We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Visiting USC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Midtown at USC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Midtown at USC to your Saves list
Radisson Midtown at USC
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3540 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #92 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place for Visiting USC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is run by USC and is right across the street from campus. Although we had concerns about staying in "downtown LA", this is a great location for assessing the neighborhood and having a stress-free place to stay while visiting the campus. Because of our Club Carlson membership, we asked for and got a room upgrade. Our room had recently been redecorated and it was very chic. We also liked that it access through a sliding door to the patio and pool area. We didn't have time to lounge at the pool, but I got in an early morning swim workout. The pool is not a full lap pool, but is better than most hotel pools for lap swimming. The adjacent restaurant also was incredibly quick when we need a fast breakfast before touring campus. Parking was also very convenient. I'd stay there next time, without a doubt!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    109
    71
    44
    32
See reviews for
105
38
30
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed because all other downtown & airport hotels full for convention. Positives: (1) The desk, restaurant, and housekeeping staff all helpful, cheerful, and very pleasant except doorman who upon being asked for cab pointed outside and said I would find one (only doorman I ever met who did not want to earn a tip by helping out with bags or cab). (2) Beds are comfortable. (3) Food in restaurant ok though room is dark. Negatives: Hotel is dated and dark 1970's drab brown and beige with little lighting. Clean but shabby in lobby and on "Executive" floor to which I was assigned. Alas, the advertised "Executive Lounge" on the floor was unavailable because it was rented out to some construction company as field office. The electronic keys did not work and required one to repeat insert process 10-20 times each time one entered room. Room was drab, clean, smelled slightly of a stale locker room, with "Sleep Comfort Bed", flat screen TV, and old floral paintings. Bathroom is small with standard amenities and odd shower curtain that barely reached tub rim and therefore leaky. Staff advised that six floors were used as USC dorm until this Spring - maybe why lobby and elevators look so beaten up. Gym is adequate although TVs on treadmills broken. Overall: Hotel needs to be renovated and room rates lowered until then. Probably ok for visiting USC and one night stay for a tired traveler, but not one I would recommend to anyone looking for a nice stay at a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any renovated floors (I think third floor was being renovated)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed here during Microsoft WPC 2011. Consistently disappointed..everything from daily room construction - of which we were neither notified at time of reservation, or time of check in. Incredibly disruptive and inconvenient when trying to manage work/business from the hotel room. Room service was a joke - one instance being told they were busy and could they call me back, one occasion of being sent to voice mail, and the third occasion was being sent to voice mail and being notified the voice mail was full!

Desk staff was friendly, but rooms were outdated, had stained & rippling carpet, showers inappropriate for anyone over 5'. Would neither return or recommend to any friends or family coming to do downtown business or any USC sports/activities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is literally across the street from USC so for parents weekend or graduation then you are all set. The outside staff is terrific. Very welcoming and suggested great placed to eat. Their help with a car etc was invaluable as I was in a rush to the airport.
The inside staff not so great. Not welcoming, disorganized and somewhat rude was my experience. I reserved two rooms since I have four children, they put the rooms far apart and then said they couldn't change them. They fixed it after an unpleasant discussion. They did not put us close to the elevator which we request each time. Generally they acted like why are you here and can you just take your keys and go away.
I would stay here again just make sure your needs are expressed up front and stand your ground.

Room Tip: use their free carlton club to express preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I'm surprised by some of the negative reviews because my two-night stay has been quite nice. My room was very clean with modern furniture and a huge Sleep Number bed, which is fun to adjust. In the bathroom I found the best assortment of toiletries I've ever seen, including a Loofah! The staff has been extremely attentive, bringing my breakfast 10 minutes after ordering and offering turndown service in the evening. The parking lot is nearby and the lobby very stylish. Plus, the hotel is super close to the 110.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

As the only decent hotel within walking distance of USC campus, it is perfectly fine. It is directly across the street from one of the "gate" entrances to campus and I easily walked back and forth from the hotel to campus many times. I even walked over there and around the campus in the evening, and felt fine even though bordering the campus is supposed to be not the best neighborhood of LA. If you have to be at USC for something, this is by far your best bet. LA's heavy traffic and poor public transportation make it difficult to stay in a different hotel.

There are several restaurants along the Northern edge of campus and up Figuroa Street a few blocks, within a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has a restaurant/bar adjacent to it, but I did not try it since I did not know it was there until leaving. It does not have an obvious sign and is halfway up the driveway to the parking garage.

There was complimentary coffee and tea set out in the hotel lobby in the mornings. There was free wifi in the lobby, and the outdoor pool was fenced in from the street and nice.

The car parking setup was good if you drive to the hotel. The front desk gives a pass that you put in your car, billed to your room, so you can park in the campus garage located right behind the hotel. You can come and go as needed from the garage while staying there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The fact that this hotel is across the street from USC campus and walking distance to the Coliseum, is the only reason it is still in business.
Requested a call when room was ready and never got a call back.
Room key cards would not open electronic lock. Guest across the way said,"just swipe it about 20 times or so." It worked? Had 2 rooms and key refused to work for second room too. Had to go back downstairs to get key programmed, again?
Everything about the rooms is old , worn or dated. TV reception is fair to poor. Bathrooms rough on the edges, although clean. Yes, hair dryer mount was missing, tub is raised a foot from ground level, awkward. AC unit is ancient. Room service menu is limited. McKays restaurant is next door and like everything else, run by student workers who try to do what they can to serve you but, service is still lacking. Server was very unprofessional and rude.
Sharing lobby and elevators with students is no big deal except when students are running around barefoot, skateboards in tow, and short-shorts, gabbing on cell phones, etc. Hey its a dorm, remember?
There are no other amenities that go along with this hotel. except pool.
Will avoid the Radisson USC Dorm and Hotel in the future and you should too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Midtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Midtown at USC

Address: 3540 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#60 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Radisson Midtown at USC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Radisson Midtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Midtown At Usc Hotel Los Angeles
Radisson Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Radisson
Radisson Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Midtown at USC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.