We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Flung” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Midtown at USC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Midtown at USC to your Saves list
Radisson Midtown at USC
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3540 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #102 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Far Flung”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel in itself isn't bad. The staff at the front desk is excellent and all the info one ever wanted can be sought from the smiling lot that attend the reception. What hits out that it is near nowhere interesting from the point of view of a tourist. Everything sort of stops at sundown in this locality. Of coursethere are bus stops near by and taxis are never too tough to find but the thrill of staying at a happening area is clearly absent.

The rooms are good, clean and spacious. There is parking at this hotel for about $20 a night (or is it 24 hours, I am not quite sure), and the bloke at the reception offered it to us for free at the night as an extended courtesy.

In a nutshell, the hotel is good, the people are great but the location is at best average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    91
    63
    40
    29
See reviews for
82
32
28
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Didn't expect much after reading the reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Had a nicely refurbished room on the 4th floor. Staff was friendly, efficient, and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the location can't be beat if you are needing to be close to USC. One thing was rather odd. The water in the bathroom was either very warm or scolding hot. Our room did not have cold water! Very strange but didn't have time to complain or inquire. I will likely return!

Room Tip: Ask for remodeled rooms as we heard that some were still not done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a week at the Radisson Midtown at USC. It is a property owned by USC and put out to management. The hotel seems to be in a transition of renovation in stages, and I gather there are some very nice rooms. We had one of the older ones--clean enough and comfortable, with the only real problem being that in the bathroom the bathtub/shower is maybe 9 or 10 inches above the level of the floor. A sign says 'watch your step' and there is a security bar at one end, but I have a gimpy back and getting in and out each day was interesting and a bit unnerving. The bath towels were generous in size and absorption.
The room airconditioner worked very well--and, because it was quite not outside, ran a great deal. Rather noisy, and one wished there were more settings than high and low, which were more like really really high and not quite so high.
The free internet worked quite well, except once when it appeared that circuits were crossed. Renovations on the water system required (by chance while we were there) a shutoff of all water one night from 10 pm to 5 am. We experienced no problems, but were glad it was not the night before our early morning departure.
The bed in our room was firm with a duvet. There was adequate storage, a refrigerator and coffee maker. There are no closeby groceries to be seen, so to make the best use of the facility, a trip out was necessary.
The hotel has an attached restaurant "McKay's" laden with memorabilia of the former USC football coach. The food selections were acceptable, but nothing was overwhelming. An order of fried calamari turned out to have a breaded and fried piece of plastic wrap--we were not charged for that meal... Room service for breakfast was reliable and useful for our schedule. There also is a 'grab and go' ''breakfast'' service in the lobby offering coffee and tea, fruit and some pastry or granola bars.

Services in the hotel were fine when available; the fitness room had some nice Nautilis equipment, We did not try the outdoor swimming pool, but it looked rather small. The giftshop in the lobby had rather limited hours, but when open could fulfill one's heart's desires for USC memorabilia. No books or magazines however. The striking feature of the hotel was that the staff were very cordial and very helpful and truly pleasant to deal with on routine matters and on special problems.

Since renovations continue, I presume that the elevators will be redone somehow--a number of times, both elevators responded to the call, and then descended to the lobby together. Bizarre.

In the morning complementary copies of the LA Times, WSJ and New York Times were available in the lobby. Finally, I should note that the blue line train stops just on the other side of a large USC parking structure which commands all views from the east side of the hotel to maybe the 7th floor, but no where was this fact noted in the hotel literature that I found in the room.

We had a satisfactory visit to this hotel--the staff were outstanding and everything else was good or okay; apart from the lightly breaded and friend plastic wrap in among the calamari. Because the hotel is part of USC, there are quite a few functions held there--generally no problem for the occasional guest, except one evening when the bar at McKay's was taken over by a private party. Who stays here? I'm guessing that it is mostly folks with USC connections; and given the absence of other hostelries it is a sort of target, dare I say 'captive' clientele. But if one's affairs take you to this part of LA, the Radisson Midtown at USC is perfectly acceptable, and, could prove to be the perfect choice.

