We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe City Center Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luxe City Center Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luxe City Center Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Well-appointed rooms, great showers, comfortable beds, convenient to Staples Center, LA Live, and Convention Center. You will hear city street noise, but it did not seem worse than one would expect, given the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    123
    49
    19
    14
See reviews for
54
77
27
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Overall very good. Staff was extremely friendly, especially bellhop and valet. We had a king suite on the 6dth floor, unfortunately it was right next to the elevator which is typically noisy-but we didn't have any issues since the bedroom was in the back. Typically a suite like this has a separate bathroom in the living area, ours did not.
The "suite" was spacious. A sitting room w/bar, minifridge, Keurig coffeemaker and a large flat screen TV. The bedroom was also spacious w/a king bed, large tv, closet w/robes and slippers, vanity area, bathroom was separated from vanity area w/sliding frosted glass door, lots of amenities vanity kit, sewing kit...good lighting, plugs on both sides of the sink, good shower. The bed was comfortable but I did hear a lot of outside noise coming from the street.
I scheduled a massage and was suprised to learn they don't actually have a "spa". The spa set up in a modified guest room that had two small rooms w/massage tables. The space aside, the massage was very, very good.
The location is fantastic, directly across the street from LA Live...Nokia Center, Staples Center, ESPN Zone very convenient. We ate at Wolfgang Pucks Bar and Grill one afternoon-I highly recommend the Mango Cosmos!
Now for the "opportunities" comments-We ate at Figoly, the restaurant inside the hotel as it received some good ratings on another website. The staff was great and friendly but the food was terrible. I had a pasta dish that was very salty, my husband had the hanger steak...quality of the food, temperature and overall quality was average to poor...very disappointing. I didn't order room service so can't comment there.
Spa-I had planned on getting a mani/pani but it was only offered "in-room" for $150...no thanks.
The rooms were modern and recently renovated (was told the hotel was a Holiday Inn) but it didn't feel renovated...maybe because it was all mottled colors of brown and grey...felt a bit depressing instead of luxurious.
That being said, if I needed to stay downtown I would absolutely stay here again. The friendliness of the staff compensates for the blahness of the rooms. Just don't eat at FigOly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and staff it's self were nice. The rooms were clean and well kept. The staff was quick to assist in anyway. The big downfall for me was the noise. The walls are thin along with the windows. There is very little or no insulation. It takes no effort to hear people and music outside. We were on the 7th floor and it sounded like we were sleeping outside. I could clearly hear conversations and much more from the adjacent rooms. The shower did not get very hot. I can live with Luke warm showers but not paying more than $200 a night. This hotel is all about location and profit. Not comfort and luxury.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was amazed at how friendly and helpful the staff was. The bell hop stayed with us through check in, elevator ride, and even opened our hotel door for us. Every where we turned they were offering complimentary bottles of water.

The hotel is energy efficient which seemed like a great idea. In order to keep the lights on your room key needed to be inserted into a slot.

The bar upstairs was a lot of fun with great bartenders. We sat on the balcony and overlooked all of Downtown LA...great spot if you are going to Staples center...only a couple feet to walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was attending a conference at the JW Marriott at LA Live and decided to see if I could find something less expensive in the area. If you Google hotels at LA Live, you generally get the JW Marriott and the Ritz Carlton. One site I went to had the Luxe City Center listed. I checked out the Tripadvisor reviews on the Luxe and one reviewer mentioned finding it on the Skyauction web site, so I went on there and sure enough, there it was. I ended up bidding and getting it for $139.00/night. Quite a savings over the Marriott and the Ritz.

I had never heard of the Luxe before and did not know what to expect or exactly where it was in relation to LA Live, but here is what I found out. First of all, it is directly across the street from LA Live. The Staples Center can be seen from the front door of the hotel and you could be at the entry door to the Staples Center in a couple of minutes. Likewise, the Nokia Center, ESPN Zone and all the restaurants are a walk of a minute or two. The JW Marriott, Ritz and Regal Cinemas were right around the corner. Why stay at either of those higher priced hotels when most everything you need is right there at the Luxe.

After checking in, the first thing I encountered was the elevator which requires your room key to be swiped to get to your floor. Upon entering my room, it had one of those contraptions where you have to put your key in it to get all the lights turned on. I rarely see those and am not sure what purpose they serve, but it was there in case anyone cares. Next up was the mini bar along with the high prices. Don’t see those that (minibars) much anymore, but if you need a $7.00 bag of chips, it is there for the taking. On the “free” side, they did provide bottled water in the room and chocolates every night. There was also a Keurig single cup coffee maker with some free coffee and tea pods.

Other freebees included shampoo, conditioner, body wash, a sewing kit, some other kit (I already forgot what it was) and a vanity kit. Now, can I see a show of hands for everyone who knows what a Vanity Kit is? It was in a tiny white box and contained two small cotton balls and two Q-tips along with instructions not to stick the Q-tips in your ears. Add to that, slippers and robes along with embroidered towels, and you have a hotel that seems to fancy itself as some kind of 5 star resort destination (yet it only gets three (3) stars on Priceline). Really? Plus it had your 5 star resort restaurant pricing. They have a restaurant and bar on the 2nd floor called FigOly. This is the home of high dollar room service like $16.00 pancakes, $19.00 bacon and eggs and $15.00 hamburgers. Needless to say, I did not order anything from the room service menu, nor did I sample the $25.00 mini bottle of wine that was sitting on top of the dresser.

A quick overview of the room. It was very nice. Very contemporary. Large LG flat screen mounted to the wall directly across from the bed. Large shower with rain head fixture along with a hand held shower head. My room had a large picture/painting of Madonna on the wall. Now, you don’t see that everywhere. All in all, I liked the Luxe and found the staff at the front desk to be very friendly. Oh, and parking is $20.00/day. It’s $40.00 over at the JW Marriott. And one more thing, there is a ticket broker in the lobby (not affiliated with the Luxe) where you can purchase tickets for events at the Staples Center and Nokia Theater.

So, to sum things up, if you are interested in staying near LA Live, go on Skyauction and start bidding for the Luxe City Center. It was more than worth the $139.00/night I paid, but even if you pay full price, it is still cheaper than the Marriott or Ritz and I think, just as nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose the hotel due to its closeness to the LA Live/Staples Center.
Service was great, rooms were an excellent size and we were offered bottled water whenever we came in contact with staff- much appreciated with young children. We did not eat in hotel but there are plenty of places nearby

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The room was well appointed, service impeccable, and location superb. The staff were attentive to our every need. The hotel has a guest membership at the golds gym three blocks awayy which was very nice as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit near staples center

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxe City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe City Center Hotel

Address: 1020 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe City Center Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the rush of the city and enjoy the relaxed comfort of Downtown L.A.'S newest boutique hotel. Our swanky urban oasis provides travelers the ideal locale for work and play, and is a refreshing recent addition to the Downtown hotel scene. The Luxe City Center Hotel is perfectly positioned steps from STAPLES Center and Nokia Theatre at L.A. LIVE, and justa few blocks from Downtown's Business District. Our 178 guestrooms, including 16 suites, are among the most spacious in the City, blending smart refined decor with a residential feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Luxe City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe City Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.