We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #122 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here for one night recently to attend a conference the next morning. I wasn't as excited about the hotel, as it is your average, standard, business hotel. However, I was surprised with the level of service and hospitality shown by the employees. One employee, in particular, went above and beyond the level of service I expected. His name is Gustavo Gomez, who works at the front desk. His cheeriness definitely brightened my day, as I was already not excited about having to attend a conference over the weekend! He was very knowledgeable in all things Sheraton and made immediate recommendations for whatever I wanted or needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Great feedback on service and hospitality. Your comments have been shared with Gustavo and the Team. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    284
    216
    82
    49
See reviews for
118
159
76
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent a total of 4 nights at this large hotel and firstly the staff were excellent - reception staff were so helpful - top marks.

We had a room on the 7th floor - superb room - but right next to the lifts and it was so noisy - try to avoid any room next to the lift shafts!!

Everything was spotlessly clean - so thats a big plus too....

The bar was good, prices OK, food OK, service pretty good, nice altmosphere.
The on site brasserie was expensive so we didn't eat there - twice we went round the corner to eat at a rather nice 'build you own burger' restaurant - it was excellent (called Counters I think) - highly recommend this place - also we ate once at a little French brassiere a short walk away had outside on the street seating which was very good - food was lovely. Not too pricey.

The hotel needs a pool really - shame it didn't have one - the position is right in the middle of the financila district so there was little to see very close by but very good metro and bus links to everywhere....

So other than the position of our room itself the hotel was pretty good.

Room Tip: Avoid anything near the lift shafts.... (our room ended in '08')
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and compliments. LA Live is only a couple of blocks away and a major locale for entertainment, restaurants and the Grammy Museum. We are also close to Olivera Street, the historical core of LA, the fashion mart, flower district and Central Market - a cultural hub. Maybe for next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a hard time finding a room because of the many spring conferences in LA. I ended up at the Sheraton. I was pleasantly surprised. It clearly is a mega hotel that caters to conventions.My room was spacious and very clean. I suspect it had been updated recently. Nice bar atmosphere.

The staff were very helpful. I had boxes delivered that were bigger than I had expected. The shipping dept helped me get them from my room to a taxi. Would def consider staying here again.

The adjoining mall is a bit of a disappointment, but I did squeeze in some shopping :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Great to read your stay was a success and that the Team supported your needs. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is old and can use a refurbishment. Lifts take forever to come and valet parking is a rip off.Breakfast is not bad though with friendly staff. It is clean and pretty basic for a Sheraton outlet. Location is central and with nice restaurants nearby. Staff are not so receptive of guest's request and would rather stick to the book.

Room Tip: Non-smoking and not to high as lifts take a while to arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your thoughts and sorry that we failed to impress. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great room rate for downtown LA. The Sheraton is right in the Financial District, and is less than a mile from the Fashion District. Right across the street from the Metro station, and about a 15 minute drive 9without traffic, of course) from LAX. The rooms are standard but very nicely appointed, well planned, clean and comfortable. The Brasserie restaurant in the hotel is basic but nice, and the lounge is great, too. Helpful staff, safe area, easy to access. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We appreciate your support and strong endorsement. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is a great location for Staples Center-easy to walk to-and safe to walk. As Starwood Gold Status members we were upgraded to suite with a huge living room. Good customer service, however only 2 people doing check in so line was a bit long to check in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I will definitely stay at the JW Marriott next time. I didn't have a terrible stay but like most reviewers have said, it's loud, dated and the elevators are slow. I thought it would be a little closer to LA Live but it's a 10 minute walk, not bad but not pretty after dark. The valet was very rude! When my companion called to get the car ready they instructed us to head to the front desk for a voucher, he told valet we already had that, still told to go to the front desk. Waste of fifteen minutes of my life. Once to my car, valet watched me load my vehicle. Needless to say the service didn't wow me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments about challenges with the Valet Parking service. We will follow up and apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#122 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.