Room Tip: Probably rooms on east side have less traffic noise, but the AC provides a white sound that muffles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I read a lot of the unhappy reviews, and can see where some of them are coming from.

The Radisson is a work in progress. Some of the rooms have been upgraded, some of them have not been. It appears to be an ongoing process. Our room on the 10th floor was not upgraded, the bathroom was old, but everything worked fine. The room was clean, the Sleep Number beds were comfortable and we slept well, there was enough room for the three of us (including wife and daughter) to move around comfortably, the big easy chair at the window facing the mountains and USC campus was great for sitting and reading, and it had a nice, new, flat screen TV.

The pool and hot tub outside were both clean and in perfect working order. Breakfast was grab a banana, some coffee, and a granola bar, but it's better than nothing.

The biggest thing that needs to be upgraded here is replacing the old single pane windows with energy efficient, double pane ones which will also reduce the traffic noise (which wasn't too bad, considering) quite a bit.

The complaints about the food situation are unwarranted. There's both a bar/restaurant and a little pizza joint attached to it. Both are just fine. Just the other side of Exposition are plenty of places to eat. The only reason I can imagine anyone complaining about this is that these places all seem quite new, and perhaps didn't exist a few months ago.

Also, the place could NOT be more convenient to USC for walking if it tried to be. Go to the traffic light at McCarthy and cross the street. You're at Tommy Trojan in under 5 minutes, by foot.

Considering the location and the convenience, I didn't find the Radisson particularly expensive, either.

Once the windows are fixed, this is worth five stars. For now, I'll give it four. If my daughter ends up at USC, I'll become a regular here.

Room Tip: definitely facing West, as high as you can. Great views of LA, the sunset, and the USC campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I just returned from a one night stay at the Radisson L.A., directly across from USC. I have stayed here before and found the hotel adequate. This property is high priced considering the quality of the rooms. I booked in to a Standard King. As requested, I was given a quiet room. I appreciated that. The room was NOT clean when I arrived. There were a few odd hairs in the bathroom sink, more on the telephone (uh, not from one's head), and a dead wasp on the floor. The bathrooms are antiquated -- tiny bathroom, low sink, shower head so low even I (5'5") had to scrunch down to get my head wet. Really, this is unacceptable at such a high price. I would not have minded these infractions if I were paying motel prices. I have stayed at the Langham in Pasadena many times and paid the same price for a very elegant room. I understand that one can book a Deluxe room. Perhaps the facilities are better there -- But those rooms go for $50+ more a night. Surely, we all have a right to a clean room. BTW, it is not my policy to sneak up on a hotel and bash them on TA. I don't enjoy giving hotels poor reviews. I DID call the front desk prior to my departure, and tell them about the lack of cleanliness and the dead wasp. The response was, "I'm sorry that we disappointed you. Is there something you would like us to do for you?" Now, I could have told them that they should comp me the room, but I was not calling them to demand a freebie. I actually thought that they would be very alarmed and want to address the situation immediately. What they SHOULD have said was, "This is unacceptable. Please accept our apologies. We see that you have stayed here in the past several times. We are going to do X for you." But no -- The gal just told me to "Have a good day. Sorry about the dead bug." Step up to the plate, Radisson. When you charge big prices for an average room, you need to deliver better than average quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night for business. 6th floor room was not bad, only real complaint was that the air conditioner was really loud and didn't get the room very cold. Very close to USC, practically walking distance if it's nice out. Parking in the hotel garage is an additional $20 per day.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ukiahca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Do not get a room on one of the top floors. The rooms have not been remodel since 1955. Stay two nights for business, arrived late with two other co workers. Not sure why I received the crappy room, the other two were your typical nice remodel rooms. Mine was huge, king bed with no headboards, lamps with huge peacocks on each side. Carpet and furnture was gross. Television was about 20-25 feet from the bed. Small kitchen and smaller bathroom. Would never stay in this room again. If you go request a recently remodel room.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Midtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Midtown at USC

Address: 3540 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Radisson Midtown at USC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Midtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Midtown At Usc Hotel Los Angeles
Radisson Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Radisson
Radisson Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Midtown at USC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.