We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Save Saved
You added Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #3 of 318 hotels in Los Angeles
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed in Omny hotel in downtown L.A. It's is just excellent. Great room, huge bad, very high (they should consider to put an in room ladder to climb it). Breakfast is great service is very good.
As it's a working/office area there are many places to eat on lunch time. They are all closed by 6-7 P.M (except one bar-restaurant) and on week ends. Very close to Disney concert hall.
Otherwise, it's downtown L.A, not the best area to hang around in the evening although I did and felt ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,047
    536
    95
    24
    13
See reviews for
326
508
129
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This property is in a great location, only 5 mins walk to Pershing Square train station which we used to go to Universal Studios Hollywood rather that hire a car. The rooms in the hotel are very spacious and the beds are soo!! comfortable. If you are a Select Guest coffee or tea is delivered to your room each morning, so sign up for this programme - it's free to do so. Overall a great hotel would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked the Omni after receiving a discounted rate offer via email. On arrival we were given an upgraded room and as we had a birthday there was even a card and slice of cake. The room itself was spacious and comfortable with a view of California Plaza. The bar is open until 2am and has a late night food menu.

We will certainly stay at Omni on our next trip to LA!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear rdslight,

Thank you for sharing your comments! We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable birthday celebration. We look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I normally stay at the Hilton LAX but decided to stay here because it was affordable and fancy. I stayed here with my family in a double bed room. The beds were very small and that is an understatement. I would recommend getting a king and cot room. As a warning ahead of time, the parking is expensive at $40 a day but the location is great. They are extremely polite and offer great service. The wifi is fast and free. Overall, it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Double rooms have very small beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear mediaspork,

Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that our guestrooms did not meet your family needs. In addition to the guestrooms with two double beds, we do also offer guestrooms with two queen beds at a different rate. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall, and hope we can exceed your expectations on your next visit to Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at omni California Plaza on the Nov 20-22 at room 1009. My request was simple, just clean and quiet. The first room was signed at 1304 which is facing the busy street. I called the front desk and they immediate move us to other side of hotel room which is facing the business building. I still can hear some music from the restaurant area but it was stop around 10:30 to 11:00pm.

The pro:
1: good service and very fair price. You got what you paid.
2: It is very close to downtown area.
3: Hotel room(bed area) seems keep clean

The cons:
1: The bath room shower area was pretty old. the tile was old and the area was very tiny.
2: not fancy deco, just OK. nothing to be excited.

Warnings for travelers toLA
One of my husband iphone which was put in the center harm box of our rental car. It was missing ....
there were only 2 possibility: missing in hotel valet or korean BBQ in korea town valet. We don't think is hotel valet .... but just want to remind all of travelers, please don't leave your iPad, iPhone in your car when you travel to LA. Most hotels or restaurants are all valet parking.

Room Tip: High floor and not facing to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear justteresa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us! We appreciate your comments so that we know how we can further improve our service and products to our guests. We hope to have that opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLOGNE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

There is no slipper in the room,there was machine to make coffe but the secound day they did'nt put coffee pad and tea bag in the room!!!!
The location is calm and far away from everything,food are very expensive in the Hotel but the personel are very kind and helpful

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MonaM,

We apologize for failing to refresh your guestroom. Our Housekeeping director has been informed of this discrepancy, and will ensure that our staff is properly re-trained. We are happy to hear you were still able to enjoy your visit, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Without my asking, housekeeping independently left me a small tube of toothpaste when they apparently deduced correctly that my skimpy toothpaste sample envelope wouldn’t last. Now that’s attention to detail! I loved walking into the lobby and smelling the exquisite fresh flowers. Staff were uniformly pleasant and on top of it. Although I had to ask the front desk if the boxes I’d sent ahead had arrived, they located them all and delivered them to my room promptly. Immaculate rooms, pretty quiet, too.

The hotel’s central location puts Downtown at your fingertips. There is a wonderful group of shops just off the 2nd floor, including an amazingly well-stocked convenience store with good, fresh sandwiches (I enjoyed the turkey/pesto/cranberry wrap in a garlic tortilla), a Starbuck’s (there is also a mini Starbucks in the hotel on the 3rd floor), and some good restaurants, notably Mixt Greens, which features wonderful, huge salads and sandwiches. These restaurants mostly close in the late afternoon, however, but I enjoyed a lovely late bite and glass of wine at the Omni’s Noe bar where the piano man was very good and the vibe was relaxed and welcoming, even to a lone female traveler.

My coworker, a conservative diner, was delighted when we located a Subway just a block or so away and I was delighted that it was right in the bottom of the architectural gem that is the Bradbury Building.

I didn’t bring my laptop and was bummed that the business center computers in the lobby cost $7 for 15 minutes. However, they let you print your boarding pass for free, which was nice.

They have a free car service that will drive you within a 2 mile radius. You call the friendly driver to pick you up. You have to have time to do this, however, because he serves the whole hotel. Still, a really wonderful service.

Walking around Downtown I stumbled across an amazing macaron display at Bottega Louie, a really pretty restaurant at 700 South Grand Avenue – very New York! I didn’t have time to stop for a meal, although the food looked fantastic. I will definitely make time for lunch at Louie’s next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms facing East get blasted with LA's strong morning sun, which penetrates the tiniest crack i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear TravelandShoes,

How delightful to see that you were able to discover some of the little gems that Downtown has to offer. We are so happy to hear that your stay had exceeded your expectations, and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel
Omni Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.