We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #122 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton twice, at the beginning and end of a tour of the western states.
The room on our first night was very good, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, a king size bed, with pillow service, and an ironing board and iron. The room was on the 7th floor. We arrived too late to make use of the locality around the hotel, but the staff were very helpful.
Our friends who dropped us off, parked their car and were given a free pass to leave the car park.
Our second stay was not so good. Our room was on the 23rd floor. The room 2323 was tired, with stained carpets and the bathroom needed some repair work. However, we were at the end of the corridor and had twin aspect windows with extensive views over the rooftops of LA.
As our stays were short, we did not make use of the hotel's facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for noting within your title, that our location is perfect for anyone staying within the downtown area. We are looking forward to our upcoming guestroom transformation and in the meantime, remain committed to providing ecellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Until then, remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    284
    216
    81
    49
See reviews for
118
159
76
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning and end of a tour. The first night our room was fresh and looked newly renovated. When we returned for two nights we got another room that was really tired, including a large crack in the hand basin.
That is the end of the negatives though! After reading some reviews we were worried about the hotel, however we found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Our excess luggage was held for the week while we were on our tour, advice was freely available on transport and nearby shopping. Breakfast was good and wifi was fast even if it was only free in the lobby.
The rooms were older and the second tired, however they were really clean and the beds and pillows the most comfortable in our 6 weeks travels.
Having a Macy's and a post office joined to the hotel and a Starbucks in the lobby was really convenient too! We walked around the nearby streets during the day and felt quite safe. The hotel was opposite a metro station too!
In all a great reasonably priced hotel!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing with fellow TripAdvisor fans all that the hotel and location have to offer. Our upcoming transformation will clearly address the brief concerns you had on your second visit while our great service will remain in place throughout. Thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect. Lots of restaurants, shops and drugstores nearby. Hertz in the lobby. Car essential if one wants to get out of downtown. Lobby confused (different levels). Employees indifferent. Talking a lot between themselves ignoring guests.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for pointing out that our location is key and in the heart of downtown Los Angeles. It is nice to read that you found it easy to get around and access all that we have to offer. That said, I apologize that our associates did not provide you with the warm welcome that we are known for; it is not typical. As for the lobby location, this will be addressed during our 2014 rejuvenation and will definitely improve upon the feel. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Stay well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olalla, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I recently attended a professional Medical Conference held at this hotel and felt welcomed and appropriately cared for. The conference facilities were very good; comfortable seating, adequate sound, catered lunches and dinners during the conference were tasty and nicely presented.
The hotel staff were outstanding and to be commended, from the servers and housekeepers to the receptionists and concierge. Without exception I found the staff to be kind, professional and generally helpful.
The rooms were comfortable and clean although lacked what I would consider a fairly standard provision of a mini fridge and microwave. They did provide for a quality complimentary cup of coffee or tea (self made in room) to get our day going. (for which I am grateful!)
The public transportation options were easily accessed for local exploration and adventures. There were nearby eateries that were quite good. However on Sunday it seems that nearly everything in the neighborhood was closed! Including the hotel café...which would have been good to know ahead of time in order to plan appropriately.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and sharing with fellow TripAdvisor fans that The Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown is a great place to stay. Whether you are here to play or work, our associates understand what great service is all about and our location is second to none. I apologize about the offerings on Sunday and will certainly use the feedback to improve upon what we can provide as well as how we communicate. That said, I am glad that your overall experience was very good and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Remain well, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for a biz trip in Sept 13. Great, great staff, friendly (Leonard was particularly gracious and kind) It's a chain, of course but does have a little bit of charm, lobby due for a renovation, but rooms are nice, comfortable. Best part, it's location in downtown, attached to a mini-mall (Macys*) and walking distance to lots of stuff; restaurants, (Sugar Fish, great sushi), bars, starbucks, etc. And when do get to walk to anything in LA, that was refreshing and never knew there was so much downtown, aside from LA Live.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for the "shout out" to Leonard as it is our associates that set us apart. We will begin rejuvenating the property in early 2014 and are confident that the changes will truly improve the guest experience. In the meantime, we are centrally located, provide exceptional service and have all the charm of a downtown hotel, as you referenced. We appreciate your loyalty and wish you continued safe travels. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We´ve stayed in the hotel at the club level for 10 nights in August and we´ve enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is well located in downtown LA as far as public transport is concerned. Despite the hotel is a bit old, the room looked nice and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful to assist us in finding the best places in LA to visit. The fitness gym at the top of the building is well equipped and have a nice view of LA. Unfortunately, pets are allowed in this hotel and the club lounge is too small, being crowded everyday for the breakfast. In addition, we´re not able to have Wi-Fi in the room, but we´ve used the free Wi-Fi at the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the club level on top of the building are bigger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments as it relates to our service staff and location. Our associates really do set us apart and are the reason that guests continue to enjoy their experience. As you referenced, we are due for a rejuvenation which will begin in early 2014. This will impact the areas you touched upon and truly improve on the guest experience. In the meantime, we appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Travel safe. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel mainly because its right next to a metro station, a shopping center, and a post office, all of which caters to my needs. However, despite that, this Hotel and the service that it gives to its customers is utterly disappointing

Check in: We check in at around 10pm after our train arrived. Everything is fine and dandy and we were up to our room in less than 10 mins. Since I was a SPG member, we were given the 20th floor which is good as high floor was requested. Lifts do not take that long to come.

Room: Room was adequate and the bathroom was big but had only 1 set of amenities for 1 person. It was a double bed yet there was only 1 bath towel etc....

Housekeeping: Towels from the night before were left behind for no reason given, apparently they may have forgotten to clear it or refuse to clear. We did not use the green card however. Furthermore, They knock on our room thinking we had check out which we didn't.

Guest Service: We requested for extra complimentary water but was refused saying the maximum we were allowed to take was only 2 bottles of water per day. That shocked me as I have never heard or seen this before in any hotels I stayed in and the last Sheraton I stayed in a day ago, Sheraton Seattle. I was adequately provided with ample amounts of water when requested

Concierge: Many things went wrong with this concierge during my stay. Firstly, I asked for public transport directions to the Premium Outlets and was given directions for a 1 hr bus ride plus a 26 min walk from google maps. Apparently, the concierge staff has never went to the Metro website for something called a trip planner. Which i did after finding out i had to walk 26mins after taking a 1hr bus ride and guess what? There was a direct bus there and just 2 blocks from the hotel which stops right outside the outlets.. And another option that should be given was the free shuttle bus from Union station, but no, he didn't suggest that too.

Furthermore, when we ask for directions to Disneyland, he starts selling his tours and not giving other suggestions like public transport which we may wanted instead of a easy way by paying for the tour. And emphasizes that if we would want to take a cab, it would be 100 bucks. But did he not know that there is actually another way to get there without having to take a cab? I guess not.

The only good thing about this Sheraton is that it can be found everywhere in all Sheraton Hotels. The Answer is the Bed and the link@sheraton. And not forgetting the excellent location. This basically is the only 3 redeeming features that this hotel can offer. I may be an SPG member, but after this experience, I'm staying at the Hilton next time.

Room Tip: High Floor and rooms right at the end provide more views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am sincerely sorry that we missed the mark during your recent visit. It is not typical nor is the idea that we were not succesful in providing service recovery during your visit. That said, I appreciate your kind comments regarding the value of The Sheraton brand and all that it offers. The Link@Sheraton, our Sweet Sleeper bed and valued SPG rewards program are certainly offerings that set us apart. In the end, we value your feedback and we will certainly grow from it. Should you be willing to consider an opportunity for us to recover, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Until then, remain well and travel safe. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.