We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly adequate hotel with well-renovated rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Midtown at USC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Midtown at USC to your Saves list
Radisson Midtown at USC
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3540 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #102 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
New Jersey
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“perfectly adequate hotel with well-renovated rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed here during a conference at USC. Given the bad reviews, I booked with some trepidation--but the $149 per night conference rate was good, and the other properties in the area (very few) seemed very sketchy. I feel I made the right decision. Check-in was easy and staff was pleasant. They pointed out that I'd be staying in a recently refurbished room, and so it was. Clean, bland, exactly like every other Radisson I've ever stayed in. What do people expect? Business hotels are uniform. They're not B&Bs with unique decor, folks.

The room came with free wireless on the USC network. I logged in once, and it remembered my laptop each time after that. It was super-fast, a big plus. As always, I used it only for email and Web surfing. Anyone who does online banking from a hotel connection is asking for trouble. There are two log-in possibilities. Go for the first one; the second one requires a password.

The tub area has obviously been fitted with a tub-surround. Watch as you step in -- the base is much higher than it seems! Also, when showering, you'll need the handhold as the new surface is still slippery.

It's true that the elevators badly need fixing up. However, they do work. Breakfast at McKay's restaurant was reasonably priced and tasty (McKay's is part of the hotel but across the driveway). My only problem was the noise that erupted after midnight from the USC basketball fans who'd parked in the deck behind the hotel--I guess their team won because they honked horns and screamed. But the noise wasn't the hotel's fault, and in fact the room was totally quiet--no sound leaking from adjacent rooms or floors above or below.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    91
    63
    40
    29
See reviews for
82
32
28
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Easytobook was excellent and so was the hotel staff at remedying the problem when I had mistakenly booked the wrong night (Easytobook is in the Netherlands and uses a different calender than the US). The location was perfect for walking to the concert. I didn't mind paying $20.00 for parking because they had free internet and in room coffee. The staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The man who guided us to check in and park the car is very nice . He is so friendly that we love the hotel from him.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

the check in time was 3 pm on 30.4.2012 and we arrived by 2.15pm. We had informed the hotel much in advance about our early arrival. We got the room only after 4 pm. Further the reception staff was very rude, rather than being sorry about not being able to give room.
The room decor was very ordinary and not comparable to Radissons in India which are far more luxurious.
The lifts were very old. The room telephones though having several options on the instruments were not functional. The housekeeping would close by late evening.

But our stay was made comfortable by manager who understood our problems and then personally was taking care of the same.

But the location is quite central and connected with public transport well. But probably hotel needs revamping.

Room Tip: try asking for University facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

During this stay I was attending a conference at USC and location wise, this is the best part of the hotel, and I am pretty sure the hotel knows this. My room was 144.00 a night which for me is fine for a 4 star hotel, however this property struggles on a few levels. As you have likely read, the elevator had serious issues. The two days I was there, only one elevator worked and with 12 or so floors, you get the idea...waiting.

Check-in was smooth and fast though it seemed the front desk staff was busy with something other than helping guest. I called to get assistance with the sleep system beds on a few occasions and the desk staff do not seemed to be trained in how to explain how the bed works to guest. They were helpful but...OK. The concierge was very helpful when I needed directions. I had restful sleep so the beds were good and strong shower pressure, a plus. I just can't pull myself to give a very good rating to a bland experience, so a shocking okay.

Room Tip: Negotiate the price that you can and try to get an upper level floor. Those are the ones that have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The plus is that the place is clean and safe. But there are no frills at all, at least in my room up on the ninth floor. The elevators are old and rickety. The room is very HoJo circa 1984. The pool is very small, the sun beds are backyard grade.

The saving grace is the room service. Really really nice food. Go figure.

Also, John, who drives the towncars is really cool. Very nice man.

Room Tip: as for a renovated room. I didn't get one, but I did peek in and it looked MUCH better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Okay first the elevators appear rather grungy and fail to work for one of are co-workers (like stuck for several min..) But the overall property inside and out was clean and with lighting to make you feel comfortable in a urban city setting. Self Parking has a fee, check with front desk on the amount because I was charged less than quote on their web site. Room are above good but not quite excellent, beds are sleep number and really nice, if you are on the side facing west you view is of the USC campus really nice. Handy location to Shrine, USC, would stay again even with elevator issue plus I was told the elevators were do for a re-do soon. But do not judge the whole hotel just by the elevators....

Room Tip: Love the view from 11 floor rooms. West Side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Midtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Midtown at USC

Address: 3540 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Radisson Midtown at USC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Midtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Midtown At Usc Hotel Los Angeles
Radisson Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Radisson
Radisson Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Midtown at USC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.