We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated, depending on cost might not be the best value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #128 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Squamish, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little dated, depending on cost might not be the best value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I just returned from the LA marathon, having stayed at the Sheraton Downtown because it was one of the hotels secured for the marathon. The rate that was given was definitely not the posted rate, because of that I would consider the hotel a reasonable value for cost. I particularly liked the fact that the parking was not ridiculously expensive. The charge was 12 per night extra. I had stayed at the Westin Bonaventure in September and they were charging around 30 per night. The front staff was pleasant. The rooms were clean, however, somewhat dated. The HAV was located above the beds which was a little odd. The fear that something would fall on your head(which would not happen for real) made it not so comfortable. The rooms were clean and fresh but the small details were off. The outlets were all from the 1970's. They had yellowed with time and the HAV control seemed to come from the same era. The bathroom was normal in size, tub was the old ceramiccoated steel, tiles were relatively new. Fixtures were of a standard grade. Overall the room was very comfortable, but nothing that would warrant anything memorable. I would stay there again if the price was good but otherwise might try something else new to see what is available in the downtown area. There seems to be a lot of small hotels spread all over that might be worth a try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We will soon be announcing plans for a significant renovation which will certaily address your concerns. We look forward to showcasing the upgrades on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    289
    220
    94
    55
See reviews for
120
162
80
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Cons:

- Extremely long check-in and check-out
- No black tea in the room- Called concierge, no one answered my call, called guest services and he kept transferring me to concierge. Took almost 3 hours to get the tea, and they sent the wrong one!
- No water in the vending machine- 9th floor
- Rudely awakened by the maids in the morning (around 8.00AM)- they were cleaning the room across from us and talking really loud.
- The girl working at Starbucks was rude.
- The elevators took FOREVER

Pros:

- Location- close to almost everything.


I have stayed at hotels that have charged less or about the same amount and the quality of the hotel and customer service was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Well, sorry that we failed to impress. I see that you stayed during the LA Marathon weekend and recognize the challenges with the delayed check-in. We will follow up on your other concerns and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights Feb-March great service , Regency club great, staff very helpful and obliging .was a little away from main attractions as located in the buisness area, but found public transport easy to use visiting Santa monica pier down town LA Hollywood Venus Beach

Room Tip: not really sure here we had prefered guest accomadation was very good, certainly no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Well, Max, we used to be a Hyatt many years ago, but whatever you call us we are pleased that you came to stay and enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We frequently stay at this hotel which is located within a Macy's shopping center at Hope and 8th. There is a train station across the street. You can walk to Staples Center. It is always busy, but the rooms are quiet. We love the split level suite on the 23rd and 24th floors. You have to climb a spiral staircase to the bedroom, but the view is great and so much space! The SPG club lounge on the 23rd floor is friendly and comfy. We enjoyed spinach empanadas, fruit, cheese and vegetable sticks on a recent visit. In the morning, there is coffee, fruit and breakfast pastries. The large lobby bar has happy hour specials and stays open late. There is a business center within the lobby for email access. People with vertigo may want to use the valet and avoid a circular ramp that goes up to the 4th level parking garage. Parking fees are high, as in any urban city in the US.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger, but the south side gets hot from the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty. Know that the great views can also now be enjoyed from our 26th floor Sheraton Fitness gym! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have to laugh when I read all these negative reviews. What the hell were they expecting? Go ahead and compare to a hotel that charges double and then be disappointed when your towels aren't starched flat ironed. I've been here three times and had a good experience. Ann at the front desk has always been there - friendly and helpful. The rooms offer a typical hotel experience; comfortable bed and functional furniture. Not a silly lavish place; just good simple means adequate for a non-pretentious guest. If you're that caught up in "style" then go somewhere else so the rest of us can enjoy a modest hotel with solid performance record. I'll book here every time because it's in a great location, has good accommodations and meets my non-pretentious needs. Thank you Ann for being there and making me feel like a returning friend.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the elevator shaft if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for your strong vote of confidence! Your compliments have been shared with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Large rectangular skyscraper in the midst of many such skyscrapers. Large rectangular rooms, with all you need for a 4 day business trip. Look out of the windows (I was on the 16th floor), and you see many similar skyscrapers.
OK for a business trip, definitely not one for a family holiday.
Very fast Wi-Fi, helpful staff. No complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Well, maybe not ocean front vacation! Trust you found time to visit some of the many local attractions and took advantage of our central location. Thanks for staying with us. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here as it was a good location for a convention. There were elevator problems. When we went into our room, we had a dirty towel folded in the bathroom, there was a qtip under the bed. Clearly housekeeping didn't attend to details. This continued through the stay, with bare minimum being done. Received misinformation from the desk. I read previous reviews about the rooms being old and outdated and thought that would be okay. They really are old. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Sorry we failed on some of the basics, which have been shared with the team for follow up. We appreciate your interest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.