We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe City Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Luxe City Center Hotel to your Saves list
Luxe City Center Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20 DOLLAR TREAT
Ranked #19 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Long Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, and the service was very good. We stayed here a night because my husband's band was playing a show around the corner, but it was very nice, bottles of water and toilettes were given on arrival, and the showers were AWESOME. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    129
    54
    19
    15
See reviews for
58
85
27
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My preferred hotels are boutiques and I stayed at the luxe over the jw thinking I would get a high end boutique. It was not high end nor charming. While it has been updated and the new furniture is decent it lacks any charm or ambiance of a kimpton or andaz. The 2 nd floor bar is nice and a good place to have a drink but the rooms are smallish holiday inn size The service was ok but not special. Would I stay there again, likely no but if required to I would not object too much. The rooms facing the street are noisy as you hear the street traffic

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, NH
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here for a 3 day conference at the LA Convention Center. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, the hotel staff was friendly and helpful, the housekeeping and room service staff were prompt and provided nice service, and the in room dining menu had a nice variety.......BUT, the interior and exterior walls and windows are paper thin. I could hear babies crying and conversations in the rooms on both sides of me. I also kept checking the window to be sure it was closed (they do not open), as I could hear every car, bus, saxophone, etc., etc. there was outside the hotel on the street below. I was on the 7th floor, and literally felt like my bed was in the middle of the street......yes, it was that loud. I have read other reviews on TA about this hotel, and am shocked that this has not been a bigger complaint. I am a pretty heavy sleeper, and can sleep through most things, but not at this hotel.

One other thing to note. While the hotel is located across the street from LA Live, and just down the street from the Staples Center and the LA Convention Center, the City or local businesses should really do something about the homeless and panhandlers in the area. I was accosted 2-3 times per day on my 2 block walk to and from the Convention Center. While well lit, and heavily traveled, it was an uneasy walk every day.

Room Tip: In order to avoid the noise from the street, you might want to try a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXECITYCENTER, Operations Manager at Luxe City Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you NHElau for your review. I appreciate the positive comments about the service and features of our Hotel. As you mentioned, we are located across the street from Staples Center and LA Live. At times it becomes a bit busy around the Hotel with people attending games and concerts. I apologize for the noise you encountered while staying with us but hope you’re able to make it back in the future.

Thank you,

Ryan Block
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very clean and modern. Love all the furniture in the lobby and the rooms and the bed is even comfortable. The room has its own wall art and sculptures! Made it feel more personalized. Mini bar & Kurig in every room .

Great walking distance to the Staples Center and all other food and shops in that area. We parked a block behind the hotel for $15 instead of the $40 charged by the hotel.

We used booking.com and got it for half the price!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went to the Pink concert and wanted a hotel within walking distance to Staples and Nokia center for dinner. This was the second time we stayed at the Luxe Hotel. Very high class hotel with outstanding service from the valet, front desk, house keeping and bar. We love the bar on the second floor. Rooms are good size, comfortable bed and we love the decor. WE will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard California
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Like everyone on here, I agree that the Luxe City Center is in the perfect place for a night's stay after a concert/sporting event. The options for eating is great since LA Live is across the street. The hotel still has a new look and feel. The rooms are nicely done. Based on the reviews, we asked to stay on the "quite side" which is opposite of Figueroa street. We were able to sleep in until 8:30 with no issues of any noise and the blinds kept the room dark. The price is slightly less than the Marriott which we also tried before. I would say overall it was easier to stay at the Luxe and they treat you well from the moment you drive up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margoes
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were in LA for the Pink concert and the Luxe is 1/2 a block away from The Staples Center.
Park your car and walk to the concert from the Luxe!
We had outstanding service from the moment we pulled up.
The valet greeted us warmly, assisted with luggage and the reception had us in our rooms within 5 minutes.
Our phenomenal dinner at Water Grill was a $6.00 cab ride away.
The rooms are smartly appointed, and newly renovated!
The bathrooms are good sized, the beds were comfy and both feather and synthetic pillows were available.
We had drinks in the beautiful bar following the concert and enjoyed a delightful breakfast in the restaurant. The service in both was stellar!
We look forward to an excuse to return to LA Luxe!

Room Tip: Stay here if you are going to a Staples event!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxe City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe City Center Hotel

Address: 1020 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe City Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the rush of the city and enjoy the relaxed comfort of Downtown L.A.'S newest boutique hotel. Our swanky urban oasis provides travelers the ideal locale for work and play, and is a refreshing recent addition to the Downtown hotel scene. The Luxe City Center Hotel is perfectly positioned steps from STAPLES Center and Nokia Theatre at L.A. LIVE, and justa few blocks from Downtown's Business District. Our 178 guestrooms, including 16 suites, are among the most spacious in the City, blending smart refined decor with a residential feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxe City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe City Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.