We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't understand all the positive reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #121 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Torrance, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Don't understand all the positive reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Bottom line is this hotel is strictly average -- I can't figure out how people have been so impressed with this place. The rooms are nothing special and in severe need of renovation, as there were lots of scuff marks on walls and furniture, which as others have mentioned, is completely outdated. Plus our coffee maker was broken. And in response to a previous review, yes, the suites are right next to the elevators, which sound like roller coasters flying by. Not sure if the front desk person gave it to us as passive-aggressive retribution. Which leads me to the lengthy time it took to check in (20-30 minutes) and the overall lack of friendliness of front desk staff. I don't think I've seen such unhappy staff at another hotel, which is saying a lot. So where are all these fabulous staff other reviewers are talking about?? Luckily we were only staying one night and paid a discounted rate. If we had to stay longer and pay the regular rate, we definitely would have changed hotels. The only good thing we found was the Brasserie, where staff was very accommodating and helpful, considering we arrived just before closing and had no problem allowing my husband to order lunch instead of breakfast (plus the sandwich was really good!). The only way I'd ever stay at this hotel again is if the price is right, it's for one night, and we get a room away from the elevators!

Room Tip: Stay away from the "suites" next to the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am sorry that we missed the mark during your recent stay. As you noted, we typically do better providing a welcoming experience for our guests and I am sorry that was not your experience. That said, I am glad to read that the restaurant exceeded your expectations. We will certainly take your comments forward as we look to improve. In the meantime, we hope to welcome you back again soon. Travel safe...Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    346
    246
    104
    64
See reviews for
141
184
83
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for the second time, both times for professional conferences (with a great rate!). The hotel is clean, comfortable, and nicely set up for conference activity.

Bed and bed linens are nice. Love having Starbucks coffee and Tazo teas in the room. Love free wi fi (no, not everyone is offering it these days). Love free bottled water (again, not free everywhere!). Bathroom is very small, but functional and clean.

Staff is all very accommodating and friendly. Best of all is the location and proximity to shopping, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. Rooms facing the office building next door are more afforda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts with fellow TripAdvisor fans. There is no doubt that our location is centralized and very convenient to all that the downtown area has to offer. This combined with our associates make for the great guest experience you described. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Stay connected....Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay here for the last week and overall the experience was great! Lynda at the front desk did a great job taking care of us and made our anniversary stay exceptional. Also, kudos to the valet team as our car was always ready quickly when needed. The room was also large and always clean. My only gripe was that we did not have a fridge in our room but we made due. Thanks again to the team there as they did a great job!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review and shout out to both Lynda and our valet team. We greatly appreciate the feedback as well and assure you that as a part of our transformation, all of our guestrooms will have energy efficient refrigerators. In the meantime, please know that they are available upon request and as inventory provides. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and wish you continued safe travels. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Earth to the front desk...having a Platinum member wait in the express line to check in for 20 minutes is unacceptable. When busy, call a manager out to help. No suite upgrade offered, when I asked they said the suites are next to the elevators and will keep light sleepers up all night.
We had just stayed on club level at the Ritz Carlton, so imagine our surprise to see the Sheraton club level. There were not even waters in the refrigerator during the afternoon. The evening hors d oeuvres were, well, basic to say the least, as was the continental breakfast. Quite frankly, a Hampton Inn has more choices.
The room was comfortable, bedding fine. $28 self parking. Tip to guests, you can park at any of the lots around the hotel for far less. We paid $5 for the day across the street and left our car overnight on the street.
I booked through my corporate rate and plan to tell our corporate travel that there's probably better places to place employees in downtown LA.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am terribly sorry that we missed the mark on a number of levels and assure you that your experience was not typical. While it will matter little for your past stay, please know that we are undergoing a complete transformation. This will include the Club Lounge that will be relocated to our spectacular 26th floor with city views that are second to none. In addition and before long, all elevators will be modernized and guestrooms will be rejuvenated. Again, I apologize for your recent stay, but hope you will try us again in the near future. The Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown is well positioned to deliver on the experience you've come to expect...Sincerely, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location in downtown ,Ricardo on the front desk was amazing.we had the breakfst at the hotel and it was delicious,the room was clean and with a great view. We don't have any problems with the elevators.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for the shout out regarding Ricardo and your arrival experience. We greatly appreciate you sharing your favorable guest experience with fellow TripAdvisors fan and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Stay connected....Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The parking is very confusing! The people that work at the front desk were very snobby. Dont even bother going if you arent a woman/man of high class. They only cater to the people who look of higher class. We got treated horribly by the people at the front desk ! Not to mention it is very confusing! Self parking was expensive and confusing! Finding a way to get into the hotel after you parked was horrible. We ended up going through the mall with our luggage. Dont even bother going. Would never stay their again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am terribly sorry for your recent guest experience. While parking garages can be a little challenging in general, I am sorry that ours created such an issue. In addition and while I believe we missed the mark greeting you upon your arrival, I will share your comments with the team. Thank you for providing us with the feedback from which we can improve. Travel safe, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a great week staying at this hotel!

The staff was helpful at all times helping us with directions and tips about the city, very kind.

We had the breakfast at the hotel every morning and it was delicious, also had tried room service several times and they were awesome!

The room was very clean and the maintenance perfect despite being and old property everthing looks neat!

The view and the locations is just perfect, just across the street you find several restaurants and stores. The subway is also located there!!

I will definitely go back to Los Angeles to stay there!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you, thank you! You certainly highlighted every special attribute we own and/or offer. From the perfect location to our amazing associates; it was great to read that we got it right on all accounts. Thank you for sharing with your fellow TripAdvisor fans and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Travel safe and stay connected. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#54 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#156 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#33 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.