We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite luxe, but good enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
San Juan Capistrano, California
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Not quite luxe, but good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed in the older building on the first floor. It's a wood and stucco construction, so it's noisier than I'd like; you can hear the footsteps of the person on the second floor and you can also hear anything going on in the neighboring rooms and in the hall. The rooms themselves are large enough although the chairs are really uncomfortable. The bed was fine and the room was clean. There is a lot of construction going on at the Sunset exit on the freeway and so it's a pain to get there for the next couple of months. You have to detour through Westwood, because the exits are closed. Parking is by valet only and they charge $25/night. The restaurant looks good and the service is good, but the food is so-so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    170
    69
    30
    26
See reviews for
156
142
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you're looking to stay on the north end of the westside you won't go wrong choosing the Luxe. I booked here because it was well-located for in terms of what I needed to do, and because I got such a great price by booking on their web site and pre-paying. I'd stayed at the Luxe in Beverly Hills a few years ago and was far from impressed - and so didn't have high expectations for this one. I was very pleasantly surprised. When I arrived in the late afternoon they said that they were completely booked and would be upgrading me to a suite in their spa building. It wasn't really a suite in terms of having discrete rooms, but it was very large and fairly well-appointed with a huge bathroom. The staff was responsive to every request I made, and the valet parking returned cars very quickly, which is always nice. I didn't try any of the restaurants or the spa so I can't comment on those. What was very special, particularly considering the price, is the very large, resort-like pool area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear CrisPopenoe,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We are all pleased to know that your 1st experience with us was enjoyable. We pride ourselves on our affordable luxury and it's great to know that you felt that way. I will gladly pass on your comments about the service you experienced to the staff.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to being your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed in large,quiet spa level room in upper building. Impeccable, friendly service. No problem taking van or golf cart between levels. Beautiful heated pool. Room and grounds spotless. One of those lucky small and elegant finds in a great location. Delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: Go for room upgrade if renting a car. Get a room that doesn't have windows on the 405 side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear LLKJJK,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the kind comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Travelling around the world a lot of years, this is the best service I never have found. Nice rooms, beatiful Bar, top food, and specially great level of service. Congratulations to staff and management!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Ignacio D,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us. It's especially poignant coming from someone as well traveled as yourself. It will be a pleasure to pass on your comments about the service you experienced. Our staff greatly appreciates your words.

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was on a 5 night business trip, last minute hotel change and it was the best thing that I did. Upon arrival we were treated like "superstars". Elizabeth at front desk was lovely and offered us water and cold towels. We chose to stay at the upper building where the pool and spa are located, upon arriving, we realized that we were best staying in the main building where as time was limited to enjoy the pool. We switched with no problem. Sheldon was great, love that man! We had a double bed room ( that was what was available), very nice, clean and big in size. Steven the bartender was wonderful and entertaining, we made sure to stop by for a cocktail. Ate at the restaurant a couple of times, food was great and reasonably priced. I wish I had more R&R time to enjoy the facility. I highly recommend this hotel, it's right off the highway, close to great restaurants in Brentwood, thanks to Chris for all the recommendations. I was able to get a great rate for this resort oasis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear filomena f,

Thank you for your review and the glowing recommendation! We are so pleased that you ended up staying with us and had such an enjoyable visit. I will certainly pass on your kind words to Elizabeth, Sheldon, Steven, and Chris. I know they will be happy to hear how they impacted your stay.

We look forward to becoming your new home away from home when you are in the Los Angeles area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is separated into two buildings that require a shuttle and make sure you get the 3rd floor in the other building or else you will be carrying bags up and down stairs. The hotel is a very good value for the area and the location is very convenient to Santa Monica or other nearby business locations.

Room Tip: Stay on third floor in upper building to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear BillTYankeesfan,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and your insight. The Spa level is a favorite spot for return guests as it is relaxing and the pool, fitness center, and spa are just steps away. We do understand the challenge of not having an elevator on this level and we always strive to make mention of that at check in. Part of our proposed exciting renovations include installing an elevator at the Spa level to accommodate our guests between the two floors.

We do hope to welcome you back to the property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A terrific neighborhood hotel, well-situated between Brentwood and Bel-Air with quick and easy access to the freeway and the westside. Comfortable, clean room and warm, hospitable service at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Address: 11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard is an in-town boutique resort, situated on seven secluded and beautifully landscaped acres in one of Southern California's most accessible and exceptional locations. Located at the entrance to the exclusive suburbs of Bel-Air and Brentwood and just below the famed Getty Center, and minutes from UCLA, the hotel is at the gateway to Los Angeles and its surrounding communities. The hotel offers a stylish and supremely comfortable California-modern look and welcoming, professional, personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.