We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest Sheraton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #124 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver
1 review
“Good honest Sheraton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was a pretty average Sheraton, get what you expect is what I say. Rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was a Sheraton breakfast, nothing more nothing less. I enjoyed my stay in downtown L.A. and I will be back if I need to be in L.A. again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Pleased that your stay was a good one....we can now also promote our new 26th floor Sheraton Fitness for the ultimate workout. Honestly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    346
    246
    105
    65
See reviews for
141
185
83
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I went for a conference, so paid the rack rate. Therefore interpret my review in that light.
1. The location is excellent, a pleasant walk to the convention center and all major downtown attractions.
2. The decor is ordinary, the lobby, bar and front desk are a little depressing.
3. The club level is excellent value for money. The lounge is open all hours with coffee and soda, newspapers, internet access, continental breakfast and evening snacks.
4. The service is ordinary. The staff is not well versed in American ways.
5. Bar service and food is ordinary.
6. One day, the breakfast in the lounge was late by 2 hours, no explanation...lot of businessmen went to work that hungry that morning.
7. Elevators are SLOW, the front desk inefficient: polite but ineffective.
8. The wardrobe door was broken..seemed a longstanding problem.

On the whole, the hotel is a regular Sheraton. It would be good if you get a good rate, have more than 1 person with you and get the lounge. But for the rack rate it is not good value. Most of all, the service lacks quality or refinement.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Appreciate the constructive comments and regret not having "wowed" you in our customary fashion! We will follow up on your feedback and work hard to regain your confidence next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Service was good, room was good. Sadly only double beds available no queens, bad with more than 2 people.
Internet did not work at all, really bad, AT&T service could not help either. Parking fees are painfully high, but you can come and go and park in downtown LA. The Sheraton is located in a shopping/office complex containing a Macy's. Lots of restaurants in walking distance. Traffic annoying at rush hour time. Otherwise good value.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for a Laker game, which was about 4-5 blocks and a easy walk. they gym was being worked on, so had to go to Gold's Gym which is only a block or so away. starbucks, banks, and restaurants are very close by. Parking very expensive but if you self park, and buy something at Macy's you can get 3 hours validated, which ended up saving me $20 because I stayed 26 hours, and that 3 hours bumped my parking to less than a day. Clean, quiet room. would stay here again.

Room Tip: high floor had less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Come back soon....the Sheraton Fitness is now completed for your enjoyment - on the 26th floor and with spectacular views....Go Lakers! (and Clippers and Kings!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I arrived before check-in time, and wasn't able to get into a room, as the hotel was full. I had to leave for a business meeting, so I ended up changing into a suit in the lobby bathroom, and leaving my luggage at the bell desk. When I was able to check in, my room was quiet, clean, and comfortable, with a nice view of downtown Los Angeles. The location was very convenient to restaurants and shopping, as well as to the Convention Center and Staples Center. The staff were helpful and courteous.

The only major negative I experienced was the long wait for the elevator. My room was on the 17th floor, and every time I needed the elevator there was at least a 2-3 minute wait.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for your commments and apologies for the elevator challenges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My son, his fiance and I stayed here last week for five nights while my son attended a conference being held in the hotel. We had no problems or issues with the hotel. I don't get the other reviews that say the rooms are old and dated. We were on the 15th floor and the room was spacious and modern.Our hot water was plentiful and we had total control of the air conditioner. Towels, washcloths and coffee replenished daily.
It's close to many attractions including LA Live, the LA Public Library, and we even walked to the Disney Concert Hall. The AAA walking tour starts at the Library which is very close to the Sheraton. And also ladies, if you love to shop for jewelry this hotel is just a few steps down the street from about 5,000 jewelry stores in the famous jewelry district, which happens to be the largest in our country and the second largest in the world! Have fun, I did!
I can't say much about the people who work here as we didn't need to ask them anything. It's also across the street from a main Metro stop so if you aren't intimidated by riding a big city Metro you can jump on and go about anywhere in the city, but you might have to transfer to a city bus, but it's very easy to do especially if you have a smart phone that can give you times and bus numbers.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

On the plus side, reasonably priced hotel, the beds are comfortable and the location is really good, especially for a conference or visit to LA Live.
That is where the good points end. I will try and be constructive. The rooms are very dated and a/c is terrible. Staying in the hotter months would be torture. The windows don't open at all either, which makes the rooms claustrophobic. The alarm calls for the close by rooms are incredibly loud, so they woke me up, every morning. There are no safety deposit boxes, mini bar or fridges in the room either.
If you need to contact reception, or an individual who works at the hotel, forget it. We tried for over a week before our arrival, either nobody answered the phone, or emails were left unanswered. Very, very poor service prior to our arrival. Nothing we had asked for in conjuction with our group was organised when we arrived.
Overall, very disappointing for a Sheraton.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for your comments and I am sorry that your experience was not as we would have liked. Happy, though, that you enjoyed our location close to LA Live and the Convention Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#57 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#155 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#33 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.