We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Loved the area the hotel was in! In Bel-Air close to everything, like: Santa Monica Pier, Brentwood, Malibu and Beverly Hills (if you have a car). We found great food around all these area thanks to YELP!

The Hotel staff was nice everyone down to the house keeping! We didn't like the first room by the pool because the room smelt like old carpet, we told the front desk and they gladly moved us. The rooms and bathrooms are clean! (and I'm very particular about this)

The only bad part of this hotel is you have to valet your car, even if you are running in and grabbing something small and overnight parking $25-$27 a night. That adds up!

Other than that our stay was great!

Room Tip: Stay in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    180
    74
    31
    27
See reviews for
167
149
37
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Luxe is in a great location for visiting the Getty Center and has a lovely tree-lined hillside setting. The staff are friendly and responsive to requests and questions. We were given a spacious room with a view up by the pool, as requested at the time of reservation. There is a pleasant outside courtyard area for relaxing and having a drink and bar snacks, as well as a separate courtyard for restaurant dining. One of the really outstanding features is the complimentary car service to places within a two mile radius of the hotel such as the Getty or a local restaurant or even Brentwood post office! We very much enjoyed our second stay at the Luxe Sunset Boulevard, where we were able to relax and recharge after the long flight from Australia.

Room Tip: Reception level for easy convenience, Upper level for quiet, pool and aerial views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

On arrival at the Luxe our initial thoughts were 'wow'..reception area was nice, check in good, valet service great and a nice room. The first disappointment was that we were a party of 3 but the room only had 2 mugs, 2 robes, etc so despite the fanfare on arrival and a fair few valet staff to attend to your every need the attention to detail was poor. It soon became apparent that the corporate day guests/wedding parties etc took precedent over the holiday guests. The pool would close at 5pm without prior notification (unless you happen to go to the pool earlier in the day and read the notice on the gate), large parties of day guests took over the pool area when it wasn't closed to guests making it impossible to use or get a seat poolside and we were very much made to feel second class (prob due to the amount of money these guests/corporate events bring to the hotel).
Reception staff were aloof and depending who you asked would give different information regarding the shuttle bus (one good thing about the hotel!) one day you could book a time to be collected the next you couldn't. On checkout we were asked if we had enjoyed our stay and we replied 'it was less than perfect' the girl just smiled and gave us our bill (which was overcharged by $150).
If you are looking for somewhere to hold a wedding or a corporate function this is the place to be, if you are,like we were, on holiday I would look elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Lindaho1,

I was truly disappointed to read your review on how your stay was with us. I have sent you a private message so that I may speak with you in further detail. Our goal has always been to provide genuine and personalized service for our guests and I know that you did not experience that. I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Loved the hotel, and staff. he concierge, Joi gave us great dinner recommendations and could not be more helpful with directions,a tour bookings, etc. She gave us bottled water when we arrived and the valet parking staff gave us water when we left. The rooms were spacious and clean, this shower strong and the beds were comfortable, breakfast in the dining room was perfect as was the wait staff. the reception staff came from behind the counter to give keys or whatever we needed. It was just a little added touch that said you are special as our guest and we are here to serve you. I would definitely return to this wonderful spot

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building, quiet and convenient for tour bus pick up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I adore this hotel and it’s my go to hotel in LA. I’ve been to LA multiple times and stayed in all sorts of different hotels across the city but the Luxe Sunset is by far the best!

Each time I pull into the driveway it feels like I’m coming home. Somehow they manage to block out the busy city and have created a relaxing and serene environment.

I love the location, it feels like you are in a neighbourhood opposed to a busy tourist area! The hotel is nestled in Bel Air with easy access to Santa Monica and Hollywood (far away enough from the craziness of all the tourists). It’s also super easy to get to/from the Airport. I highly advise having a car though as it is a bit out of the way if you don’t have any transportation and cabs are expensive in LA due to the vastness of the city.

The rooms are all huge and the beds are super comfy. I’ve only ever stayed in the main building so I can’t comment on the upper building. I also really like the restaurant which is especially convenient after a long flight.

Although all these things are excellent about the hotel the most outstanding point is the staff. They are all super helpful and very welcoming. You get a sense that they all love their jobs and are happy to see you from the moment you arrive to the time you depart. This is really what defines a good hotel from a great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It is a rare hotel where everyone on staff is happy to be there and wants you to love the place too.
We had excellent, efficient and super hospitable service throughout our weekend stay. Once you turn into the driveway you are in a quiet oasis. We stayed in the main building in a well designed soothing atmosphere with balcony and very quiet. The front desk people were very accommodating, kudos to Joy, Roxana and Andrew . Our grandchildren loved the golf cart up to the pool area the driver and Chilo were particularly nice to them. The pool area is comfortable with a stunning surprise as you look up from the deep end and see only trees and the Getty. This is definitely our new 1st choice when visiting our grandchildren and family. We have stayed at hotels double the price and more, but this was the most people friendly.

Room Tip: For quiet rooms near restaurant the main building is a good choice. Rooms near the pool on 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently stayed at this great hotel. The hotel is beautiful and our room was too! Love the location and the pool! Speaking about the pool, Chilo, made our trip! We felt like he was part of our family and we were the guests at his home. We hope to see him on our next trip back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Address: 11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard is an in-town boutique resort, situated on seven secluded and beautifully landscaped acres in one of Southern California's most accessible and exceptional locations. Located at the entrance to the exclusive suburbs of Bel-Air and Brentwood and just below the famed Getty Center, and minutes from UCLA, the hotel is at the gateway to Los Angeles and its surrounding communities. The hotel offers a stylish and supremely comfortable California-modern look and welcoming, professional, personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.