We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scarlet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Save Saved
You added Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scarlet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

There is no slipper in the room,there was machine to make coffe but the secound day they did'nt put coffee pad and tea bag in the room!!!!
The location is calm and far away from everything,food are very expensive in the Hotel but the personel are very kind and helpful

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MonaM,

We apologize for failing to refresh your guestroom. Our Housekeeping director has been informed of this discrepancy, and will ensure that our staff is properly re-trained. We are happy to hear you were still able to enjoy your visit, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,233
    601
    112
    27
    14
See reviews for
394
588
138
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Without my asking, housekeeping independently left me a small tube of toothpaste when they apparently deduced correctly that my skimpy toothpaste sample envelope wouldn’t last. Now that’s attention to detail! I loved walking into the lobby and smelling the exquisite fresh flowers. Staff were uniformly pleasant and on top of it. Although I had to ask the front desk if the boxes I’d sent ahead had arrived, they located them all and delivered them to my room promptly. Immaculate rooms, pretty quiet, too.

The hotel’s central location puts Downtown at your fingertips. There is a wonderful group of shops just off the 2nd floor, including an amazingly well-stocked convenience store with good, fresh sandwiches (I enjoyed the turkey/pesto/cranberry wrap in a garlic tortilla), a Starbuck’s (there is also a mini Starbucks in the hotel on the 3rd floor), and some good restaurants, notably Mixt Greens, which features wonderful, huge salads and sandwiches. These restaurants mostly close in the late afternoon, however, but I enjoyed a lovely late bite and glass of wine at the Omni’s Noe bar where the piano man was very good and the vibe was relaxed and welcoming, even to a lone female traveler.

My coworker, a conservative diner, was delighted when we located a Subway just a block or so away and I was delighted that it was right in the bottom of the architectural gem that is the Bradbury Building.

I didn’t bring my laptop and was bummed that the business center computers in the lobby cost $7 for 15 minutes. However, they let you print your boarding pass for free, which was nice.

They have a free car service that will drive you within a 2 mile radius. You call the friendly driver to pick you up. You have to have time to do this, however, because he serves the whole hotel. Still, a really wonderful service.

Walking around Downtown I stumbled across an amazing macaron display at Bottega Louie, a really pretty restaurant at 700 South Grand Avenue – very New York! I didn’t have time to stop for a meal, although the food looked fantastic. I will definitely make time for lunch at Louie’s next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms facing East get blasted with LA's strong morning sun, which penetrates the tiniest crack i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear TravelandShoes,

How delightful to see that you were able to discover some of the little gems that Downtown has to offer. We are so happy to hear that your stay had exceeded your expectations, and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at a beautiful hotel with incredible service. From the minute we arrived on Saturday to the minute we checked out, the staff of the hotel gave 150% to make our visit a very positive experience. What a great centrally located hotel to stay in on a weekend get-away.

Room Tip: The club floor (17) is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Roz68,

Thank you for your comments! The staff will be ecstatic to hear that they could make such a big difference in your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really nice hotel, and you will pay for it. If you need to stay in this area it is the best place to stay. Not many choices to eat except the hotel restaurant. Small coffee shop with limited items. California Pizza Kitchen and Subway nearby. Staff really nice, and helpful, just a bit more than I would like to pay for a room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Nighthawks-55,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel has two wonderful restaurants, but if you are in search of other dining options, our complimentary town car service is more than happy to take you anywhere within a three-mile radius of our hotel. Our concierge team is also a helpful resource to find other dining establishments in the area for you. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Omni is my favorite place to stay in Los Angeles. We started staying there when my daughter went to USC. It is quite luxurious. While my daughter has moved away, we still think about the great times we had there. Terrific amenties, great beds and thick sheets. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. When we started staying there, rooms were much more affordable. Now that the Omni has become more established and popular, room prices have gone up considerably.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Tom C,

We are honored to have been called "your home" while you visited your daughter at USC. We hope you will remember Omni Hotels the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

On our recent trip to LA we hadn't a clue where to stay, so after reading a bunch of Tripadvisor reviews settled on the Omni. From the get-go the customer service was wonderful. Everyone was extremely courteous, and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. We stopped at their wonderful plaza area restaurant with fire pits for a late night snack. Very beautiful/romantic.

In the wee hours, unfortunately we were plagued with an obnoxious young adult talking very loudly outside of our room. When just mentioning it in passing, even though it was well beyond the responsibility of the hotel, they were very concerned and let me know that they were very apologetic.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are 3 doors together - perhaps a hallway room would be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are so delighted that you chose to stay with us, and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

An unusually comfortable and friendly city hotel even when staying on one's own. Great value. Concierge particularly helpful when asking about activities and organising tours. Breakfast good value with good supply of gluten free options. Well situated for music and theatre. Would definitely visit again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Edwina B,

We are happy to hear we could exceed your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.