We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and clean in downtown LA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Luxe City Center Hotel to your Saves list
Luxe City Center Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Classy and clean in downtown LA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Having been to LA four times for work, I'd always booked too late to get accommodation near LA Live and the Convention Centre, instead having to stay around Hollywood and then make the trek downtown. This year I didn't make the same mistake, and got in early to reserve a place at this hotel.

Across the road from LA Live and a short 5 minute walk from the convention centre, it's PERFECTLY located for people in town for a conference or event. The hotel itself is clean, but understandably pricy for the event (E3). Staff were pleasant and helpful, and organised a relaxing ride back to LAX when we checked out. The bar is also quite nice, hanging over the street, and is a pleasant place to have a cheeky drink before bed. The restaurant is top class but pricy.

The room was as expected -- big, clean bed with comfy pillows. However, the bathroom had zero ventilation, which made it tough to have a shower. Also, the iron and ironing mat were both broken: the iron leaked water, while the ironing mat couldn't stay upright. But apart from that, the room was nice.

Highly recommended for anyone hoping to be close to LA Live, Staple Center and the convention center.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    168
    68
    22
    19
See reviews for
80
121
35
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN FRANCISCO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed at the Lux for 5 days in rm 927 during Hotel Technology convention a few blocks away.

First off - this hotel isn't much cheaper than major hotels around the area, so don't try to save a few bucks by ruining your stay...

Pro's:
- clean room, location, convenient and quick parking

Con's:
- Slow Wi-Fi, intermittent and weak signal.

- Lots of inconveniences! : 2 light stands by the bed weren't working as they simply didn't have enough outlets to be plugged in, NOT enough outlets in the rooms. It's one of the easiest things to provide to your guests, and i have to run hunt for them and charge my phone in the bathroom!

- HAIR DRYER has very very short cord where you have to be right next to the wall outlet in order to dry your hair

- Sink smells like paint/caulk which made me inhale the fumes each morning while brushing teeth... i didn't want to move to another room as we already unpacked everything.

- Slippers that they provide stick to the floor and make loud noises - a minor thing, but annoying, room had 2 connecting doors on each of the walls - beware, one of the nights i got waken up by a dog barking in next door room.

- VERY LOUD AC conditioner!

Lots of Controlling and Enforcing Policy/Policies with a Capital P. The hotel DOESN"T CARE about the guest, but cares about their anti-guest POLICIES:

- "Can i borrow the cart to unload my car?" - NO, only bellman can help you with that. "I don't want Bellman's help, i can take care of the cart myself" - NO you can't borrow the cart without Bellman. (My next day stop was Marriott Courtyard, and they were happy to let me borrow the cart with or without Bellman... ). Who do you think i will stay with now? Lux that CONTROLS me, or Courtyard who lets me do what I WANT?

And... to add to this, when we carried our bags by ourselves, the bellman was staring and laughing at us.

- "Can i leave my car here till 5pm after check-out?" - NO, you have to pay extra. "But i checked in at 7pm, so it wasn't 24 hours". "NO, parking runs out when you check out from hotel". Thank you - i stayed in your hotel for 5 nights, and you want to nickel and dime me to leave my car for a few extra hours?

- "Do you happen to have a Microwave where i can warm up my food"? NO - we don't, ask in the morning maybe they do

- We got a ride from the friend, and parked near the door, when the Latino looking parking valet associate approached and asked how long will you park. We said " a couple of minutes and that we're staying here", he Rudely replied "couple of minutes for what!?" Only after we showed him our key card he left us alone. Very rude and made us feel unwelcome.

Do not stay here, this place isn't even that much cheaper than better hotels, but you'll end up with saving your good mood and have a positive experience than dealing with this below average "boutique hotel".

Room Tip: Pay a bit more elsewhere and don't ruin your experience by staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff was super-friendly and helpful. The property was clean and just a few blocks from the Metro and some good restaurants and shopping at a wide range of price points. I loved having the bowls of green apples around, too, for a light snack. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Some of the hotel views from the windows look out on other buildings. If you light a "big city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for a few days while on a business trip. If you're a huge sports fan from NBA to WNBA to hockey fan then this is a place to be. Everything is walking distance as gas as finding places to eat or even the movie theatre nearby. The room is very spacey and clean.

Two thumbs up for room service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My company put me up at the Luxe for a conference I was attending at the Marriott at LA Live.They didn't want to pay the Marriott rates. At first I was disappointed they would not put me up at the hotel where my conference was but in the end I am so glad I stayed at the Luxe! I was there for 4 nights. The Luxe is modern and hip and feels like a "boutique" hotel. The rooms are well-appointed and spacious with nice amenities, including robes and slippers --although no tub. Complimentary water and apples at front desk and a very friendly and attentive staff (especially the valets! They were so nice and helpful with advice on where to eat and cheerful each morning- when my older mother drove all the way from the OC to pick me up in Friday traffic, they brought her a bottle of water and chatted with her while they loaded my bags and I checked out). It is SO close to LA Live but slightly out of the chaos which was nice. I would recommend staying there versus the Marriott, much more mellow and fun. My only issue was that they must have cleaned the bathroom fixtures with something harsh because the skin on my fingers was quite irritated after I used the sink or shower. I took to turning them on and off with a washcloth and the reaction subsided.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above bar terrace facing Staples Center- music from bar is loud and thumping. When a gam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I recently spent 5 nights at the Luxe. We had a large group staying at the JW Marriott and Ritz Carlton, and the Luxe was used as an overflow hotel. This worked out nice as the three hotels are all in a one block radius (with the addition of the two new Marriotts across the street from the JW the options will increase even more in the near future).

The hotel is definitely old - you can't disguise the bones of narrower hallways, the outside look, the smaller sleeping rooms and some of the other features of an older hotel. However, they have done an excellent job of renovating the hotel and updating the decor within the rooms including the bathroom. Although my room did not have a tub, it had a very nice shower. The bed was quite comfortable and I enjoyed the pop artwork - mine was a large painting of Wayne Gretzky, but I was told from someone else they had Madonna.

The only downside is that the hotel has no self-parking and you must use valet. At this writing it was $44 a night (the JW was $42). There is some overnight street parking around the corner but on week days the meters start early in the morning. You can also find a few parking lots in the general area that offer overnight parking - I saw one for $25 a night across from the JW on Olympic. Most of the parking lots do not offer overnight parking.

The proximity to the Staples Center, Convention Center, Nokia Theater, Lucky Strike bowling and all the restaurants at LA Live is wonderful. It feels fairly safe to walk around and there is a lot of energy. I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Smaller hotel located in the LA live district. Walking distance from the Staples Center. Hotel is very clean and secure. The parking rate is crazy but from what I have read its common in the LA area. I made the mistake of renting a car, best to use a Taxi or other service. Definitely would stay again to catch a Lakers or Clipper game.

Room Tip: Had a room facing LA Live. Did not have any issues with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxe City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe City Center Hotel

Address: 1020 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe City Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the rush of the city and enjoy the relaxed comfort of Downtown L.A.'S newest boutique hotel. Our swanky urban oasis provides travelers the ideal locale for work and play, and is a refreshing recent addition to the Downtown hotel scene. The Luxe City Center Hotel is perfectly positioned steps from STAPLES Center and Nokia Theatre at L.A. LIVE, and justa few blocks from Downtown's Business District. Our 178 guestrooms, including 16 suites, are among the most spacious in the City, blending smart refined decor with a residential feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Luxe City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe City Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.