We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Old Building, Ancient A/C & Heat System, Lousy Internet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #115 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Santa Maria, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“VERY Old Building, Ancient A/C & Heat System, Lousy Internet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I'm stuck for three nights at one of the lousiest Sheraton's I've EVER stayed at. I've traveled on business for over 20 years and for a downtown LA hotel, this property is very lacking. The "AC and heat" are merely a lever that goes from HOT to COLD, and the AC is an ON or OFF switch. It's about 75 degrees in this room and there is NO way to get it cooler. The windows are sealed shut-even the little ones that only open 3 inches are bolted shut (for security they say). Front desk and "engineering" both are very apologetic that ALL rooms are this way, even the suites, and that it is "a very old building" as the only explanation. The $12.95 per day internet is less than 3mpbs download and less than 2 mpbs upload (VERY SLOW!) There is NO towel rack in the bathroom except the metal one inside the shower curtain holding all towels. This room is rather ghetto/low-class room for what is usually a good brand. This is not a very Merry Xmas here! We're wishing we'd just gone to the Westin or back to the Omni.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Sorry not to have met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    277
    206
    78
    45
See reviews for
108
154
76
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is a nice spot to stay if you have business in downtown LA. Its close to the Staples Centre, the downtown offices and banks, and not too far from cityhall. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated in neutral tones. Its attached to rather dull mall, so no need to make time for shopping! Beds are super comfortable, washroom/shower is large and all the regular amenities are there. There was not much hot water when we showered, so be prepared for this. All-in-all, its a nice hotel for business needs. Free wi-fi in the lobby is convenient as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Sheraton LA Downtown is an excellent, full-service, mid-scale hotel located mid-way between the heart of downtown and the Convention Center. It adjoins the Macy's shopping center, which is a sad affair in desperate need of soap and water.

My room was larger, more upscale and more attractive than the upgraded room I stayed in at the brand new Westin Grand Central in New York. I have stayed at many Sheratons and this hotel is among the very best of the brand. The bed was super comfortable; the decor was upmarket, if not luxurious; the room was well lit enabling me to work without eye strain; everything worked; and there was only minimal outside noise audible in the room. The hotel is across the street from the subway and within walking distance of the convention center.

During the 80s and 90s I stayed at the old Sheraton Grande 25+ times and I mourned its conversion to a Marriott. Because someone once said this hotel was a "less than" replacement for the Grande, I have avoided it for over 10 years. While the hotel isn't a candidate for Starwood's Luxury Collection, it is an outstanding Sheraton property and I regret waiting so long to give it a try.

I will return!

Room Tip: As in any big city, go for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments! I am pleased you were happy and that we can plan to welcome you back...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel wifi is virtually non existent in the room, my wifi hot spot barely works in the room, and the ethernet cord for wired access is not accessible from the desk. All of which makes its difficult to work from the room.

There was no room service menu in the room, and the Wall Street Journl was not available from Room Service.

I have to think the majority of the Hotel's traffic would be business travelers, but they don't seem tuned into to making it easy to work on business at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Appreciate the constructive criticism....we will address the ethernet cable concern by verifying each room and the WSJ has now been made available through room service! Sorry for the inconvenience but we trust we will be ablet o win you back very soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hotel was as expected for an early 80's building - very confusing lobby layout which must have been the rage during the times. Rooms are standard issue but the bedding is quite comfortable. Hotel lobby bar is dreary yet still demands higher prices. Fitness/Gym facilities are top notch as they give you a pass to the LA Fitness in the adjoining mall - this is a huge improvement over most 'hotel gyms' you can actually get in a complete workout. Ann at the front counter made the stay very pleasant and provided above the rim service. This is not the Ritz but for the savings it's an easy 12 min walk to LA Live.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I will preface this by saying that I am used to staying in Joie De Vivres, Ritz Carltons, and boutique hotels, so perhaps I have been spoiled. However, even based on comparable Hyatt and Marriott rooms I have stayed in, I'll say this Sheraton is really dreary. Our room was $340/nt, so I was expecting a certain level of service and quality. Other hotels that are much nicer have similarly priced rooms in the area. Even the Ritz was only $20-40 more than The Sheraton, and The Standard was less. The Sheraton's newly renovated rooms are in serious need of a renovation. The rooms are dark with orange-based taupes and dark wood furniture which lend to a somewhat depressing ambiance. The bathrooms are also horribly outdated, and the wallpaper made us a little dizzy. I will say, however, that the water pressure in the shower was hands down, the best water pressure I have ever had in a hotel. So good job on that, Sheraton! The bed was also very squeaky, so I woke up a few times when I moved. Probably depends on what room you are in.
The Sheraton also claims to be a business hotel, but none of my devices were able to pick up wifi in our room (macbook pro, ipad, iPhone, and roommate's PC laptop), so I had to plug in. I know, first world problems, but in a business hotel, I expect fast wifi to be available where promised, and to both room occupants at the same time. They removed the charge for internet from our room, which was appreciated.
The breakfast was pretty standard. Good, consistent food, attentive service, and pleasant staff in the restaurant. Front desk staff could use a little help. For instance, when we asked that they remove the charge for the internet, they asked if we called AT&T about the hotel's wifi connection. I'm not sure why a hotel guest should have to call the hotel's service provider to clear up the problem, that's not usually our job. I even overheard another guest complain of the same problem when we were checking in, so the problem was brought to the attention of the hotel staff even before we brought it up. It wasn't a rude interaction, it just made my travel companion and I say as we were leaving, "Seriously?" Just kind of incompetent.
I feel this hotel is overpriced. If you are in town for business, stay at the JW, The Ritz, or a smaller boutique hotel in the area (check hotel tonight). If you're in town for fun, don't stay downtown, go to Hollywood or Beverly Hills, for cryin' out loud!
This hotel is conveniently located, but there are lots of other places to stay that I would say are probably better. Do your research, and don't be fooled by the nice pictures on The Sheraton's website, definitely looks different in person.

Room Tip: I don't know, ask for a high floor maybe? You could always take the safe route and choose a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_LA_Downtown, General Manager at Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your comprehensive review and we acknowledge that the rate was towards the higher end of the scale. You were in town when availability was limited due to a convention, maybe? There are many fine places to stay, in BH and Hollywood, but for the Lakers, Clippers or a show at Staples Center, we offer great convenience. Your comments have been shared with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is an older property but the location in central LA is perfect for activities in the area. Overall neighborhood is on the edge of the rough sections, but the access to metro, downtown businesses and the mall located in the complex make this an acceptable location to stay. The staff is extremely nice and helpful, and the rooms are clean and beds comfy. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 711 South Hope Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the downtown financial district, the Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel is an inviting retreat from your hectic lifestyle. Over 40,000 square feet of transformed flexible event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.