We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms, actual hotel not very luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ARRIVE IN STYLE-360 PKG
Ranked #28 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms, actual hotel not very luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I spent so much time deciding where to stay in LA. We wanted somethince nice and upscale. While the Luxe did meet those descriptions, I still felt disappointed. While the rooms themselves were quite nice, the corridors felt very dated. The pool, while serene, was not very luxurious and it was quite small. Valet parking is necessary since the lot is so packed, but it's kind of a joke that you can see your car 30 feet away yet you have to stand there and wait for the valet to move everything around. If we return to LA we'll probably try somewhere different. The maid threw away the directions to something I needed and the hotel was kind enough to give us a $50 credit. We had room service which was quite nice. This hotel IS nice and upscale within the rooms, yet the whole place feels squished into the hillside and just felt old, dated, and forgotten.

Room Tip: The building up by the pool is definitely the better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear motheringingrace,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your descriptions of the property and amenities. While we a proud of our historic property, we understand that updating is needed from time to time. Currently, we are in the process of doing just that. We have updated many of the room amenities and are now focusing on the other areas. Please understand that our property necessitates the need for Valet parking. It is critical that we protect the parking spaces for our guests otherwise we would have many outsiders using our lot.

I hope that you will visit us again soon and let us know what you think of the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    184
    78
    31
    29
See reviews for
173
154
37
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castricum, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is in Westwood and in the neighbourhood of Bel Air, Beverly Hills and Brentwood. Westwood Village is nearby with a lot good restaurants. The hotel has a nice pool and we had a great room.
What we did like less, was the fact that you have to use valet parking for your car. So when we want to go out with our car, we have to wait fir our car. Because the hotel have many visitors who don't stay in the hotel, you have to wait sometimes more than 5 minutes.
And, some staffmembers have a very arrogant attitude: they don't show hospitality at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Esther H,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback about our property and it's location. I'm sorry to read that you felt having to use Valet parking was less than adequate. We do need to be a "valet only" property so that we can protect our parking spaces for our guests. I have sent you a private message so that I may get more details on the comment about some of our staff members. We pride ourselves on our personalized and genuine service so I am very concerned about this comment and look forward to speaking with you about it in detail.

Once again, thank you for letting us know how your stay was with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I love staying at the Luxe. Our children live close by and it is very convenient. Often I have stayed here by myself and feel very welcomed by the staff and secure.
The restaurant is is excellent and the bar is warm and inviting. the room appointments are not only beautiful, but very comfortable. The pool is delightful and serene.

Room Tip: If traveling with children, stay in the building close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Shelly M,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. It's such a pleasure for us to know that you enjoy your visits with us!

We genuinely appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I have returned to the Luxe twice a year for the past 6 yrs. Our son lives nearby and so does my mother-in-law.
We bring our dog, So the upper level is convienent for him and us. It is also near the pool. The walk down the hill and back to the restaurant is good exercise and our dog join us.
Traffic at the moment is challenging because of the construction.
All in all, we have very few complaints. Worth a try.
Irwin

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Irwin T,

What a pleasure it was to read about your stay with us! It is especially impactful to us coming from someone who has stayed with us many times. We do pride ourselves on creating a home away from home for our guests and we are so pleased that you have chosen us to be your home.

We are currently getting new pet amenities, so please make sure to ask for them on your next stay. We all look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A very restful hotel, with cheerful, welcoming staff. Rooms are very large and comfortable - excellent service. Hotel is very nicely designed, with a calm and tasteful decor. The grounds are very pleasant. Did not use the pool or spa.

Room Tip: Mine overlooked the main entrance and car park -- a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Patrice60,

Thank you so much for your review! We all appreciate the wonderful description of our hotel and the comment about our service.

We hope to welcome you back soon and please make sure to visit the pool and spa on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I didn't get to try restaurants or pool. Hotel was hard to find and when called couldn't help much. The hotel almost has a creepy feel to it but I didn't see any other guests. Lots of valet men on staff. The room was nice no complaints there. The patio was worse Ive seen. It is shared outside so anyone can approach your room. The cheap plastic chairs and tables that didn't match were unbelievable for a descent hotel. The patio is also not covered. After I left to continue my vacation the hotel took $300 out of my account for something I didn't do. Took almost a week after resolved to get my money back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear graycelouise123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am truly disappointed your experience fell short of expectations. However, I am thankful that you have shared this feedback as it will be used as a tool in an effort to improve the guest experience.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This seven acre property is truly an oasis in LA. We recently stayed at the Luxe for our son's graduation from UCLA. The rooms are lovely and the setting quite serene considering the close proximity to the nearby hustle and bustle. After the graduation we had a dinner for twelve and it was fantastic. We were assisted by the very able and personable Director of Sales, Scott Robbins, who helped us with all of our arrangements for which we were truly grateful. The pool is a lovely setting as are the other outdoor retreats. The service was excellent in all areas. We look forward to our next visit to the Luxe.

Room Tip: There are two buildings on the property with the dining room and lounge in the lower building and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Jollymon22,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us! We appreciate the kind comments about the property and service. Our goal is to create a comfortable and relaxing environment for our guests that feels like home. I will most certainly pass on your complimentary remarks to Scott Robbins and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

P.S. Congratulations to your son!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Address: 11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard is an in-town boutique resort, situated on seven secluded and beautifully landscaped acres in one of Southern California's most accessible and exceptional locations. Located at the entrance to the exclusive suburbs of Bel-Air and Brentwood and just below the famed Getty Center, and minutes from UCLA, the hotel is at the gateway to Los Angeles and its surrounding communities. The hotel offers a stylish and supremely comfortable California-modern look and welcoming, professional, personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Loews Hotels, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.