We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice stay in LA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Redlands,CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Overall a nice stay in LA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Was in town for a wine dinner and stayed the night at the Luxe. Great staff, understated elegance, a great place to relax, especially by the pool. However, if you have a room by the pool, you are away from the main hotel building. This necessitates waiting for a golf cart (which is a short wait) or walking down a long narrow driveway to the lobby/restaurant. The only other relatively minor complaint was the micro-bathroom. For such a nice hotel room, this seemed a bit out of place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Redlands_CAFoodie,

It's wonderful to read such a great review coming from someone as well-traveled as yourself. Our staff always finds it rewarding to know how they affected our guest's stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    179
    71
    31
    26
See reviews for
151
141
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We enjoyed an amazing experience recently at this beautiful oasis. Off the 405 freeway it might as well be in quiet little corner of the world removed from the chaos of Los Angeles. Finding this gem of a hotel is a true joy! From the moment we drove up the secluded drive to the entrance we were treated like royalty with out- standing service and warm hospitality. Our room was beautiful, large and comfortable with a Zen like atmosphere that was so relaxing. We had a wonderful dinner under the stars with great food and attentive service in the garden with twinkling lights. The bar has a very intimate feel and warm ambiance. Everything was perfect and wished we could turn our 2 night stay into many more before returning to reality. This is the
ideal hotel for a romantic rendezvous or just a weekend getaway! Make it a must!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear dale91377,

It was certainly a delight to read your review about your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your description of our property and service was very eloquent and paints such a lovely picture. It will be a pleasure to pass on your comments about your experience in the restaurant to our Chef and his team.

We all eagerly await your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Fantastic place to stay. Turned up hot and completely over traffic and was greeted by a gorgeous, smiling, very helpful and competent girl on the front desk; Kayla - yr beautiful. Relaxed straight away. Close to hollywood and easy to get to malibu also. Staff are fantastic, the front desk especially are most helpful and cheerful, its reasonably priced, like an oasis in the middle of a concrete jungle. The restaurant is quality as is everything about the place.
Next time in LA will be going back. Twice the hotel at half the price compared to other places there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear tonyd817,

It's such a pleasure to read about your experience with us! Especially from someone who had traveled so far to get here. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and for specifically pointing out Kayla. She is a pleasure to work with and I know that she will be elated to hear how she affected your stay. I will also pass on your description of the restaurant to our Chef who prides himself on producing quality cuisine. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were suppose to stay across the street at the Hotel Angeleno but it was booked because of some sort of Medical Convention. Saw the sign at the Luxe as we were driving out the driveway and I remembered seeing some pretty good reviews. As soon as we drove up the driveway we were in a realm of class and accommodation . We had just spent the day at California Adventureland and fought traffic for an hour to get near the Getty Center so we were pretty wiped out and a little grubby looking but the Manager (Chris) actually went out of his way to come outside to the car to welcome me and make sure to point out how to drive up to our room at the top level. We quickly freshened up came downstairs, had a glass of wine and ordered a superb appetizer before retiring. Quiet evening and pretty comfortable beds, which I'm pretty picky about. The next morning we dined outdoors to an incredible breakfast and heard about the chef who is French. We didn't eat anywhere else for the next 2 days. This wasn't cheap but we loved all of the extra care that went into making our stay first class. We will be back to enjoy this hidden gem. I guess this used to be the old Bel Air Sands Hotel. The charm is still there even though there is congestion and cement surrounding this oasis.

Room Tip: We stayed up the hill near the spa because I enjoyed the exercise . Maybe for someone older or not q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear specedu,

On behalf of the Luxe Sunset Boulevard team, thank you for your thoughtful narrative about your stay with us! I will most certainly pass on your comments about your arrival experience to Chris and the Chef (who is indeed French) will be delighted to hear about your dining experiences as well. This property was indeed the Bel Air Sands at one time and carries a lot of history that we are proud of. It has always been know as a "hidden gem" and we are so pleased that you feel the same way.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here because of a wedding that was nearby. The room and bathroom were both very nice. The best part about this room was the bed and the pillows. They were so comfortable. It is rare to be so comfortable in a hotel room The only negatives were poor lighting in both the bathroom and the bedroom, and the charge for parking. You can only valet park your car which added on about $25 a day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear cindyfromphoenix,

We are so pleased that you were able to stay with us due to the event you were attending. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our bedding. We recently replaced the mattresses and upgraded the linens so it's great to hear that you enjoyed them and that you felt so comfortable. Your comments about the lighting in the room are appreciated and noted. Also, please know that our parking rates are some of the lowest in this area. We do not offer self-parking as we need to protect our parking spaces for our guests and visitors. In addition, our Valet parking team is always ready to assist and are available 24 hours a day.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked a room at Luxe on Priceline at a fabulous rate and the experience only improved from there. Upon check in, the lovely gal at the front desk offered us an upgrade to an Executive Suite on the spa level, which turned out to be larger than our NYC apartment back home with a patio looking out on the heated pool! The bathroom was incredible, with a huge deep spa tub and separate shower + dual sinks. The valet was a little hyperactive, but every other element was fantastic. Oh, the person upstairs was audible in terms of footsteps and use of bath facilities, but frankly surrounded by that kind of luxury, we just didn't care. :-)

Room Tip: Choose the 'spa level' if you want to be close to the spa/sauna/pool - we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Kyra S,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We all appreciate your time in posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Loved this hotel. Had a Deluxe suite, it was large and spacious, and breakfast (room delivery) was very tasty. The food was great. Nice pool, friendly staff. The only drawbacks are the very inconvenient and steep walk up to the pool/second hotel room area - they really should construct a shortcut of some sorts that didn´t require you walking on a road up there (private, but anyhow) so you don´t feel like you are walking to a different hotel. Also I think the bathroom was waaay too dark with the brown walls, felt very depressing. Still, if this is all I can complain about, it means that my stay was way above average, and I would highly recommend staying here. But bring taxi money!

Room Tip: Ask for the upper level rooms to get the balcony rooms with the view of LA. I had a lower level room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sylvia R,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your description of the property and will note your suggestion about the bathrooms. I will happily pass on your comments about our In Room Dining to the staff and the Chef. Please know that our staff is always available to take our guests between the buildings and we also provide a complimentary house car that will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. This includes such venues as the Getty, UCLA, Brentwood, and Westwood where you will find many restaurants, shopping, theaters, etc.

We hope you will take advantage of these services the next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Address: 11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard is an in-town boutique resort, situated on seven secluded and beautifully landscaped acres in one of Southern California's most accessible and exceptional locations. Located at the entrance to the exclusive suburbs of Bel-Air and Brentwood and just below the famed Getty Center, and minutes from UCLA, the hotel is at the gateway to Los Angeles and its surrounding communities. The hotel offers a stylish and supremely comfortable California-modern look and welcoming, professional, personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.