We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable but pretty basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Metro Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Plaza Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 North Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Lancashire
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Serviceable but pretty basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Arriving by train in LA at 9pm, we thought we'd better book somewhere close to the station rather than start wandering the city after dark, and this fitted the bill very well : it was only 5 minutes or so up the road. The accommodation was serviceable but pretty basic, and some of the fittings were a bit quirky, like the standard lamp that for no apparent reason switched itself on at about 3 in the morning, and the loo flush that got stuck in the "on" position until fixed... But the breakfast was surprisingly good and filling, and the service friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    93
    72
    16
    18
See reviews for
31
53
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I've stayed here several times between train connections. An easy two block walk from station to hotel, easy check-in with always pleasant staff. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, and quiet. While they do offer simple breakfast, we prefer to walk a block to the iconic Philippe's, or if we have overslept, there is a Starbucks at Union Station. For a train-time after check-out, staff is happy to hold suitcases behind the desk while we explore close-by Olvera Street and/or Chinatown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you are needing a Downtown L.A. hotel but don't want to be in the hustle and bustle of the city but be close enough to stroll in and within a 5 minute walk to Union Station so anywhere in L.A. becomes accessible then this place is ideal.
There is nothing fancy about the hotel, a basic but functional reception and staff, the public areas are all clean, neat and tidy, our room, on the 4th floor, was a very good size and had everything we needed, the bathroom was very clean.
Free coffee is provided in the reception area 24hrs a day and the complimentary breakfast does the job.
The only issue with the hotel itself came at check in when they told me they didn't have my reservation, luckily I had my reservation number and my booking was found, they hadn't used my surname for some reason.
We had no problems at all whilst walking around the local area but at night time the hoards of homeless people congregate in and around Union Station so it can be a little intimidating to walk through, but that's not the hotel's fault.
If you arrive late evening and are to tired to go out to eat there is a Subway and a Taco shop immediately next door to the hotel and a convenience store on the corner.
Across the road is OLVERA STREET, the Mexican heritage area, it's well worth a visit, and if you get up to late for breakfast or want something different go to MR. CHURRO'S for the best breakfast burritos, coffee and churros for $10.
I couldn't fault this hotel and would definitely stay there again and would also recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor at the rear of the hotel, good view of the Downtown L.A. skyline, no issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If basic ammenities are what you're after then this place will please! I especially enjoyed the continental breakfast which was a good start to my busy days and the closeness of union station to get me where I needed to quickly and affordably!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand parairie, tx.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Older property, very close to LA Union Station. One desk clerk a bit surly, but after getting all checked in, he seemed to loosen up to us. Phillipes right around the corner, great breakfast and French dip sandwiches.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have had to travel to downtown LA twice on business in the last year. Places to stay on a budget are very limited. I recommend the Metro Plaza Hotel if you don't care about 4 star standards. The provide a nice free breakfast every morning too.

Room Tip: I was offered a very large corner room with a full kitchen. It had a view of the downtown skyline t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metro Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Plaza Hotel

Address: 711 North Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Metro Plaza Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Metro Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Plaza Los Angeles
Hotel Metro Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.