We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #121 of 336 Hotels in Los Angeles
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a hard time finding a room because of the many spring conferences in LA. I ended up at the Sheraton. I was pleasantly surprised. It clearly is a mega hotel that caters to conventions.My room was spacious and very clean. I suspect it had been updated recently. Nice bar atmosphere.

The staff were very helpful. I had boxes delivered that were bigger than I had expected. The shipping dept helped me get them from my room to a taxi. Would def consider staying here again.

The adjoining mall is a bit of a disappointment, but I did squeeze in some shopping :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Great to read your stay was a success and that the Team supported your needs. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    314
    230
    96
    58
See reviews for
129
164
80
399
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is old and can use a refurbishment. Lifts take forever to come and valet parking is a rip off.Breakfast is not bad though with friendly staff. It is clean and pretty basic for a Sheraton outlet. Location is central and with nice restaurants nearby. Staff are not so receptive of guest's request and would rather stick to the book.

Room Tip: Non-smoking and not to high as lifts take a while to arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your thoughts and sorry that we failed to impress. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great room rate for downtown LA. The Sheraton is right in the Financial District, and is less than a mile from the Fashion District. Right across the street from the Metro station, and about a 15 minute drive 9without traffic, of course) from LAX. The rooms are standard but very nicely appointed, well planned, clean and comfortable. The Brasserie restaurant in the hotel is basic but nice, and the lounge is great, too. Helpful staff, safe area, easy to access. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We appreciate your support and strong endorsement. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is a great location for Staples Center-easy to walk to-and safe to walk. As Starwood Gold Status members we were upgraded to suite with a huge living room. Good customer service, however only 2 people doing check in so line was a bit long to check in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I will definitely stay at the JW Marriott next time. I didn't have a terrible stay but like most reviewers have said, it's loud, dated and the elevators are slow. I thought it would be a little closer to LA Live but it's a 10 minute walk, not bad but not pretty after dark. The valet was very rude! When my companion called to get the car ready they instructed us to head to the front desk for a voucher, he told valet we already had that, still told to go to the front desk. Waste of fifteen minutes of my life. Once to my car, valet watched me load my vehicle. Needless to say the service didn't wow me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments about challenges with the Valet Parking service. We will follow up and apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Room was small and dated. Overall hotel,was not very nice. Felt more like a Holiday Inn or lower brand that I would not stay at on biz trip. Attached mall was pretty run down with clientele that seemed to be loitering more than shopping. Overall neighborhood not that great so I will stay at JW or Ritz nearby in future.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Sorry to disappoint on this visit. We are sure that the soon to be announced extensive renovation of the hotel and adjacent mall will address many of your concerns....thanks for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stay was Apr-4-6, on business at University of Southern California. Reception at entry was slow, once in the hotel, desk service was the BEST (Gustavo Gomez) - could not be better. Bar was awful - glasses not appropriate to drinks (not a martini or margarita glass in view or served and drinks WATERED-DOWN. Room was OK but (1) sun-screen peeling off windows, (2) sliding-glass doors of closet jammed), (3) curtains difficult to open or close. Basement auto pick-up excellent - courteous & prompt service. Check-out prompt & courtesous (again, Gustavo Gomez). Gustavo should be running the hotel!!! .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback on Gustavo and our team in Valet Parking, but sorry for the other issues you mentioned. We always appreciate constructive criticism, too. Trust we will be able to regain your confidence again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 336 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.