We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here because of a wedding that was nearby. The room and bathroom were both very nice. The best part about this room was the bed and the pillows. They were so comfortable. It is rare to be so comfortable in a hotel room The only negatives were poor lighting in both the bathroom and the bedroom, and the charge for parking. You can only valet park your car which added on about $25 a day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear cindyfromphoenix,

We are so pleased that you were able to stay with us due to the event you were attending. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our bedding. We recently replaced the mattresses and upgraded the linens so it's great to hear that you enjoyed them and that you felt so comfortable. Your comments about the lighting in the room are appreciated and noted. Also, please know that our parking rates are some of the lowest in this area. We do not offer self-parking as we need to protect our parking spaces for our guests and visitors. In addition, our Valet parking team is always ready to assist and are available 24 hours a day.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    181
    72
    31
    26
See reviews for
156
142
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked a room at Luxe on Priceline at a fabulous rate and the experience only improved from there. Upon check in, the lovely gal at the front desk offered us an upgrade to an Executive Suite on the spa level, which turned out to be larger than our NYC apartment back home with a patio looking out on the heated pool! The bathroom was incredible, with a huge deep spa tub and separate shower + dual sinks. The valet was a little hyperactive, but every other element was fantastic. Oh, the person upstairs was audible in terms of footsteps and use of bath facilities, but frankly surrounded by that kind of luxury, we just didn't care. :-)

Room Tip: Choose the 'spa level' if you want to be close to the spa/sauna/pool - we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Kyra S,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We all appreciate your time in posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Loved this hotel. Had a Deluxe suite, it was large and spacious, and breakfast (room delivery) was very tasty. The food was great. Nice pool, friendly staff. The only drawbacks are the very inconvenient and steep walk up to the pool/second hotel room area - they really should construct a shortcut of some sorts that didn´t require you walking on a road up there (private, but anyhow) so you don´t feel like you are walking to a different hotel. Also I think the bathroom was waaay too dark with the brown walls, felt very depressing. Still, if this is all I can complain about, it means that my stay was way above average, and I would highly recommend staying here. But bring taxi money!

Room Tip: Ask for the upper level rooms to get the balcony rooms with the view of LA. I had a lower level room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sylvia R,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your description of the property and will note your suggestion about the bathrooms. I will happily pass on your comments about our In Room Dining to the staff and the Chef. Please know that our staff is always available to take our guests between the buildings and we also provide a complimentary house car that will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. This includes such venues as the Getty, UCLA, Brentwood, and Westwood where you will find many restaurants, shopping, theaters, etc.

We hope you will take advantage of these services the next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here because of my work at the Getty. The Luxe has a free shuttle (first come, first served basis) that will transport you to the Getty and other destinations that are in close proximity to the hotel. This was a huge plus for me, as I didn't have a car during my stay. Even my basic room was quite large, with comfy bed, huge TV, etc. I noticed in other reviews that people complained about the noise, but I didn't have a problem with it. Southern California walls aren't going to be insulated like Fort Knox, but I still slept quite soundly. Among the staff there a lot of young hardworking individuals. I was totally impressed by their willingness to help me out with my shuttle needs, buying stamps, shipping a UPS package, etc. They also have a business center which allows you to print things on a complimentary basis (a nice service). The location is the reason that I chose this hotel, but it is also its biggest challenge--it's difficult to walk anywhere with the 405 edging up next to you! But all in all, I would definitely stay here again for my future work at the Getty. The Luxe does it right.

Room Tip: There are two sections in this hotel--the main compound, and then one up the hill a minute or two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Travelogue77,

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. We have many guests that visit and/or work at the Getty and we are always pleased to welcome them. We are happy that you took advantage of our House Car service while you were here and we appreciate your complimentary comments about our property and employees.

We all look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Los Angeles area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A well appointed hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Must make mention of Sheldon who was the epitome of a high quality staff member. Rooms were spacious and well appointed, we got upgraded to a suite and I wonder if in fact this might be a regular occurance as it seemed to me that they have a lot of them.....
We stayed 'up the hill' which may be inconvenient for those who do not like to walk up quite a steep hill as the hotel transport is not always available. Swimming pool is up there but rest of facilities are in the main block.
They have a fantastic free car service which will take and pick you up in a three mile radius, very useful.
Tip do not book the tour which combines the Getty Museum (Well worth a visit) with the movie star homes. Not knowing that the Getty Museum was so close to the hotel and unfortunately not having this pointed out by reception when they booked this tour, this can involve you being taken all the way to Hollywood to then get on a bus which takes you all the way back to what is effectively next door to the hotel... not good and a waste of money also, as the 'Tour' of the museum is no such thing you are just dropped off.
Overall a great stay in the Luxe would definitely come back. Look out for the hummingbirds in the trees... fascinating..!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear DannyUK,

We appreciate your thoughtful review of your stay with us! Our team greatly values our guest's feedback. Your kind words about Sheldon will most certainly be passed on to him. He is a wonderful addition to the team and I know that this will mean a lot to him. Thank you for visiting TripAdvisor and letting us know how we did.

We all look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

When in LA my wife and I choose Luxe because of the very convenient location: it is very close to Brentwood with many lovely restaurants, cafes and services. It is also a short drive from Beverly Hills, Mellrose, Hollywood, etc. Being right by the 405, if you are lucky enough not to hit traffic you can be at LAX or in the Valley in 15 minutes.
The building is a little old but it is well maintained. The rooms are nicely decorated and spacious with nice big bathrooms and comfortable beds. We like to upgrade to a Junior Suite for the additional space and nice shower.
Everybody at reception is very friendly and efficient. All in all we are always glad to be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Viclugano,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. It's wonderful to hear how your stays have been with us. I will certainly pass on your complimentary comments about our Front Desk staff and we all look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights whilst travelling the US. This was my favourite hotel of our whole trip.
It was very luxurious, probably quite a bit out of the price range which we would usually go for but this was booked for us by an agent wanting to utilise our budget.
Anyway if you can afford it, this is definitely worth the spend. The room we had was really nice, I just remember lots of cushions and a massive 4 poster bed!
The staff were friendly and helpful, the location is good - quite and not too far to drive to the mainstream activities. We used the valet a lot and tipped the staff approx $2 on returning the vehicle.
Would love to stay again in the future, if we can ever afford to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Sazy70,

It's a pleasure to read your review about your stay with us. Thank you for the great comments about our property and staff. We all appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. Please join us again the next time you visit the Los Angeles area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Address: 11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard is an in-town boutique resort, situated on seven secluded and beautifully landscaped acres in one of Southern California's most accessible and exceptional locations. Located at the entrance to the exclusive suburbs of Bel-Air and Brentwood and just below the famed Getty Center, and minutes from UCLA, the hotel is at the gateway to Los Angeles and its surrounding communities. The hotel offers a stylish and supremely comfortable California-modern look and welcoming, professional, personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.