We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #115 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
1 review
“Horrible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The parking is very confusing! The people that work at the front desk were very snobby. Dont even bother going if you arent a woman/man of high class. They only cater to the people who look of higher class. We got treated horribly by the people at the front desk ! Not to mention it is very confusing! Self parking was expensive and confusing! Finding a way to get into the hotel after you parked was horrible. We ended up going through the mall with our luggage. Dont even bother going. Would never stay their again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am terribly sorry for your recent guest experience. While parking garages can be a little challenging in general, I am sorry that ours created such an issue. In addition and while I believe we missed the mark greeting you upon your arrival, I will share your comments with the team. Thank you for providing us with the feedback from which we can improve. Travel safe, Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    275
    207
    78
    45
See reviews for
109
155
76
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a great week staying at this hotel!

The staff was helpful at all times helping us with directions and tips about the city, very kind.

We had the breakfast at the hotel every morning and it was delicious, also had tried room service several times and they were awesome!

The room was very clean and the maintenance perfect despite being and old property everthing looks neat!

The view and the locations is just perfect, just across the street you find several restaurants and stores. The subway is also located there!!

I will definitely go back to Los Angeles to stay there!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you, thank you! You certainly highlighted every special attribute we own and/or offer. From the perfect location to our amazing associates; it was great to read that we got it right on all accounts. Thank you for sharing with your fellow TripAdvisor fans and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Travel safe and stay connected. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I'd like to give thanks for the excellent service given by Mrs. Maria Linares, room service (cleaning, etc.) She did her job in joy and was very happy to be of service to us. I hope Mrs. Linares gets this message. On the other hand, the Front Desk people need to know what they are doing. Had to ask the Front Desk Manager to clear up an inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the shut out to Maria; I promise we will celebrate internally. It is great to read that our associates go the extra step and accept that there are ocassions we miss the mark. On that note, we will most certainly take your feedback and review with the team. In the meantime, thank you for your kind comment as we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Stay connected. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stay at the Sheraton all over the place and we were extremely disappointed with this hotel. The internet and food is extremely expensive and not good (slow internet, cold food). The television selection is not good at all. We ordered a movie and it came in fuzzy the entire time. The maid barely even made our bed. We left towels on the floor and they were not taken or replaced. Our garbage was left in the hallway outside of our door. The view was really horrible. We asked for an upgrade because we were on our honeymoon but all we were given was a preferred guest room - which we already should have gotten as I have a preferred guest account.

The girls at the front desk were mostly nice but did not give good information and always seemed to want to rush us away.

It was really disappointing. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is very close to the subway and to many restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
On behalf of the hotel, I am sorry we seemingly missed the marked during your recent visit. The location is second to none and the hotel's rejuvenation will place it as best in the market as well as make it a Flagship property for The Sheraton brand. I offer that you contact me directly to discuss further and work towards resolution. In the meantime, thank you for writing and we hope to welcome you back soon. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The only thing about this hotel that makes it four-star is that is has a lot of pricey add-ons that aren't necessarily worth the cost. You'll pay $28 for self-park, which is disconnected from the hotel and you'll have to pull your luggage through a shopping mall. You'll also pay another $12 for Internet service in which the signal strength was almost nonexistent in my room. Make sure you ask for a room with strong strength at registration, though it should be a given that ALL rooms have a strong signal. I had to be moved from one room to another because of this. The remote control on the TVs in two rooms did not work without almost getting up next to it to change the channel. Even worse, it took four phone calls to the front desk to get a "technician" to come to the room.

The front of the hotel needs some "curb appeal." It appears outdated and a bit unkempt. The same thing can be said for the room interiors -- a bit outdated. This hotel should be a solid three-star, but certainly not a four. The hotel staff excuses almost all of these shortcomings by continually talking about an upcoming renovation. An upcoming renovation doesn't serve current customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I am truly sorry that you felt the charges for parking and internet were above what you anticipated or would have expected. While we are priced competitively, we understand that it does not ease the burden of the expense. That said, our associates are our ambassadors and typically do better in service recovery when an issue is identified. In the end, our transformation will secure consistency in many of the concerns you touched upon. We hope you will return in the future to experience the property fully rejuvenated. Until the, travel safe and stay conned. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jounieh, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Usually when they say Sheraton, we start of dreaming about something huge and classy. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case concerning the Sheraton of Los Angeles (Downtown). The rooms are clean but the interior is very poor for a Sheraton and very very old fashioned. The service was fine and very formal. We didn't have any view of the city from our room (just an old ugly building infront of us). Anyway, the good thing of that hotel is the location. It's located in the center of the Downtown and it's close to everything (shops, markets, restaurants...). Personally, I don't think I'll come back as we tried other hotels in Los Angeles (with less stars) and they were excellent and more enjoyable.

Room Tip: High floors might have a better view of the city (I guess). If it's your first visit to L.A., yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
I apologize for the disappointment, but assure you that following our transformation we will excced your expectations. The hotel's location is second to none and our associates truly enjoy exceeding guest expectations. We are confident that while you were a bit suprised and again, I apologize for any disappointment, you will be thrilled in the future. I hope you will give us the opportunity to surprise and delight you on a future visit. Until then, travel safe and stay connected. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We chose this hotel for our LA visit. Being a long time platinum and life time gold member of SPG, I didn't even check the reviews of the hotel before booking it. Nothing went well - an absolute disaster. We arrived at the hotel after driving 300 miles from Las Vegas and there was no one at the entrance to help us with out luggage or car - not a single doorman or a porter. We went down to the reception to check in - the lady on the SPG counter was on the phone and ignored us for 15 mins! We eventually moved to the long queue of other guests to be served. The person serving us was quite keen to get us out of his hair - mostly answering in affirmative to all our queries and requests - the suite is a quite one - yes; will you send the porter to collect our luggage - yes; do we drive our SUV down to the parking ourselves - yes;
Wrong on all counts once we left the reception. It turns out we can't really drive the car down the ramp to the parking due to height limitations - we managed with some help - but barely. There was no porter there....valet folks had to help us...and the room was next to the elevator and hence made thunderstorm and lightening sounds all day and all night.
The next day we called the concierge to book the tours to Hollywood and were given confirmation of the booking - asked to pick up the tickets before 1300 hrs. When we reached at 1245 hrs - he had made the wrong bookings and instead of making any apologies told us - we could always take the next one in a couple of hours time......
The entire hotel is creaking and clearly aging - not very graciously. The quality of the suits were very bare - no bar fridge to begin with and bare bone furnishings. Bathroom was a disaster with taps and fittings all loose.

The worst Sheraton stay ever - with a really bad attitude.

Room Tip: Take a room as far away from the elevators as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
I am deeply sorry for your recent experience and wish we could have done more to make it right while you were here. After reading your review, it appears we struggled to get it right and you have my most sincere apology. While we will undergo a transformation, it did little to benefit you during your recent stay. That said, it will add value and benefit in the near future and to that end, I hope to have the opportunity to regain your loyalty. In the meantime and as a valued guest, I would offer that you contact me directly so we may discuss further. Thank you for sharing your experience as it from your feedback that we gain the opportunity to learn and improve. Remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.