We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When did Motel 6 Surpass the Sheraton?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #123 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“When did Motel 6 Surpass the Sheraton?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

OK, I'm being rude to Motel 6's, but we all know the Motel 6 experience. Well, the Sheraton in L.A. was about the same. It started with our room not being ready because the people who were in our room didn't check out when they were supposed to (even allowing for their Platinum status they overstayed their time). So we were given another room, but we weren't given an equivalent room. We were downgraded. Several floors lower, by an elevator (literally it was next door) and no view. We originally had a great view of the downtown, away from the elevator and high hopes for the experience. But the experience (or poor experience) didn't end there. The room was overall filthy. It was cleaned, but there was a run-down quality to the room and years of filth which were never cleaned (It was a bit scary to see how dark with grime the bathroom door was). To top it off, when we were asked about our stay, and my wife started to say it wasn't a very clean room, the hotel rep immediately ignored her comments, cut her off and changed the subject. To thank us, she charged the room, handed the card back to my wife saying it was declined, then insisted on another card which she ran. In the end, the card was never declined so for our terrible experience, we payed twice. Thanks Hotel Sheraton! From now on, the Hilton hotels get all our business. They were awesome and overly helpful on our other stops in L.A. on the same trip.

Room Tip: Don't book here. Its not worth it. There are better hotels, including a Motel 6 you can stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I apologize for the difficulties you experienced during your recent stay. Despite our best efforts to plan for your arrival, it is clear we missed the mark. In addition and while I trust we remedied the double billing, I am sorry it occurred as it is not typical. I will certainly take your feedback and look for ways to improve going forward. In the meantime, you have my sincere apology and hope that you may visit us again in the future. If I can be of further service, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Remain well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    347
    246
    105
    65
See reviews for
141
185
83
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Been staying at this hotel for five years for bisiness and service is exceptional. From front desk staff, Maricor, Linda, Victor and valet Luis, Maria and Jorge. Club room and rooms are clean. Good restaurants all around and my business contacts nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for the shout out to so many of our associates. We truly stand behind the service we provide and are pleased to read that your experience was exceptional. We look forward to your return in the near future. Until then, travel safe. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton twice, at the beginning and end of a tour of the western states.
The room on our first night was very good, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, a king size bed, with pillow service, and an ironing board and iron. The room was on the 7th floor. We arrived too late to make use of the locality around the hotel, but the staff were very helpful.
Our friends who dropped us off, parked their car and were given a free pass to leave the car park.
Our second stay was not so good. Our room was on the 23rd floor. The room 2323 was tired, with stained carpets and the bathroom needed some repair work. However, we were at the end of the corridor and had twin aspect windows with extensive views over the rooftops of LA.
As our stays were short, we did not make use of the hotel's facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for noting within your title, that our location is perfect for anyone staying within the downtown area. We are looking forward to our upcoming guestroom transformation and in the meantime, remain committed to providing ecellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Until then, remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning and end of a tour. The first night our room was fresh and looked newly renovated. When we returned for two nights we got another room that was really tired, including a large crack in the hand basin.
That is the end of the negatives though! After reading some reviews we were worried about the hotel, however we found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Our excess luggage was held for the week while we were on our tour, advice was freely available on transport and nearby shopping. Breakfast was good and wifi was fast even if it was only free in the lobby.
The rooms were older and the second tired, however they were really clean and the beds and pillows the most comfortable in our 6 weeks travels.
Having a Macy's and a post office joined to the hotel and a Starbucks in the lobby was really convenient too! We walked around the nearby streets during the day and felt quite safe. The hotel was opposite a metro station too!
In all a great reasonably priced hotel!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing with fellow TripAdvisor fans all that the hotel and location have to offer. Our upcoming transformation will clearly address the brief concerns you had on your second visit while our great service will remain in place throughout. Thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Location is perfect. Lots of restaurants, shops and drugstores nearby. Hertz in the lobby. Car essential if one wants to get out of downtown. Lobby confused (different levels). Employees indifferent. Talking a lot between themselves ignoring guests.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for pointing out that our location is key and in the heart of downtown Los Angeles. It is nice to read that you found it easy to get around and access all that we have to offer. That said, I apologize that our associates did not provide you with the warm welcome that we are known for; it is not typical. As for the lobby location, this will be addressed during our 2014 rejuvenation and will definitely improve upon the feel. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Stay well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olalla, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I recently attended a professional Medical Conference held at this hotel and felt welcomed and appropriately cared for. The conference facilities were very good; comfortable seating, adequate sound, catered lunches and dinners during the conference were tasty and nicely presented.
The hotel staff were outstanding and to be commended, from the servers and housekeepers to the receptionists and concierge. Without exception I found the staff to be kind, professional and generally helpful.
The rooms were comfortable and clean although lacked what I would consider a fairly standard provision of a mini fridge and microwave. They did provide for a quality complimentary cup of coffee or tea (self made in room) to get our day going. (for which I am grateful!)
The public transportation options were easily accessed for local exploration and adventures. There were nearby eateries that were quite good. However on Sunday it seems that nearly everything in the neighborhood was closed! Including the hotel café...which would have been good to know ahead of time in order to plan appropriately.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and sharing with fellow TripAdvisor fans that The Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown is a great place to stay. Whether you are here to play or work, our associates understand what great service is all about and our location is second to none. I apologize about the offerings on Sunday and will certainly use the feedback to improve upon what we can provide as well as how we communicate. That said, I am glad that your overall experience was very good and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Remain well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for a biz trip in Sept 13. Great, great staff, friendly (Leonard was particularly gracious and kind) It's a chain, of course but does have a little bit of charm, lobby due for a renovation, but rooms are nice, comfortable. Best part, it's location in downtown, attached to a mini-mall (Macys*) and walking distance to lots of stuff; restaurants, (Sugar Fish, great sushi), bars, starbucks, etc. And when do get to walk to anything in LA, that was refreshing and never knew there was so much downtown, aside from LA Live.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for the "shout out" to Leonard as it is our associates that set us apart. We will begin rejuvenating the property in early 2014 and are confident that the changes will truly improve the guest experience. In the meantime, we are centrally located, provide exceptional service and have all the charm of a downtown hotel, as you referenced. We appreciate your loyalty and wish you continued safe travels. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#58 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#153 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#32 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.