We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in downtown LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza to your Saves list
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 327 Hotels in Los Angeles
westerville, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in downtown LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel was very nice. As usual the Omni staff is very friendly and helpful. Not a lot to do in downtown LA, but this is still a good location. Hotel courtesy car is definitely a plus. It is LA, so prices are always high compared to other cities. We had corner room and it was spacious. Tomato soup and grilled cheese in bar was terrific, and so was the piano player.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our courtesy transporation is a very popular amenity and we are glad we had the opportunity to be of service to you. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,428
    687
    125
    29
    17
See reviews for
459
668
149
651
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was a lovely hotel. It took me a bit to understand the exits from the first three floors but once we got our bearings it was nice to have those options and avoid the hills. We slept better here than anywhere else we have stayed. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was quite helpful and very pleasant. I was very pleased with every aspect of our stay. Thankyou for making this an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are so glad you experienced an enjoyable and restful stay with us and that our associates could exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

If your trip has you staying in downtown Los Angeles, you should stay here. The room was comfortable, spacious, clean, quiet, adequate electrical outlets, excellent service at valet and the restaurants were very well run. The one area we noticed that has some opportunity for improvement is the bedding. It's adequate for this level of property, but the mattress could be firmer and better/more choice in pillows would have been expected. It's hard to find a hotel where the stay actually cares and means it, and you could sense that there was a genuine interest by everyone (and we interacted with at least 15+ staff) in making sure our requests or needs were met with satisfaction.

If you're not familiar with downtown Los Angeles, you should be aware that the Omni is a little off the beaten path. And in general downtown is not a very happening place and tends to have a lot of concrete. Yes, it's blossomed in recent years but it's by no means like being in the heart of Westwood. Planning ahead on where you're going and how you'll get there will make your stay less stressful, as the downtown area can be difficult to navigate for uninitiated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. It has been shared with our management team so that we can continue to improve the experience for our guests. Our associates will be so pleased to hear that you appreciated their level of care and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The Omni LA has large beautiful rooms with views of the city and everything else one needs for a pleasant stay. For a downtown hotel the rooms are huge with plenty of space for work and relaxation as well as a beautiful bathroom with separate bath and shower. The entire hotel was spotless and staff was both available yet invisible. Compared to what I regularly spend in other cities the price is very fair for the quality. Sleep quality is good though not quite as good as the "heavenly" beds at their competitors. Noise was also a small issue as I could clearly hear conversations in the hallway. Not a major issue though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are glad you found your stay to be enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

All over excellence for business hotel, well-located downtown. Front desk staff, is beyond exceptional! On one of my stays last month, I looked shot, and Tia offer me breakfast on the house. She is the epitome of excellent 5 star service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Toi will be thrilled to hear that you appreciated her extraordinary customer service. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked a stay at the Omni last minute and got a great deal on TripAdvisor. The lobby of the hotel is gorgeous and the staff are great. The only issue I had is that I booked a non-smoking room and I swear it smelled like smoke. It was this lingering, stale cigarette smell. Also, the room was just oddly situated and not that nice.

Just because of that room, I wouldn't stay at the hotel again. Such a shame, because everything else was very nice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. We apologize that our guestroom did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our management team so that we may address the odor in the room. We hope you will reconsider and give us the opportunity to be of service in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. I was there on a business trip but would love to vacation there. Perhaps next year. I have nothing but good things to say about the staff, the hotel, the food. Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are so glad we could exceed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.