We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza to your Saves list
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fab service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed for 4nights in August. Hotel was lovely, clean, nice bar, nice food, great service especially looked after by Mia on reception. Would love to give this place 5 stars but during our stay the Grand Cafe was being renovated and breakfast was being served in the Noe restaurant and on the terrace. The service was a bit chaotic to say the least. For instance a full set of cutlery was beyond the staff and our table was cleared of drinks and everything whilst we were at the buffet. Also on the day of check out I did an early morning drop at the airport returned to the hotel at 6am to catch a few more hours sleep before my afternoon flight back to the UK. Bearing in mind check out wasn't until 11am house keeping entered my room at 8.20 and tried again at 9.30 and then a very jolly chap knocked on the door at 10.30 just to make sure I was infact leaving. Should have put the do not disturb hanger on the door but still.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We appreciate your understanding as we were renovating our Grand Cafe Restaurant, and hope you will return to enjoy the newly re-opened restaurant. Your feedback will be helpful in the future to ensure we can continue to provide excellent service to our guests, even amidst a renovation.

Please rest assured that your comments regarding housekeeping has also been shared with the appropriate department heads. We apologize for the disruption in your sleep, but hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you true Omni service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    625
    116
    27
    17
See reviews for
412
620
142
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel was neat, quiet, and a good place to stay for business. Centrally located in downtown, it would also be a good spot for a weekend get away for couples as the Music Center and Disney Hall are within walking distance. I was there for a business meeting and the banquet food was really one of the best I've ever had - fresh, tasteful and excellent presentation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The location is close (walkable) to Disney Performance Hall and short Uber ride to Union Station. Room is very comfortable. Staff is very friendly. Food is very good and decent value. Bar serves food until 1am which is greatly appreciated to international travelers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Overall, service was great, we had an incident with some food, and apart of not having to pay for that item, we had a little gift on our room in order to apologize for the little incident, but other than that everything was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are disappointed to hear your dining experience did not exceed your expectations. Thank you for the opportunity to rectify the issue, and we hope you will see improvements in our product the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Omni Los Angeles sits on a prime piece of real estate in LA. It's right in the middle of the city, between the business and fashion districts. From the hotel, I managed get breakfast at Grand Central market, walked to the heart of the city (about 30 mins) and found a Target, Macy's and Walgreens. Everything that a person could need. The rooms are big and clean, linens are decent, and in the lobby, they have fruity cold water to greet thirsty travellers as they return. That's a nice touch. I really liked the little glass balcony perch within the room - that was awesome.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor overlooking MOCA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca, usa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Well, it's downtown LA, couldn't be any more central. On the other hand, LA is huge, so it depends on where you need to be. If you need to get to Disney concert hall, it's very convenient. If you want to hit the trendy places downtown, it's good too. We walked to 4th and Spring, though we were warned by hotel personnel that we'd have to see homeless people. But being from SF, this didn't faze us. Nevertheless, some parts of downtown are more dangerous, the SE side of Main St, for example, so be aware. Service is friendly and efficient. Valet is pretty quick and cost is reasonable. Google directions for some reason don't know that Olive St accesses the hotel and W. 3rd St does not, so be careful with Google Map's driving directions.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at the Omni for 12 nights, making it our base for a holiday in Los Angeles. The room was very large, service excellent, and quiet every night. The valet parking worked very well, which is important since you will need a car to get around. Downtown LA is not that interesting in itself, but with a car, Omni was an excellent base for visiting all the major sights like Universal, Santa Monica Beach, and even a daytrip to San Diego

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing us as your home base during your vacation to Los Angeles! We are delighted to hear we could exceed your expectations as you visited the numerous sites LA has to offer. We hope you remember us the next time your visit takes you to where an Omni Hotels & Resorts is located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.