We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
“A hidden treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beautiful rooms, clean, comfy, very quiet, great service and friendly too. Just make sure not to take anything unless you're sure it's complimentary.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIPS, and even though it's not cheap for the amount we spent it payed off big time. You pick up the phone for the front desk and they answer with a smile willing to do just about anything they can to help. We were only there two nights so we didn't get to do much beyond being in the room, but being the night after our wedding it was a perfect stay and we would certainly stay again. It's also very central to many things in LA and pretty easy to find.

Room Tip: King room is perfect size for 3 days or more. Little kitchenette may go unused unless you plan on ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    208
    85
    35
    34
See reviews for
207
173
38
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight at the Luxe earlier this month as we had old friends to meet who live in Brentwood. This couldn't have been a better location, and I recommend it for people doing business or spending most of their time on the west side of L.A., or for those who will be visiting UCLA.

The hotel is separated into two buildings, a lower tier building where the lobby/check-in and bar/food facilities are located, and an upper tier building at the top of a hill that has a pool. The buildings are two stories tall, and appear to be older structures that have been renovated. We found our room to be stylishly decorated, and included a balcony and view of a nicely landscaped area, including the pool. There is no elevator, but the valet attendant who parks your car will help you with your luggage if your room is upstairs.

We were told the upper tier building was quietest, and indeed the surrounding neighborhood is quiet. We got no exterior noise from our room, and one wouldn't even know the 405 freeway was so close. However, the noise through the connecting door to the room next door was somewhat noticeable. I always take and wear earplugs to hotels to block out noise, and had no trouble sleeping on the comfy bed. However, my wife claimed to lose some sleep due to the neighbors making noise. The reports of paper-thin walls between rooms from other reviewers appear to be true, unfortunately.

Given the level of service, reasonable price for this part of L.A., and beautiful room and surroundings (also a sizable room), I think the Luxe is a quality choice. If you are a light sleeper, however, take earplugs as I do. Then, you'll love your visit!

Room Tip: Upstairs in the upper tier building, facing the pool, is nice with no exterior noise. Take earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel offers two different settings one for guests on business and one for rest, I requested to be changed to a type of room where I was going to rest. Both nights I could hear people talking loudly in the hallways and the last night I had to call security at 3am because some guests were running naked and making noise in the hallways. The bed was no comfortable and the a/c does not work properly.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the entrance hallway rooms, it is noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Daniela P,

First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the disruptions that you experienced during your stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing a relaxing environment for our guests and this was in no way a reflection of a typical experience. I have sent you a private message in hopes of rectifying this with you. Please contact me directly so that I may assist you further. I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We only stayed here one night due to a change in plans and booked here last minute. We were extremely happy with this hotel. Great food at the restaurant, efficient and friendly staff, great pool and our executive suite was huge, lots of crawling room for our child. The bathroom had a jacuzzi and a stand alone shower. It seemed to be quite a businessy hotel with lots of meetings going on and the location is pretty far out the way if your wanting to do the typical touristy things but for us it was perfect for one night. The hotel does offer a free shuttle for anywhere within a 5 mile radius. One negative, the crib was beyond squeaky and in need of a good oiling but luckily our child didn't mind!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The one night stay was one of the best for business travel. Hand/Face towel upon check in, to the complementary wine with dinner, complimentary water and snack mix when returning from dinner - dinner menu very nice selection. Impressed. Did not like the road construction going on close by but did manage to navigate to our destination.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, ask for a non-balcony room; even though room is listed as non-smoking, appe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Terrific experience, above and beyond expectation. Price was reasonable considering LA and the quality of the accommodation. Service was excellent, breakfast was excellent. Details were handled very well. Would go out of my way to repeat.

Room Tip: would select lower level (near front desk) as compared to spa level...unless you're interested i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear William S,

Thank you so much for your review. We pride ourselves on our personalized service and attention to detail. We are very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We will share your comments about breakfast to our Chef and culinary team. We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are in the Los Angeles area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had the BEST stay EVER at LUXE sunset boulevard (6 nights), actually so good that we cancelled our 2 last nights stay at Laguna Beach

The service level was from the minute we arrived OUTSTANDING. We were travelling with our kids at 10 and 13 and the first room we got was at the reception building, but since the kids wanted to spend a great deal of time at the pool area, the receptionist moved us to the “spa level” with a smile. The room we got was CLEAN, SPACIOUS and TASTEFUL. The employees at LUXE hotel where all service minded, helpful and with a smiling attitude, they made our stay complete.
The ONLY thing that is really bad, is that LUXE Sunset Boulevard is a 12 hour flight from Denmark, because otherwise it would have been our preferred weekend destination.

Room Tip: If your are travelling with kids you should choose to stay at spa level, beacause you are near to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear mette i,

Thank you so much for your review. Your kind words about our property and staff are very appreciated. We are happy that you had such a great experience with us and we wish we were closer to Denmark as well! We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Address: 11461 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#44 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard is an in-town boutique resort, situated on seven secluded and beautifully landscaped acres in one of Southern California's most accessible and exceptional locations. Located at the entrance to the exclusive suburbs of Bel-Air and Brentwood and just below the famed Getty Center, and minutes from UCLA, the hotel is at the gateway to Los Angeles and its surrounding communities. The hotel offers a stylish and supremely comfortable California-modern look and welcoming, professional, personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.