We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing attention to detail” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paradise, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Missing attention to detail”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

I recently stayed at the Luxe Hotel-Bel Air for my first time. Furnished nicely, though everything seems to be painted olive drab green. I was pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to a suite, although it was on the 2nd floor over a rather noisy driveway valet area. Lots of doors slamming, loud voices etc. While the room was clean, comfortable and well decorated. Finding things as simple as a light swtich was a chore, the maid had turned down the bed and turned on a number lights none of which worked with a wall switch. Lack of convenient plugs to charge a cell phone or laptop shows the age of the original construction. The attention to detail to such things as no shampoo or lotion in the bathroom, a remote control that
was inoperative, all of which can be rectified with a quick phone call to housekeepking but really shouldn't be nescessary at this level of a facility. The bathroom lighting was not well suited for a bathroom difficult to see to shave, and would have been awful for applying make up if I had my wife with me. Nice marble in the shower but a motel 6 shower head that was not high enough for a 6' tall person.

They do have excellent wireless internet, which was free (as it should be). Surprised to not find a daily newspaper at my door although they claim to offer it on their website (again attention to detail).

Lastly I requested an airport pickup and drop off through the concierge, both which were prompt and courteous (and extra cost), but handled by an outside service and not operated by the hotel, hence the return to the airport was in a town car that smelled like old ashtray.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lacking attention to detail
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    210
    85
    35
    34
See reviews for
207
175
38
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

Stayed two nights at this hotel for a birthday weekend, and I'd give it a B overall.

PROS: Courteous staff, comfy beds, beautiful restaurant, airy walkways, fairly nice decor, very close to Getty and fine dining.

CONS: Noise, $22/night valet-only parking, broken fixtures in room.

This hotel seems like they tried to cover up a formerly "crappy" hotel with some paint, nice IKEA-ish furniture, and accents to make it seem more luxurious than it really is. Several wall outlet covers were falling off, the iPod docking clock/alarm was broken, and the walls were fairly thin. But, the staff was so kind and welcoming, and the location was a good one, that these inconveniences mostly made up for the faults. I doubt I would stay here again for $199/night though...

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

Me and My girlfriend just arrived back home to the east coast last night from our stay here. It was amazing. We tried pushing our flight ahead just to stay longer. From the second you pull up and they open your car door, till you check out and they close your car door, the experience is perfect.

We booked a suite, and it turned out to be pretty sweet. The room was equipped with a well stocked mini-bar, baskets of snacks, wines, an i-pod docking station that also recharges your i-pod, a flat screen tv with many new movies to choose from, and a 2 silky robes. Also, we had a nice living area to sit in, along with an enormous bathroom, containing a jacuzzi tub, all glass shower, two sinks, and a phone next to the toilet (which was nice to use while trying to push the flight later). The bed were extremely comfortable, and the ac made little or no noise throughout the night. The only noise, however, came from two rude guests along with there 2 rude children who found it funny to be yelling in the hallway at 12 o'clock am about nonsense. But that's not the hotels fault now is it.

The pool area was amazing, which towels rolled up on each sun chair, and the water being crystal clear. We ordered some lunch by the pool, including crab cakes and salads which was perfect. I also ended up ordering a steak burger that came out great. The food arrived to the pool in under 15 minutes. Now our room was room 136, which was four rooms away from the front desk. The pool area, which is surrounded by more rooms, is located about 500 feet away on top of a hill. You can either walk, run it, or they'll be more than happy to shuttle you up in a limo golf cart. I would recommend a room down below in the first building, were we stayed, since everything was right there. Its about 500 feet of the highway, so quick access on and off. Also it's minutes from Beverly Hills and Hollywood.

We also enjoyed facials at the "Zen styled" spa up on the hill by the room. They ran $135.00 per facial, which lasted one hour. Honestly, was it worth $135.00 you may ask? No. But I am a guy, and i think women have more of a love for those types of things. My better half booked it. It was relaxing tho.

Overall, the stay was amazing, and I plan on returning very soon. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to really relax and enjoy themselves, and of course be well taken care of.

Thanks!

  • Liked — The amazing service
  • Disliked — The Snickers bar in the mini fridge was $3.50!!! haha
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

I just stayed at the Luxe for one nite (vacation travel) -- thought the place was pretty appealing and also thought - if they could just put a bit more money into it - it could really be a little gem.

Our room was initially a poolside view, second floor in the upper building - the room had a nice little balcony and you could not hear any noise from the 405, it was quite charming. Room furnishings were fine by me (but the refrigerator looked like it came out of someone's dorm room) We did hear a loud hum/motor come on and I think it was the airconditioning units above us up on the roof - I think if they could find a way to dampen this sound it would be really good, as if you stayed here in hot weather and that was cycling on/off all the time it could be quite annoying.

The shower handle came off when I tried to use it - we called maintenance and within 5 minutes someone was there to take a look at it. He explained he wouldn't be able to fix it immediately and that we would have to move to another room - again I was surprised by the speed - within another 5 minutes someone came up to move us - my husband asked this time for a 'city view' as he is a former LA resident and thought that would be nice. While the city side rooms do not have balcony's, and you can hear a little highway noise, the view is pretty amazing for anyone who would want it.

I think if you were there on business you might not want to stay in the upper building, as you have to go down to the lower building for breakfast, bar, lobby etc etc and if you are in a hurry you might not want to walk down or take the golf cart shuttle.
Our package came with breakfast - food was fine, not great, but the outdoor eating area is very nice.
The best part about this place is truly the staff - they were all very pleasant and helpful. The next best thing for me was the pool -- room was fine - I think with a tiny bit more upgrading it could quite the joint!

  • Liked — Pool, Access to Getty Museum
  • Disliked — Noise from Air Conditioning
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

Stayed at the Luxe Hotel for a weekend (feb 16th-18th) and really loved the decor of the room and lobby...modern w/ very clean lines throughout. The room was REALLY spacious (got a room with 2 double beds). Also like the location. Very friendly staff.

Some issues:
1) Being on Sunset right off the 405, the room was a bit noisy. If you need silence to sleep this may not be the place for you as you can hear the freeway.
2) Parking costs $22 a day which is not uncommon in LA, however during the day no self parking is permitted...so on top of the charge, I had to tip the valet to park my car.

Unable to rate the restaurants or pool / spa as I really only used the room as a crashpad.

I might stay at this hotel again... i'd say it was above average except for the noise.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Address: 11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard is an in-town boutique resort, situated on seven secluded and beautifully landscaped acres in one of Southern California's most accessible and exceptional locations. Located at the entrance to the exclusive suburbs of Bel-Air and Brentwood and just below the famed Getty Center, and minutes from UCLA, the hotel is at the gateway to Los Angeles and its surrounding communities. The hotel offers a stylish and supremely comfortable California-modern look and welcoming, professional, personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.