We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Save Saved
You added Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Omni Downtown is the closest hotel to the Los Angeles Art Complex (Colburn School of Arts, MOMA, Walt Disney Hall and the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion), at the center of Bunker Hill. The Omni is an excellent option if you want to stay for a weekend and explore the surrounding areas: The L.A. Historic Core, Little Tokyo, Olvera Street, China Town, and the Civic Center.

The hotel is modern and beautiful. The staff is friendly and helpful. I arrived a few hours early and they checked me in. My room was ready!

Everything in the room was perfect, and I had a magnificent view towards MOMA and the Walt Disney Concert Hall. The neighborhood is safe and you can walk to all of the areas I listed above. You will not need a car unless you want to drive to other parts of Los Angeles. I do not give five stars because the daily valet parking fee was a bit steep, but this is typical of hotels in Los Angeles.

Fun fact(s): the hotel is next to Angel's Flight and Angel's Knoll Park, and as you go down the stairs or down through Angel's flight you will find Grand Central Market. Go and explore!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
The Los Angeles Art Complex and the Grand Central Market are some great gems in our surrounding community. We are delighted to hear you were able to enjoy these sites. They are all within walking distance, but we do also offer a complimentary town car service within a 3-mile radius of the hotel. We hope you will be able to enjoy this benefit during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,211
    593
    111
    26
    14
See reviews for
384
575
138
553
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dapto, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here for just three nights, but I found the hotel to be excellent. The staff were friendly, the rooms large and clean. The only downside was that the internet in the rooms had to be paid for, but the lobby has free wifi. Otherwise this would have been 5 stars. The hotel location is great for checking out the historical sites of Downtown, and is within easy distance to El Pueblo and Little Tokyo, and also easy walking distance to the theatre and jewelry districts. The historic Angels Flight railway can be accessed via level 3 of the hotel, and is very convenient for getting down to the streets, costing only 50 cents per trip. The hotel restaurant is nice, but there are quite a lot of options within easy walking distance as well. All in all, an excellent, affordable Downtown hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are happy to hear you had an opportunity to visit the various locations surrounding our hotel. We do offer complimentary benefits for our Select Guest members, and hope you will be able to enjoy them during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Lovely hotel, beautifully appointed. Great breakfast buffet.
Tendency for house keeping to make repeated attempts to get into your room so put out the do not disturb sign so they know. Very thoughtful staff... Spotted our two lime infused Bud Lights cooling in the ice bucket and went to the trouble of going out to procure more ice in our absence. This was our last night in USA after 5 week trip so we wanted to stay somewhere special, we were not disappointed. Tip.... Park across the road for $18 if you'd prefer to avoid valet park for $40

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Our guests are our top priority, and we are pleased to hear we could exceed your expectations. We look forward to a future visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Omni is as fine a business hotel as you could want in Downtown LA. You don't go there for atmosphere or romance, unless you're a conference junkie, so.... Rooms are practical and clean, conference rooms are convenient, and breakfast is early and excellent. Staff patiently helped us sort out some issues with our reservations and were helpful in other ways (including getting a gift from one room to another as a surprise gift - just a touch of atmosphere..).
The location is fine, close to the historical center, the Disney Center and the Hollywood freeway. Strangely, finding the hotel can take some getting used to when driving a car, due to one way streets and a tunnel. But keep trying and you can't miss it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. It is to our delight to know we could provide such an enjoyable and pleasant visit. We are happy you were able to find your way around the downtown area, and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our visit of LA. This hotel exceeded our expectations. Clean, comfortable beds, compact layout and very friendly staff. Make sure to visit outdoors bar on the 3rd floor. The restaurant has excellent breakfast. This hotel is located walking distance to the theater district.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we look forward to a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and clean. The staff was very service orientated and was very helpful. I would definitely stay there again. The front desk and bell service were the most helpful during my stay. My room was very comfortable and clean. Since I was at a conference it gave me relaxing down time after a long day. We were close to the convention center and had not problems getting around downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Our staff will enjoy hearing your comments. We appreciate the opportunity to be your "home away from home". We hope that you had a successful conference, and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Omni for three nights. Check in went smoothly and we were able to change from a twin to a king-bed room without any problems. The location is v central with quick access to all major freeways. Valet parking is $40 during the week and $30 on weekends. There is self parking 1-2 blocks away but given that it's LA we wanted our car parked at a truly secure location. Buffet breakfast is nice and better value than ordering a coffee and omelette from the menu.

Rooms are clean, spacious, and come with free wifi if you sign up to their loyalty programme.

During our last night the elevator alarm on our floor went off at 4am and it took the hotel 1h to switch it off. We had to call reception and tell them about the alarm. We planned on complaining the next morning but didnt have to because we found a letter from reception at our door with 2 breakfast vouchers and comped valet parking together worth over $150. This is true customer service and truly outstanding.

We are glad to have stayed at the Omni and can truly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to resolve this most unfortunate inconvenience during your stay. We truly thank you for your understanding, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Reservation Counter so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.