We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #121 of 340 Hotels in Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Nicer than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't have chosen this hotel if not for our tour's early meeting place and time here but I was pleasantly surprised. Lobby is elegant and rooms are big enough though they look a bit old. Wifi is only free at the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Pleased that we impressed! Thanks for staying with us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    340
    242
    101
    63
See reviews for
139
182
82
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed as part of a tour of the west coast, the location is superb for buses or metro. They also provide good advice on tours. Plenty of shops, food outlets and pubs. Good value. Tip is to get some drinks in from the local supermarkets. It took no more than 30 mins in rush hour. Very
Near staples centre and wished we caught a game there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stay at this hotel due to its location and incredibly friendly staff. This hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from Staples Center and other downtown attractions. The rooms are a nice size, but as other reviewers have noted are in need of some renovation. The gym is new and has a nice view. The club room also looks nice, but has not opened yet. Hopefully these renovations are the start to something more. By the way, the hotel does offer WiFi.

The hotel has valet service and offers dining at the restaurant / bar near the lobby. I stay at this hotel quite often. The entire staff has been incredibly nice and helpful with each and every one of my stays. They will do their best to cater to all of your needs. If you need assistance with anything while staying at the hotel anyone should be able to assist, but most of my dealings have been with Lynda and Maricor in the mornings or Carmen in the early afternoons. Thanks to the entire staff for making my stays enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and know that your positive feedback has been shared with the team. We are confident that your other concerns will be addressed in the soon to be announced major renovation of the property and we look forward to sharing these plans with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I didn't pay for my stay in this hotel (was put up here for the LA Times Book Festival), so I probably shouldn't complain, but this is really a pretty depressing property. First the good: the fitness center has first-rate equipment and a great view. Wifi (which you have to pay for) worked great in my room. There was a functional coffee maker. Otherwise, there really isn't much to recommend this place. The location is a bit odd- connected to a very downscale mall. There was no valet at work either of the times we tried to park. There is no breakfast included. And the whole property is just old and worn out. I've seen more luxurious rooms in Comfort Inns. Not even the hospitality room for Sheraton honors members was up to usual Sheraton standards. I don't know the other options in the area, but this would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and apologies that we did not meet your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Alternative to the pricier and nicer Marriott and others that are closer to LA Live and Convention area. Air conditioning was lousy in the rooms, even at coldest blowiest setting, confirmed with two other fellow travelers that stayed for same four days reporting similarly stale warm rooms. Keep your curtains closed or you return to an oven and windows don't open. Generally clean, good in-room coffee. Convenient mall access. Recommend for biz travel on a budget. Wireless in room was hardly worth the thirteen bucks. Anemic, slow.

Room Tip: Avoid the corners, too much glass to heat the room and a/c won't keep up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is tired and is in serious need of a face lift, pretty much all around. Carpets in the rooms are old and god knows what's been 'fermenting' in there. Rooms lack basic amenities, such as a safe or a minibar. WiFi only really works in the lobby. And lastly, be aware of the hordes of homeless people that are hanging out in front of the adjacent shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dnaiel, thank your for your review and for taking the time to share your thoughts. Sorry that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel is fine. AOK. Nothing great.
Needs sprucing up and facelift.
I generally stay in much nicer hotels than this, but was booked here for the LA Times Book Festival (April 2013).

It's right near a Metro stop that connects to all lines. :)

If you HAVE to stay downtown, this hotel is OK.
It's clean enough, updated enough. Does't "wow" a guest at all.
Attached to Macy's plaza, which is a rather sad shopping center.

Late check-out not available.

We went to the Corner Bakery for breakfast nearly every morning.

No mini bar, no pool.

Beds and pillows were comfy and we slept well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for the comments. We appreciate the time taken to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 340 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.