We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza to your Saves list
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Metuchen, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wedding weekend in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

this hotel is located in the downtown Los Angeles. I would not typically select a hotel in downtown LA but we were attending a wedding which had a block of rooms here. We arrived early but the desk staff was able to assign us a room. The Omni surprised happily me. Room 810 - large with a california king, separate seating area with sofa and chairs. Linens were comfortable and ventilation (A/C) was good. Bath included large tub with separate shower. Upon reservation, signed up for the guest program which included coffe and juice delivered to the room each morning. We ate breakfest in the dining room chosing from the menu one time and from the buffet another. Both had a varied selection of items which we found to be good. The lounge was good with a wonderful outdoor seating area. All staff we encountered were pleasent and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We appreciate your complimentary feedback and will share it with our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    665
    120
    28
    17
See reviews for
433
652
145
639
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because my wife is has a GHA Black membership which entitled us to a double room up-grade. The hotel honoured the upgrade automatically which was good. We enjoyed our 3 nights stay at the hotel. I find the Valet services excellent and the upgraded room very satisfactory. We liked the tasteful deco and good quality bed. There were free ice fruit teas and cookies in the hotel lounge. As a "Select Guests" we were entitled to 2 beverages per person each morning - a definite PLUS!

We didn't walk the street as we had the car but the Disney Philharmonical Hall is just a few minutes walk away. It was easy enough to drive from the LAX airport to the hotel and from the hotel to the major LA attractions.

The hotel concierge was very helpful to us especially in organising our LA plane flight experience. They rang us the day before to remind us that it was booked for us.

Overall: Great room and services. I would recommend this hotel to other however it is just a bit expensive especially without the free room upgrades.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! Your comments will be shared with our staff to recognize their excellence in service to you. We are happy to hear your stay exceeded your expectations, and we look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is attractive in a downtown, businessy sort of way. Rooms are large and pleasantly appointed. Lobby area was very cold (well, cold in a Southern California way), and when I mentioned it to the front desk clerk, he did not really respond. I was psyched to see hot apple cider to warm me up, but found the dispenser empty. Not a big deal, but when I mentioned it to the (same) front desk clerk, he seemed completely uninterested. The parking is fairly outrageous ($40) and there are really no abundant/safe options nearby. Because it was raining, we bit the bullet. Also because it was raining, we chose to eat in the hotel restaurant, which we never do, but the food was delicious! Truffle mac and cheese and fish and chips and all reasonably priced (except for the wine). The ambience was lovely, too, with dim lighting, comfy chairs and a fireplace (never mind the flighty waitress).

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor, which was quiet until I was awakened at 3 a.m by what sounded like som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, and are disappointed at the level of service you received. We pride ourselves on our service, and have discussed this with the appropriate department heads to ensure our staff are all on the same page. Your patronage is very important to us, and we hope to have an opportunity to show you the stellar service we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, MD
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Location is in business district, far from decent shopping and most sights, but good if you are visiting a nearby business. Concierge was average. Front desk staff poor. Club level staff excellent. "Sunday" is the woman's name up there and she is very helpful. Rooms are average. Food is okay. If it wasnt for the woman at the front desk in the morning, this hotel might have gotten four stars.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your comments, and would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had with our Front Desk and Concierge staff. We pride ourselves on the quality of service we provide, and we have obviously failed you in this regard. Please know that we have discussed this with the appropriate department heads, and will be re-training our staff on proper service protocols. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back, and provide you with the service we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed in Omny hotel in downtown L.A. It's is just excellent. Great room, huge bad, very high (they should consider to put an in room ladder to climb it). Breakfast is great service is very good.
As it's a working/office area there are many places to eat on lunch time. They are all closed by 6-7 P.M (except one bar-restaurant) and on week ends. Very close to Disney concert hall.
Otherwise, it's downtown L.A, not the best area to hang around in the evening although I did and felt ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This property is in a great location, only 5 mins walk to Pershing Square train station which we used to go to Universal Studios Hollywood rather that hire a car. The rooms in the hotel are very spacious and the beds are soo!! comfortable. If you are a Select Guest coffee or tea is delivered to your room each morning, so sign up for this programme - it's free to do so. Overall a great hotel would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked the Omni after receiving a discounted rate offer via email. On arrival we were given an upgraded room and as we had a birthday there was even a card and slice of cake. The room itself was spacious and comfortable with a view of California Plaza. The bar is open until 2am and has a late night food menu.

We will certainly stay at Omni on our next trip to LA!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear rdslight,

Thank you for sharing your comments! We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable birthday celebration. We look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.