We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Sheraton brand” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #126 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
N. California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Not up to Sheraton brand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Room was small and dated. Overall hotel,was not very nice. Felt more like a Holiday Inn or lower brand that I would not stay at on biz trip. Attached mall was pretty run down with clientele that seemed to be loitering more than shopping. Overall neighborhood not that great so I will stay at JW or Ritz nearby in future.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Sorry to disappoint on this visit. We are sure that the soon to be announced extensive renovation of the hotel and adjacent mall will address many of your concerns....thanks for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    285
    216
    87
    52
See reviews for
118
160
77
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stay was Apr-4-6, on business at University of Southern California. Reception at entry was slow, once in the hotel, desk service was the BEST (Gustavo Gomez) - could not be better. Bar was awful - glasses not appropriate to drinks (not a martini or margarita glass in view or served and drinks WATERED-DOWN. Room was OK but (1) sun-screen peeling off windows, (2) sliding-glass doors of closet jammed), (3) curtains difficult to open or close. Basement auto pick-up excellent - courteous & prompt service. Check-out prompt & courtesous (again, Gustavo Gomez). Gustavo should be running the hotel!!! .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback on Gustavo and our team in Valet Parking, but sorry for the other issues you mentioned. We always appreciate constructive criticism, too. Trust we will be able to regain your confidence again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel is attached to a small mall with a Macy's, Carl's Jr. and a couple of other mom/pop breakfast/lunch fast food places. The hotel was across the street from the subway, which was easy to navigate out to Hollywood (about 15 minutes). It also seemed to be in a relatively safe, neighborhood. There was also a Qdoba across the street next to the subway entrance. The room was spacious and quiet for the most part. I had a room that had a connecting door to another room and unfortunately - there was no soundproofing at all between the two rooms, a fact that was unfortunately quite noticeable at 2 in the morning when the neighbors arrived back at their room. The elevators are awfully slow. There are signs posted saying they are working on them, but it seems like this is an ongoing issue from other posts. I did not eat in the hotel as there were locations nearby. It is about a 15 minute walk from LA Live and the Staples Center, and there were several restaurants over there. It was about a $6 cab ride to that area, which is also next to the convention center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We appreciate your business and the time taken to post your feedback. We look forward to the next time (elevators are now fixed!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Booked this hotel through Hotwire secret deal. And we were not disappointed.
The hotel is so central to public transport and both grocery shops and corner stores. I've stayed in Downtown LA before and this is a much better hotel for location.

The room was quite good and large with a king bed. Very comfortable sleep for the three nights we stayed. We asked for a room with a fridge when checking on and we had a small one delivered to the room about 15mins after checking in.

We also arrived from a 15 hour international flight at about 9am and we were happily checked in early. For this we were very grateful.

Ralph's supermarket is on 9th street, 2 blocks from the hotel and between Hope And Flower St.

The metro is very easy to use. The TAP card is only $1 and you can quickly to up each day. Buy the $5 day pass if you will be using the metro multiple times on any given day. We also used bus 460 from Flower St to go to Disneyland which took about 2 hours each way.

I would highly recommend the Sheraton Downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end if the hallway. Ours was quite a large room and had great corner windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that your visit was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for the night for business and had tickets to Lakers game. Great location and also connected to the mall which was nice. Spent time in the lobby bar and the bartender must of woke up on the wrong side of the bed because had bit of an attitude. Elevators were out so long waits but not as bad as LA traffic lol. I would of gave it four stars but it really needs some customer service training.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for the comments and our aplologies for the poor attitude on display in the Lounge. It will be addressed! Our elevator challenges have also now been corrected and we regret the inconvenience. We trust we can win back your confidence another time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville,fl
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Well, what else can you expect from a downtown hotel?! Arrived to the hotel around 11pm after a long day of traveling. Waiting to check in took a very long time since there were only two clerks at the desk. No bell service to assist with luggage. I'm assuming they had gone home for the night. Not quite the warm welcome you would expect after being up since 6 am. The lobby is accessed via escalators from the main entrance. Confusing at first since there are no signs indicating that but then again maybe I was just too exhausted to notice.

Rooms are decent. Somewhat muggy when I first entered. Only two settings on the thermostat...warm and cool. Was set all the way to cool but didn't seem to make a difference.
Nice toiletries. Seem to be products specifically for the Sheraton. No refrigerator, but there are the basics: coffee maker, iron and blow dryer. Beds are comfortable and the complimentary bottled water in the room is nice.

There is a Starbucks in the lobby as well as some restaurants which I didn't dine at since there are so many restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Internet is way slow in the room. Service kept switching back and forth from 3G to 4G. Even the computers in the main lobby were somewhat slow.

Location is great. The metro station is across the street. Various restaurants nearby. Convention center about a 15 minute brisk walk. The hotel itself is attached to a mall which is very dated but nonetheless is a mall.

Overall a great hotel to stay at for the location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and our apologies for the less than warm welcome on arrival and for the chalenges with internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stopped here as a hotel that is close to USC for a college visit. College was about 10 minutes away by car. Check in was quick and easy. We did self park, so got the parking ticket from check in and ran out to drive up area and my husband drove into the parking garage attached to hotel. What a crazy ride! It goes in deep turns until you reach about the 4th level. Dizzy for myself and son as the passengers, but my husband is a race car driver, so he loved every turn! The room itself was clean. Beds were comfortable. We went out for a bite to eat and found many bums in the area outside of the hotel. We did a quick pretzel stop and went back to our room to eat. We didn't feel safe to stay out any longer than necessary. There is a mall right in the hotel plaza, but they closed by the time we got checked in and went downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We acknowledge the transient population is in evidence, as in most major cities today, and regret any discomfort caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.