We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza to your Saves list
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I just got back from L.A and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The overall experience was amazing. The staff was very nice and professional. I had breakfast twice at Grand café, you can pick between the buffet and a la carte. I picked the buffet option each time and it was amazing. The omelets were super good and my server Abraham was spectacular. He made sure I was ok and didn't need anything. I also had dinner 2 nights at Noe Bar, I really loved the grown and sexy décor of the bar. I had a burger both times and it was very good. Didn't have time to use the gym and the pool or get massages at the spa. The hotel was clean, the lobby was really nice with fresh flowers, the bed was very comfortable, didn't even want to get up. I was so satisfied I signed up for a club membership and will now try to stay at other Omni hotels when I travel. My only negative comment is that my room hadn't been used in a while so there was dust on the nightstands and my bathroom toilet wasn't very clean. Also, the hotel provides robes but no slippers. But overall, I had a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,538
    733
    133
    30
    18
See reviews for
502
705
156
712
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I arrived very late at night and was given a room about as far from the elevator as possible - two very long corridor lengths to walk. The room was quiet but had not been used in some time - it was a bit dusty and there was a piece of trash in the garbage can. Clean enough but not great. I then tried to call to find out where breakfast would be served in the morning but no answer to ANY of the phone numbers - front desk, bell desk, concierge, guest services. I don't know if they all go to the same person or what was going on but I had to go down to the front desk, find someone to ask and then go back up to the 3rd floor for breakfast. The staff at breakfast were wonderful - so attentive and super professional. One of the best omelette bars I've ever experienced: light, fluffy, beautifully cooked and presented. Then, as I left, I had about a 4 block walk to my appointment but the bellmen insisted on having the hotel car take me so I was handed into a nice car which then drove me to my appointment. Lovely, elegant service indeed. So, overall a mixed experience but would probably return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the hiccups in our service. We appreciate your feedback, and strive to ensure these issues don't happen to you or our other guests. We hope you will give us the opportunity to be your "home away from home" again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, IL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have stayed at the Omni in Los Angeles many times. I am never disappointed. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. The location is perfect because the office I needed to visit is right in the plaza.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had a very positive experience at the Omni Hotel. The property and staff were first rate. The room was well appointed and clean. I also made use of the hotel's complimentary limo service - which is provided for stops within a 2 miles radius of the hotel. I'll definitely consider staying at the Omni Hotel the next time I travel to LA.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar,CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Each step of the way with this hotel worked fine. Easy reservation, easy (valet) arrival, easy check in, room was ready with special pillow I requested. There were a couple of minor maintenance issue (non functional light, bathtub drain would not retain water) I mentioned both to the front desk and they got fixed quickly.

The room (13th floor) was nice and big, ultra clean and a good view. Only complaint is the bed was a sway backed on one side, a bit less so on the other but clearly it was aged.

The bar and restaurant on the 3rd floor is excellent and rationally priced. I had more than enough to eat with an appetizer and a really good veggie side (green beans and mushrooms) -- add in a dry martini and I still got out for under $50.

The hotel is on a hill -- Bunker Hill -- you will realize that if you walk a lot like I do -- uphill for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have notified the appropriate department heads to investigate the issue with the bed, and to make any necessary repairs. We appreciate your time, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a great experience at the OMNI downtown Los Angeles. Easy check in and check out. Nice room. Very comfortable. Extremely nice staff. Amazing shuttle service for a 3 mile radius. $30 and then $40 parking is very expensive but the room was $160 so it evened it out. Plus we used the shuttle many times. Over all we had a relaxing enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in late December - the hotel was very clean and luxurious, definitely more than we expected. All the staff were so lovely and helpful - especially Mia at reception, who made our day every time we saw her!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and BookIt.com so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.