliver drinks.

Setting these poor initial impressions aside, the real success of this hotel is in the rooms. Upon renovation the hotel was stripped of almost all its interior décor. Throughout the hotel, plaster has been cut away to reveal bare concrete beneath. New carpets, pale wood fixtures and other remnants of the old hotel (such as the textured ceilings of the corridors) all work together to create a unique and really distinctive look.

There are flaws, but the rooms are the highlight. Each follows the standard footprint of the old hotel's rooms, but the key difference is that the beds are now facing out of the window instead of across the room. This reduces space a bit, but on the other hand provides you superb views from your pillow and a spacious desk which you can reach from the bed. The décor is superb: bare concrete walls with contemporary framed prints and a metal sculpture on one wall. The bed is very comfortable with high quality linens and excellent pillows.

All rooms have floor to ceiling and wall to wall windows, although these haven't been refurbished along with the property. Two blinds (sheer and blackout, the later of which are dyed different colours on the outside to give the hotel facade a colourful appearance) can be controlled from the bedside. Jet lag may have woken us very early both mornings, but we did at least get to luxuriate in this fine bed as we watched the sky change colour and the sun rise over LA.

The downsides of the room are mostly niggles. Firstly, the wifi signal was strong but never worked. We could connect to it but the signal always dropped within 30 seconds. A call was put through to remote IT support but no solution was found. Secondly the room is supposedly all wired up for you to plug and play your own devices trough the sound system, but the in desk control panel was dead and there was no indication of how to use it or how to run sound trough the tv. There's a bedside clock radio with an old-style iPhone dock, but this flummoxed us even more. There's a flatscreen TV hanging by the window, but it's too high to be comfortably viewed from bed.

The biggest drawback of the room is that it for American standards, it is tiny, and facing the bed out of the window only reduces useable space even more. There was insufficient space for us to open our bags, so within half an hour of check in the modern minimalist chic was completely lost under our piles of clothes. Wardrobe space is very limited.

The bathroom is cute and chintzy, with a gold framed oval mirror on a mirror and chunky old faucets - possibly those from the old hotel. Water pressure and temperature was good, although there were no feminine hygiene bags and there was no trash can with a lid in the bathroom.

There is a minibar and amenity basket but the prices are absurd: $10 for Fiji water, $20 for can of "champagne", $10 for condoms, etc. The selection is also poor: four kinds of beer, all of them big brand lager. Breakfast can be delivered to your room, cooked dishes are all around the $10-12 mark, but we ate out instead.

We stayed two nights at the Line and left with mixed impressions. In spite of the technical faults, the rooms are fabulous and the experience of waking up on our first morning in LA to see the night sky turning pink and blue with dawn will be unforgettable. The downside is that at the prices currently being charged for the rooms, the hotel is overcharging for services and amenities (mandatory valet parking, for example). The quality of some details (Pringles potato chips and Bud Light in the minibar) doesn't live up to the standards being aimed for by the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexaHall, Guest Relations Manager at The Line, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear James B,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay.

Overall its great to hear that our rooms made such an impression on you. The rooms are incredible and the views are awesome to wake up to.

I am sorry that your check-in didn't go as smooth as it should have and I will be follwowing up on this.

We hope you will return in the near future.

Regards
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Line

Address: 3515 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010 (Formerly The Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Line 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Line is a hotel collaboration by the Sydell Group with Roy Choi, The Houston Brothers, Sean Knibb, and Poketo. The mid-century building was designed by Daniel Mann Johnson + Mendenhall in 1964, the same architects behind the iconic American Cement Building down Wilshire Blvd. The building has been restored and fully renovated with re-imagined public spaces and guest rooms designed by Sean Knibb. The Line sits alongside Koreatown's famous pre-1940 brick colonial revival buildings, in a neighborhood that's working and playing 24 hours a day thanks to Southern California's highest concentration of restaurants, bars, and round-the-clock businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Wilshire Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.