We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat customer for 5+ years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #130 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Repeat customer for 5+ years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This review is for business travel. I have been staying at the Sheraton in DTLA for 5+ years. I believe it was previously a Hyatt and rebranded a Sheraton 7+ years ago.

This is a small hotel especially compared to the Westin Bonaventure three blocks up the street, which is huge. If you are not looking for a giant hotel and want to walk around in DTLA, this is a better choice than the Bonaventure. At the Westin you have to walk several blocks. The reasons why are because there is a Rite Aid, a Walgreens, a huge variety of restaurants and several bars directly around the corner from this hotel and they are not very overpriced. In addition, the Sheraton is located in Macy's Plaza, which is not really a great mall but it has a Macy's (obviously), a small food court which really caters to the offices in the building for lunch, and easy parking. The self parking is really amusing because you have to go up a spiral for about 5 floors. And, though the LA metro is not anywhere as extensive than other cities, the 7th street Metro is across the street, so you can get to Hollywood, Universal City/Studios, or some of the beach cities easily from this locaiton.

The staff here are extremely friendly, probably because I come here nearly every week. Victor and Ann definitely make sure that guests are happy. The concierge and bellhop staff is great, I leave a bag here every week, they are really nice to me even though I can't remember names half the time, and nothing has ever been stolen, though they "temporarily" misplaced it, mostly because I lost the ticket for it (it's a small bag).

I have stayed in all range of rooms in this hotel and they are always spacious, clean and consistent. All rooms have a coffee maker. I'm not a huge fan of the A/C here because it only seems to go on hot and cold dial as opposed to a thermostat, but it works and I've never had problems with it. There is a Starbucks and a convenience store in the hotel but its not really needed as Rite Aid is open until very late (3am?)

My only beef with this hotel, which I think is temporary, are the elevators. For the last 5 years, these have been the most amazing elevators I have ever encountered. I push a button, they arrive, and they transport me to 23rd floor in seconds! It was great! But in the last 6 months, I believe the hotel has been taking one or two elevators out of commission for routine inspections and it made the wait a pain. In addition the gym can only be accessed by half the elevators, so this involved situations where I had to either wait for the right elevator, or go down to the first floor and find the right one.

This hotel has a club lounge which has breakfast and evening drinks. Drinks cost money but they have nice desserts and some hot food. This hotel previously had an agreement with LA Fitness for a gym in Macy's plaza, but has recently built their own gym at the top floor which used to be a restaurant called Polaris. The gym is small but has great views and I prefer this because LA fitness closed at 10. The other side of this restaurant from what I hear is currently being rebuilt to be the new Club Lounge, though I have yet to see this.

In short, I choose this hotel when I work in downtown for the convenience (walking distance to shops, restaurants, and work), for the amenities (club lounge and gym) and because the great staff here is always really friendly and remember me. If you are going to be visiting LA for business, this is one of my faves. But as a longtime LA resident, if you are coming to LA for fun, choose a hotel not in downtown - you can stay in a hotel in Hollywood or Santa Monica and take the metro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    286
    219
    93
    55
See reviews for
119
161
78
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I wouldn't have chosen this hotel if not for our tour's early meeting place and time here but I was pleasantly surprised. Lobby is elegant and rooms are big enough though they look a bit old. Wifi is only free at the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Pleased that we impressed! Thanks for staying with us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed as part of a tour of the west coast, the location is superb for buses or metro. They also provide good advice on tours. Plenty of shops, food outlets and pubs. Good value. Tip is to get some drinks in from the local supermarkets. It took no more than 30 mins in rush hour. Very
Near staples centre and wished we caught a game there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stay at this hotel due to its location and incredibly friendly staff. This hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from Staples Center and other downtown attractions. The rooms are a nice size, but as other reviewers have noted are in need of some renovation. The gym is new and has a nice view. The club room also looks nice, but has not opened yet. Hopefully these renovations are the start to something more. By the way, the hotel does offer WiFi.

The hotel has valet service and offers dining at the restaurant / bar near the lobby. I stay at this hotel quite often. The entire staff has been incredibly nice and helpful with each and every one of my stays. They will do their best to cater to all of your needs. If you need assistance with anything while staying at the hotel anyone should be able to assist, but most of my dealings have been with Lynda and Maricor in the mornings or Carmen in the early afternoons. Thanks to the entire staff for making my stays enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and know that your positive feedback has been shared with the team. We are confident that your other concerns will be addressed in the soon to be announced major renovation of the property and we look forward to sharing these plans with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I didn't pay for my stay in this hotel (was put up here for the LA Times Book Festival), so I probably shouldn't complain, but this is really a pretty depressing property. First the good: the fitness center has first-rate equipment and a great view. Wifi (which you have to pay for) worked great in my room. There was a functional coffee maker. Otherwise, there really isn't much to recommend this place. The location is a bit odd- connected to a very downscale mall. There was no valet at work either of the times we tried to park. There is no breakfast included. And the whole property is just old and worn out. I've seen more luxurious rooms in Comfort Inns. Not even the hospitality room for Sheraton honors members was up to usual Sheraton standards. I don't know the other options in the area, but this would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and apologies that we did not meet your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Alternative to the pricier and nicer Marriott and others that are closer to LA Live and Convention area. Air conditioning was lousy in the rooms, even at coldest blowiest setting, confirmed with two other fellow travelers that stayed for same four days reporting similarly stale warm rooms. Keep your curtains closed or you return to an oven and windows don't open. Generally clean, good in-room coffee. Convenient mall access. Recommend for biz travel on a budget. Wireless in room was hardly worth the thirteen bucks. Anemic, slow.

Room Tip: Avoid the corners, too much glass to heat the room and a/c won't keep up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is tired and is in serious need of a face lift, pretty much all around. Carpets in the rooms are old and god knows what's been 'fermenting' in there. Rooms lack basic amenities, such as a safe or a minibar. WiFi only really works in the lobby. And lastly, be aware of the hordes of homeless people that are hanging out in front of the adjacent shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dnaiel, thank your for your review and for taking the time to share your thoughts. Sorry that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.